We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel in my life”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The front desk staff is extremely rude and speak to each other in Arabic when I ask them a direct question. After I was filling a complaint, one of them told me I should've stayed in a different hotel. They have no shampoo and only one towel in my room. Twenty minutes before I showed I called to ask if they had two beds and they claimed they did, but when we arrived they denied ever saying that and I slept in a chair. The cleaning lady doesn't know English. I asked for an extra blanket, and it had a hole on it. I looked under the bed to search for my shoes and I almost choked on dust bunnies. The air conditioner also stopped working on my second night. I received a room with small drawers for a family of three. I do not recommend this hotel. Bring your own toiletries, and ask for more towels. They also have one luggage cart. The middle eastern men at the front desk made this stay one of the worst stays in my life.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left are better because the front desk isn't around the corner to be rude to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diegoesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    20
    2
    10
    15
See reviews for
21
8
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was extremely pleased with the hotel, when I first arrived I was very excited about the location because of the amount of restaurants so close to the hotel. I was also very happy with the set up of the room, not to mention the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for a week on business, everything was as expected.

My only issue was on day 3 I was awakened at 6:30 am by the desk clerk pounding on my door. When I answered it he was waving a piece of paper at me saying my room was going to be $30 a night more because it was weekend rates, his English was poor and I could barley understand him. As he had woke me up I shut the door in his face. Later when I went to work I stopped at the desk, I told him I had paid for a week up front and would not pay additional rate. He said he "was sorry" he had made a mistake.

When I went back to my room for lunch my card key was not working, had it reprogrammed, when I returned after work that day same thing, card key not working. When I went to the desk there were two other guests with the same problem.

Manager I spoke to said he would talk to the employee, but there is no reason to wake a guest up at 6:30 am unless the place is on fire.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Mark – Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The situation you described regarding being disrupted early in the morning is truly regrettable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As well, I am sorry to hear that you had so many issues with your room key. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Please feel free to contact me directly, at DCW@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We look forward to welcoming you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were not planning to spend the night in a hotel, but our plans fell through at at 9:30 p.m. we found ourselves (me, my husband, and 2 kids) needing a last minute place to stay. I will give the hotel some benefit of the doubt because we showed up so late without a reservation. Here is our experience.

Our first room was not ready for guests. I opened the door to find several mattresses piled on top of one another, artwork propped against the walls, and various hardware (fans, etc.) strewn about. We went back to the front desk and were given a room on the second floor. While getting off the elevator, the doors started closing and would not stop. I was alone with my two kids and I was unable to get our cart off of the elevator because the doors kept closing (the cart, by the way, was literally held together with duct tape). A kind guest helped me by physically holding the doors open (he had to use force to push them back open, as they kept closing). We got to our room and it had one bed - for four people. Sigh. Back to the front desk.

This time we requested a room with two beds and were given a room on the first floor. My husband apparently did not request a room with two beds, but the front desk clerk did not ask either. With four people, I was surprised he didn't ask how many beds we were looking for (isn't that standard when booking a room?). Had that been the only room available, we would have understood, and we would have made due. He was very lackadaisical about the whole ordeal. He half-heartedly apologized. He was in no rush to get us into a room, even though were were obviously tired with two tired kids. He also took two personal phone calls on his cell phone while we were trying to get a room.

In our third (and final) room were unable to get the wireless to work because we didn't know which server to connect to. When we tried to call the front desk to ask, the phone didn't work. In the shower, the cold and hot water were switched, so when I turned the facet to hot, it got colder, and vice versa. When I got out of the shower to dry my hair, the hair dryer base was not connected to the wall and the hair dryer would not work - on a day when there was 8 inches of new snow on the ground.

I don't know if we received a poor quality room because we were so late, or because they are all like that. Overall, we did not have a terrible experience, but we would not seek to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Bed bugs. Lots of them. I have pics. If you value your health, stay away. I've enclosed them in this review.

Manager denied they existed when his employee saw them and told him. Would not reimburse me. Offered another room with bed bugs in it as compensation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Percy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Percy - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The situation you described regarding the cleanliness of your room is truly regrettable. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this problem does not continue in the future. I am grateful for the feedback you provided, as it will enable us to continue to improve our hotel.

If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at DCW@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were recommend to this hotel a few months back and now every time we need to stay the night in sterling ... this is where we stay. If your looking for luxury, this is not the place, but if your looking for a nice clean place to stay at a reasonable price, look no further.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am proud of our team for making your stay as comfortable as it should be.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
314 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Estuve en el Hotel en compañia de mi madre, la atencion en recepcion fue excelent. La ubicacion muy cercana al Aeropuerto. La habitacion muy limpia y tenia todo lo necesario (cocina, refrigeradora, estufa, microonda) que mas puedo pedir!!. Seguramente me quedare con ustedes!
I visited the Hotel in the company of my mother, the personal in front desk was excelent. The location is very close to the airport. The room very clean and had everything we needed (kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave) that more can I ask for!!. Surely I'll stay with you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evega_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
1.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
4.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling - Dulles
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling

Property: Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling
Address: 46001 Waterview Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-6559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling
Sterling Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing