We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great experience be their and I felt like staying in Home even away from Home. Nice hotel with polite and simile people. Neatly cleaned rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaikani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Washington, D.C. - Sterling. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    1
    10
    12
See reviews for
19
6
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. I only stayed one night and it seems that this place caters for a longer stays but never the less my stay was very enjoyable. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the front desk staff was really nice. They even called to see if I am satisfied with my room which does not happen often. I paid $100 and I though it was really reasonable for what I received.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the outside, the hotel appears nicely maintained, has a good location (close to a large mall and plenty of restaurants), and ample parking. Check-in went fine, and the lady at the front desk was even kind enough to print out directions to the nearest metro station with park-and-ride. (Vienna, just in case you were wondering. It's about a 30 minute drive from the hotel.) Inside the hotel, the elevator was rickety and felt unsafe, and the smell of smoke was overwhelming. The place reeked of it. I expected the worst when we opened the door to our room, but instead of smelling entirely of smoke, it stank of bad air freshener with which someone had tried to cover up the smell of smoke. Let me be clear: we had specified a non-smoking room, but clearly no such room existed in this place. The bathroom was dirty, and no toiletries were provided, with the exception of a bar of hand soap. Ask the front desk, they'll tell you about the toiletry vending machine in the laundry area where you can buy a 1.5 oz. bottle of shampoo for $3. Ridiculous. The only reason I didn't give the overall stay a "terrible" rating was the receptionist's willingness to help us find restaurants and the metro station. Avoid this place at all costs! It is over-priced (we paid over 110 dollars a night)... you'd be better off staying somewhere (anywhere!) else.

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting a smoke-free room, the whole place smells like smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiorentina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

PLEASE do not stay here. I "won" this place on a Priceline bid of $38 per night for 4 nights. Including the priceline fee it worked out to about $44 per night. The first greeting for the new guest is a large, dark stain in the lobby carpet. The front desk staff is friendly and professional, but the desk that they work behind is badly scratched. The building itself has fallen into disrepair. When entering the elevator, the scratches (graffiti) on the inside of the doors gave me fair warning of what was yet to come. Walking down the long, very dark hallway to my room, it's obvious that the carpet has not been vacuumed for weeks. Small bits of trash and paper are everywhere. (Later, I spoke with the front desk staff about it and was told that they don't have the manpower to keep it clean). There's a general musty smell about the place; which is no doubt a combination of pets (allowed), smoking (pipes and cigarettes most noticeable), and general neglect. I entered my room and there was the smoke detector hanging from the ceiling by just wires. The air-conditioner sounds like someone is shaking a coffee can full of marbles. Generally, the room is Spartan, but it does have a small kitchen which might come in handy. The refrigerator sounds like a Boeing 747 on takeoff roll.

I pulled down the bedspread........ to find on the pillow........no....... not a complimentary chocolate mint, but...........A PUBIC HAIR !!

There is no daily housekeeping service. It is provided once every seven days. Therefore, fresh towels are to be picked up at the front desk and you must take your trash out to the "trash room". No fitness facility. $4.99 one-time fee for WIFI. As many of you know, there are no refunds on Priceline. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

This is a very good Value for money accommodation. It is a clean place. The staffs here are friendly and readily help you on some information that we needed in the nearby surrounding. The manager Anil is a friendly person and is well informed. Being a first time traveler to DC he was of great help in suggesting the transportation means and restaurants nearby. The location is convenient and about .6 miles from the Dulles shopping center. Except for the cold winter time this is a walk able distance.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PantoBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

After a long day of multiple flight delays and cancellations, I stayed at this property out of necessity (and desperation) until I could fly out of Dulles early the next morning. The hotel decor is spartan, but the room, bathroom, and bed were very clean. Also, the hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. For meals, there is a TGI Fridays within walking distance of the hotel. The only minor negative was that there was no airport shuttle, but it is only a 15-minute taxi ride to Dulles. For what I needed, the hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Spartan decor.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EagleRowlett_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling

Property: Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling
Address: 46001 Waterview Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-6559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling
Sterling Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing