We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for short stays for one person”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm a dedicated Marriott person, but this property may change that for this area. Staff was friendly enough and the room clean, but it's hard to tell who they are trying to appeal to. Hard to settle in, since there are no luggage racks to get your suitcase off the floor, and no dressers. Two drawers in the nightstand and one under the TV - that's the storage. A functional small kitchen is nice, but there's only one table and no counter seating. So if you're there for a few days and spread your work out on the table, there's no place to eat... We were in a studio room - hope there's more space in the 1-2 bedrooms.

Breakfast is all carbs - but even if you want to eat there, it's a single window seat for as the sole seating available. Without tables/chairs, wish they had some sort of tray to carry food back to the room.

Staff was helpful and pleasant.

Good enough for one person if you're not spending a lot of time in the room.. 1-2 day trip.

Great location, not too far from Dulles, close to shopping and several restaurants.

Room Tip: steer clear of the studios if it's more than a one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the Towne Place Suites by Marriot while on a weekend trip. LEnght of stay was one night. As others stated, almost drove by the hotel, if it werent for a little sign. Looks more like a typical townhouse complex found in any suburban location.

Was given a room on the first floor. Room was very clean, but did have a slightly musty odor upon entering. Bed was comfortable. Room consisted of a furnished kitchenette, a sitting area with couch/TV, and a well appointed bathroom. My biggest complaint was that the walls were obviously thin. Noise easily traveled from the rooms adjoining ours. It was a late night of kids misbehaving on one side, and a husband/wife talking loudly on the other.

I would recommend for a short stay, if the price is right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarzyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When we entered the property we thought we took a wrong turn until I saw the Quality Inn sign outside the office. It looked like one of those expensive suburban condos. The place was relatively new. The pleasent staff served coffee, tea and home made cookies in the lobby. They provided internet access in the lobby which enabled me to print maps to guide us. The room actually had a full kitchen, yltra clean and cute. The living room had a sofa, a business center type of desk and a large cocktail table.

The only drawback was that, evidently, the only room left was a "disabled" assist room in which the enlarged bathroom takes space away fro the main room.

There was an outdoor patio oiutside the office building with confortable chairs, tables, an outdoor fireplace and a BBQ for use by the guests.

Free continental b'fast was good and the staff was delightful. BTW, it is just outside Dulles Airport, convenient to those leaving by air.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I did like the location of this hotel. It is in more of a residential area and very quiet. There is a Logan's restaurant that is a very short walk to get to. The breakfast provided was not much of anything, unless you just want a muffin. Coffee was fine. I will have to agree that the halls did smell a bit musty, but our room was clean and did not smell. The AC worked fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfstoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This should not be a Marriott, just poor all around, room smells, halls smell, room dirty, noisy, breakfast is a joke. Avoid this place and try a Hilton or anything else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

the clerk at the front desk was rude, told me I didn't have the Marriott points I needed when I did. Next she gave me a room that smelled like smoke and told me that others have to check in before they cld give me another room. The replacement room was dirty and the housekeeper didn't come the next day. When I called about it, I was old that she was leaving at 5pm (it was 4:45) and the desk clerk asked ME to come down to the front desk and get my own towels. I checked out soon after and moved to Townplace in Chantilly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaydenceJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place was an oasis for our family during the recent storms in the DC area. After day 3 of no power, we bailed on surviving in our hot and powerless house and were able to find 1 room available here and snapped it up. Upon arrival, we were frazzled, hot and exhausted. After an earlier mishap with Hampton Inn (who took our reservation without telling us they also had no power), just the fact that the A/C was on was such a relief. Three cheers for A/C! Anyway, the woman at the desk was so kind to us and got us into our room quickly. She seemed genuinely concerned and was reassuring. Staff overall was super nice. The room itself was good. Yes, it was cool and was clean. The kitchenette we had was great and we made smores to continue with our survival theme. The bed was comfy and my son slept on the sofabed and slept like a log. The desk and internet worked great and the flat screen TV was perfect. The workout room was nice - treadmill worked great but sketchy tv reception in workout room. Breakfast was awesome - had healthy options like yogurt, fruit. We would have stayed an extra night but our neighbors called to say power was back on in our neighborhood! Yippee. So, no time to do laundry at the hotel but we had planned to use their coin operated machines if our stay persisted. Overall, this place was great and preserved our sanity during the after math of the storm.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wvpresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
4.1 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Address: 21123 Whitfield Pl, Sterling, VA 20165-7271 (Formerly Sterling Dulles North Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range: $74 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home while staying at our newly remodeled pet-friendly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles hotel. Located in the heart of the Cascades / Dulles area, our suites are perfect for both business travelers and families seeking extended accommodations. Our hotel is a short drive from Washington Dulles International Airport, and close to businesses like Raytheon and Harris Corporation, as well as the Potomac Falls Commerce Center, Loudoun Tech Center and Northern Virginia Community College. Each of our efficiency, one- and two-bedroom suites is equipped with an ergonomic work area, comfortable seating, and fully equipped kitchen for ultimate comfort and convenience. Each morning, delight in our ample free hot and cold breakfast buffet, and when the mood strikes, enjoy our outdoor dining area, ideal for barbecues and informal gatherings. Other must-have amenities at our Sterling hotel include laundry facilities, business center, fitness center, free Wi-Fi Internet access and free large-vehicle parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing