We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Good location, near shopping, library, restaurants; kitchen well-supplied; no dresser, just small bed stands; very small grounds but there is large area for dogs to run nearby at NoVA Community Collge; breakfast mostly starch (donuts were moldy one morning); attendants at desk OK but manager was a little intimidating; $100 fee/stay for dogs so not good for short stays

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smerk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    15
    15
    12
See reviews for
73
20
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I've read some of the bad reviews on here and I'm a little surprised that their stay was not satisfactory. I travel to the DC area one time a year for two weeks in April for business. I stayed at this location last year and, because of the peace and quiet and distance to restaurants, decided to return. Last years stay was ok, but this year was much better! I was informed that the management had changed recently and I could certainly tell.

For one, there had been renovations to the rooms, which were nice. I agree with some of the complaints about about the hotel being outdated. The rooms just look, well...old! But they had redone the bathrooms and (as the staff told me...who knows) are going to continue with renovations until the entire hotel is done. Also, the place was very clean. I had housekeeping service every day except one when I had a "do not disturb" sign on the door. I usually leave housekeeping a gratuity wherever I travel, and was very happy to leave one on my most recent stay. My biggest complaint is how outdated the rooms are, but if they continue with the renovations, will have a very clean AND updated hotel. Actually, my only other complaint is that they do not have shuttle service. How could a hotel near the airport not have shuttle service?!

The staff was amazing. I have to say, they were very attentive and happy to help. Any downside to the hotel can be overlooked by how helpful and gracious the staff is. There is a front desk assistant there named Bradley that was probably one of the best "hotel people" I've ever dealt with. They are lucky to have him.

Of course no place is perfect, but with a few more updates and shuttle service, this place would be top notch. I had no problem with keys, housekeeping, or any other complaint I see for this hotel. Hopefully, I didn't just have a lucky stay; I will be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalGovt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My stay at this hotel in 2009 was much better. It's no longer up to Marriott standards, especially the housekeeping. Apparently daily housekeeping is a thing of the past. During my 7 night stay, housekeeping came to my room three times. The sheets and towels were changed only once and the bed made twice. I don't think the counters or tables were wiped down or the room vacuumed. Housekeeping didn't unload the dishwasher or remember to leave detergent. It felt like a cheap hotel and Marriott is usually very nice. Having clean sheets and towels, and the garbage pickup up daily is something I thought I could count on with Marriott. The management seemed defensive when I brought my concerns to their attention. Like several other guests, I had problems with the key cards and had to get them reactivated every other day. I love Marriott, however, my next stay will be elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcgeorgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my family for 4 days. We had booked 5 days (paid for 4 days and got 1 free), but in the end changed to a different TownePlace Suites (near the airport), giving up the free day, and was much more satisfied with that hotel. There were a number of reasons why we switched. The hotel room wasn't cleaned too well. The ceiling above the shower was especially filthy. They also ran out of towels one day and on another, ran out of shampoo and conditioner as well. They are not well stocked with supplies. Lastly, their key card system is outdated. We had to get our key cards reactivated every day because they never worked. One time we had to get it reactivated 3 times in 1 night for it to work. The front desk personnel claimed it was because our cell phones erased the activation key code and it happens all the time, yet it has never happened to me in any hotel I've been at which makes me think their system is outdated. The only good thing is that some of their front desk personnel are friendly and helpful. Otherwise, the hotel needs to be badly cleaned and updated. Overall, if you're staying for 1 night, this place if ok. If more than 1 night, be prepared for a lack of supplies and getting your key card reactivated nightly. TownePlace Suites is a franchise, so each one is different. I suggest traveling to the airport TownePlace Suites instead. The hotel there is much newer and better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinxstripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I am a contractor that spends 100-150 nites on the road each year.
I've tried a bunch of different hotels in the Sterling/Dulles area.
This hotel has all the amenities that I need, like: full size fridge, full stove w/oven, spacious rooms, enough laundry facilities so you don't have to wait.
The hotel has been done over recently so all the rooms are spotless.
The rooms have new flat screen TVs and work stations for doing business.
It's a little off the beaten path but it's within easy walking distance to several restuarants and a grocery store.
Probably the thing that's most overlooked - IT"S QUIET No traffic patterns like other hotels I've stayed at, so I can get A GOOD NITES SLEEP !!!
Don't get me wrong, this is not a high end hotel, but for long term stays, it's a great place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lstenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville,florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

excellent location, very clean, service is wonderful, price was excellent. they are a fantastic group of people that work there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mynona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

TownePlace Suites Sterling is a great place to stay in Virginia. The staff was good and the GM, Booker, is exceptional. I enjoyed my time here — so happy that I selected this place over the Dulles location because of the neighboring stores and restaurants as well as the awesome daily continental breakfast. The manager, Booker, is exceptional. He offered to drive several miles to pickup mail delivered to the other TownePlace Suites. The halls did not smell good, but as my only concern, it was most likely caused by the guest's cooking. The property is located to everything you'd ever need, from grocery stores, to the library, a post office, a home depot, the local farmers market and every store you'd love to be close to. The location is remarkable. Highly recommend!


I would highly recommend this Marriott. I really enjoyed my three weeks at this location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
Address: 21123 Whitfield Pl, Sterling, VA 20165-7271 (Formerly Sterling Dulles North Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home while staying at our newly remodeled pet-friendly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles hotel. Located in the heart of the Cascades / Dulles area, our suites are perfect for both business travelers and families seeking extended accommodations. Our hotel is a short drive from Washington Dulles International Airport, and close to businesses like Raytheon and Harris Corporation, as well as the Potomac Falls Commerce Center, Loudoun Tech Center and Northern Virginia Community College. Each of our efficiency, one- and two-bedroom suites is equipped with an ergonomic work area, comfortable seating, and fully equipped kitchen for ultimate comfort and convenience. Each morning, delight in our ample free hot and cold breakfast buffet, and when the mood strikes, enjoy our outdoor dining area, ideal for barbecues and informal gatherings. Other must-have amenities at our Sterling hotel include laundry facilities, business center, fitness center, free Wi-Fi Internet access and free large-vehicle parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing