We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Trail was great and the apples stand excellent!

Full disclosure, we did not go through the museum but hiked the trail around which was easy and... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
Ilin C
,
Bethesda, Maryland
Very educational with great activities for kids

Tucked right inside Claude Moore Park in Sterling, VA, this quaint but fairly detailed museum... read more

Reviewed November 21, 2016
Matthew B
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
7
14
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
14
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store post office eggs the cash register cow history mail tractor pretend fashioned shop kitchen play milked life kids fun
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 27 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Full disclosure, we did not go through the museum but hiked the trail around which was easy and relaxing. Enjoyed the apple tasting of over 10 types of apples which was really delightful!

Thank Ilin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

My two year old had fun, mostly riding the pedal tractor toys. It's small, has some cool information, but it's not worth the entry fee.

1  Thank Roudabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

I can't say enough about this wonderful, well-designed, interactive learning farm museum! If your kids are imaginative and enjoy hands on learning this is a great way to spend a couple of hours back in the "old days". They have an old fashioned general store where you can be a shop-keeper at the cash register behind the counter or a customer with all sorts of great foods to play with. They have a post office where mail can be sorted, a one room school house, and an old fashioned kitchen with an ice chest, water pump, washboard, pots and pans, etc. for more creative play. There is a life-sized cow that can actually be milked and a chicken coupe where eggs can be collected. The museum part is so interesting too! The history of the displays is nicely explained with equipment, mementos, artifacts, and photos. You can pretend to ride in the Kentucky Derby and take a spin on a tractor. They also have a cute gift shop. Terrific summer day trip!

Thank lisacH2252YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

I happened to be going by so I stopped in. It is a nice museum, but it is more geared for kids. It is not a spectacular place. Just a museum.

1  Thank JohnBCowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Tucked right inside Claude Moore Park in Sterling, VA, this quaint but fairly detailed museum details the history of farming in Virginia, and allows a lot of hands-on activities for kids, from the apple festival to milking a cow on occasion. The barns also showcase a lot of historic farming equipment. For those without kids, this museum won't hold a lot of sway if you have little interest in agriculture, but for those that enjoy interactive museums and walking the grounds, they'll enjoy this museum. I also recommend Oxon Hill Farm nearby in southeast DC.

2  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016

We like this place. It is fairly small and is in one building only. It is a good, small local farming museum. There are pedal tractors to ride, as well as a plastic cow to "milk". There is also a general store (to look at only).

We spent about an hour here, which was about right. It would be more fun when they have their "farm days" and have more activities.

Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

This cute little museum will keep your kids occupied for a few hours. Went there with 4 & 1 old girls and they lots of fun! Good on hot days!

Thank JuliiaHWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016

Very educational and easy for adults and children. He learned much and we had to pull him in order to leave.

Thank hannes1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2016

My son loves the once a month parents' night out event. For $15 he has dinner, plays with all the exhibits and learns about something related to farming. Every session has a theme. We drop off at 6 and pick up at 9. It is a great value and my seven year old son loves it.

Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2015

There isn't really much to do to be honest. We went and looked around for a bit, but paying to visit that place isn't worth the month. Frying Pan Farm is much better if you're looking for a fun farm atmosphere.

Thank Highlowminimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews