We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not what I expected from a Marriott property. The property is out of date, the halls are dark and there is absolutely no sound proofing between suites. I had the misfortune to be next to someone who watched tv all night and heard every word of the show.
The hotel advertises free breakfast, this was a joke. The lobby does not have a single seat and the breakfast that was offered was "grab and go".

All and all I wish I had read reviews before staying at this property and will not be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biz267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 264 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

I'm happy with the stay here. This place is not fancy, the rooms are really outdated, but it is well maintained and clean. Serves the purpose of a hotel room.

The hotel is in a great location! I'd give 5 stars for the location alone.

The reason why I'm giving it only 3 stars is because the rooms are really small - bed is just 2 feet away from the kitchen - so if you cook something, then be prepared to smell it even when you sleep. Also, there aren't enough utensils in the kitchen. The toaster didn't work well with us - when we tried to toast bread, the fire alarm went off. I'd not complain about this if it hadn't happened twice. The bed isn't great either, it is too bouncy.

Overall I'm happy, and don't mind coming back if I can get a good price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

OK I have to say one thing before I continue: I booked this hotel through a 3rd party 'bidding' website and only paid $45 per night. I called the hotel and tried to check in one night early and the rate was $169 for that.

That said: The hotel is really nice. No luxury and yes, it is somewhat old, but nicely kept and clean! I probably got the smallest room they had, but still it is pretty huge for one person. Kitchen is fully equipped (even a dishwasher!) and all china and silverware is spotless.
You'll also have a dining table and a couch with a little coffee table.

The bathroom is okay - I definitely have seen smaller ones!

I cannot agree with the person who posted before me: There ARE several food places in walking distance (Boston Market, McD, Starbucks), as well as a Giant and other stores. It is located right off Rte 7, so if you want to stay close to IAD airport and need to go to DC, Reston or McLean every day this is a good location. Dulles Town Center Mall and a lot of restaurants are in the vicinity (you need a car for that).

The free breakfast is okay - Cereals, muffins, bagels, fruit and, most important, coffee! You will have to eat out of a styrofoam bowl and there is only very little sitting space available - but hey, it's FREE! (And the dark roast coffee is very good :) )

So if you are on a budget this hotel is actually very good. (I stayed there for a whole week 'between apartments')

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank René S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The two room suite has plenty of room for two people. The kitchenette is nice. I'll definitely stay here again for the price. And as long as you have a car there are plenty of places to get food within a short drive, but not within walking distance other than a gas station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peeples15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm a dedicated Marriott person, but this property may change that for this area. Staff was friendly enough and the room clean, but it's hard to tell who they are trying to appeal to. Hard to settle in, since there are no luggage racks to get your suitcase off the floor, and no dressers. Two drawers in the nightstand and one under the TV - that's the storage. A functional small kitchen is nice, but there's only one table and no counter seating. So if you're there for a few days and spread your work out on the table, there's no place to eat... We were in a studio room - hope there's more space in the 1-2 bedrooms.

Breakfast is all carbs - but even if you want to eat there, it's a single window seat for as the sole seating available. Without tables/chairs, wish they had some sort of tray to carry food back to the room.

Staff was helpful and pleasant.

Good enough for one person if you're not spending a lot of time in the room.. 1-2 day trip.

Great location, not too far from Dulles, close to shopping and several restaurants.

Room Tip: steer clear of the studios if it's more than a one night stay.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the Towne Place Suites by Marriot while on a weekend trip. LEnght of stay was one night. As others stated, almost drove by the hotel, if it werent for a little sign. Looks more like a typical townhouse complex found in any suburban location.

Was given a room on the first floor. Room was very clean, but did have a slightly musty odor upon entering. Bed was comfortable. Room consisted of a furnished kitchenette, a sitting area with couch/TV, and a well appointed bathroom. My biggest complaint was that the walls were obviously thin. Noise easily traveled from the rooms adjoining ours. It was a late night of kids misbehaving on one side, and a husband/wife talking loudly on the other.

I would recommend for a short stay, if the price is right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarzyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When we entered the property we thought we took a wrong turn until I saw the Quality Inn sign outside the office. It looked like one of those expensive suburban condos. The place was relatively new. The pleasent staff served coffee, tea and home made cookies in the lobby. They provided internet access in the lobby which enabled me to print maps to guide us. The room actually had a full kitchen, yltra clean and cute. The living room had a sofa, a business center type of desk and a large cocktail table.

The only drawback was that, evidently, the only room left was a "disabled" assist room in which the enlarged bathroom takes space away fro the main room.

There was an outdoor patio oiutside the office building with confortable chairs, tables, an outdoor fireplace and a BBQ for use by the guests.

Free continental b'fast was good and the staff was delightful. BTW, it is just outside Dulles Airport, convenient to those leaving by air.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Address: 21123 Whitfield Pl, Sterling, VA 20165-7271 (Formerly Sterling Dulles North Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range: $84 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home while staying at our newly remodeled pet-friendly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles hotel. Located in the heart of the Cascades / Dulles area, our suites are perfect for both business travelers and families seeking extended accommodations. Our hotel is a short drive from Washington Dulles International Airport, and close to businesses like Raytheon and Harris Corporation, as well as the Potomac Falls Commerce Center, Loudoun Tech Center and Northern Virginia Community College. Each of our efficiency, one- and two-bedroom suites is equipped with an ergonomic work area, comfortable seating, and fully equipped kitchen for ultimate comfort and convenience. Each morning, delight in our ample free hot and cold breakfast buffet, and when the mood strikes, enjoy our outdoor dining area, ideal for barbecues and informal gatherings. Other must-have amenities at our Sterling hotel include laundry facilities, business center, fitness center, free Wi-Fi Internet access and free large-vehicle parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing