We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Caring and compassionate staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caring and compassionate staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My sisters, kids and I stayed here while we were visiting our sister, who is suffering from a terminal illness. The staff was so caring and compassionate and checked on us frequently. Once we were home, I had to call the hotel because I thought we may have left an expensive item behind. The manager of the hotel actually remembered us and asked about my sister. You don't get that kind of service everyday! So kind!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccbjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Ccbjlb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel.

We treat all of our guests like family and do everything we can to take care of their needs. We are glad that we were able to provide you with great service during your stay.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
13
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at TownePlace Suites the night before we flew out of Dulles for a vacation.

The room was nice- separate bedroom area, living room area, and kitchen. We only stayed one night, but I would think this would be a good option for an extended stay. It wasn't as nice as some upscale hotels, but it met our needs perfectly.

The free breakfast in the morning was very nice.

There was an outdoor pool, but we did not use it.

My only complaint is the shuttle service. We reserved a shuttle to Dulles the night before. That morning, the shuttle was not there. We asked several times. They ended up calling a taxi to take us instead of the shuttle. It was over 30 minutes late.

When we returned home, we did not have to wait at all and the trip back to the hotel was quick and easy.

The parking for the extended parking was well lit and our car was fine being left there for a week. And parking was included!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uvahoo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear uvahoo02,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We take all of our guests comments and feedback very seriously to always improve our service.

We are happy to hear that for the most part you really enjoyed your stay. We area glad that you were able to relax and unwind in your suites. Our rooms are designed for extended stay travelers in mind but we welcome anyone to stay with us.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that the shuttle caused by being late to pick you up from the hotel. We are investigating why this happened so we can correct the issue immediately. We are glad to hear that you were able to get back using the shuttle without an issue and that you were able to take advantage of our park and fly package.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The staff is incredibly friendly, the service is great and the details are well attended. No, it's not the Ritz Carlton, but it's clean, well maintained and small requests are handled like command performances.
Great for extended stay business or a family basecamp. Local conveniences are a bit of a hike, but only if you're limited to walking. Shuttle service is good, also if you want to make a run to nearby mall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harleysparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear harleysparents,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay with us and that we were able to take care of your needs. It is also good to hear that you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service we offer as well as the other amenities.

We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you to the Dulles area again.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

a very up to date hotel ,professional employes an good atmosphere, actually like spending time there . ask for Dave an Brusha great managers PS. i actually stay there very regularly at least once a week.

Room Tip: have had several rooms all great no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igr2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Hello igr2271,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experiences staying with us!

We are very happy to hear that you have been so consistently happy and comfortable during your stays. We believe that in the end it is the people on our team that really make the difference in making our guests feel welcome and I will make sure to pass your compliments along.

We are looking forward to having the opportunity to serve you into the future.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Company wanted to save money. You get what you pay for here. The rooms are average for an extended stay. House keeping is TERRIBLE. I dropped a piece of popcorn on the floor on May 1st and as of May 24th the same piece of popcorn lays where it fell. No floors were swept or counters, tables or sinks cleaned unless I did it myself. I had to ask for my sheets to be changed by someone that had quite a hard time understanding what I was asking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majkhnsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Hello majkhnsz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying with us. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously so that we can improve on the experience we provide our guests.

We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because of the housekeeping. As an extended stay property we do not do full housekeeping every day but instead refresh our guests' rooms daily. Every few days our housekeepers do a full housekeeping service. We are most certainly not trying to save money by cutting our housekeeping. We want to respect our guests' space as most stay with us for a month or more.

Regardless it seems that the issues you encountered were more than just this. We have already started to address the situation so that it doesn't happen again. We would also like to welcome all of our guests to call the front desk directly to alter their room's housekeeping service to their preferences.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove to you our commitment to excellent guest service and that we can do it right.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Not very impressed with this Towne Place Suites! When arriving the lobby looks fresh and new, but the moment you walk down the corridors of the hallway to your room, it is very dark and musty and old. Floors are squeaky. Bathrooms look like they have been recently remodled but the kitchens are old as well as the living area. Fitness center is very old and no circulation and the eqipment hardly works. Not sure it was worth the value of what i paid. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, but I would never stay at this property again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmr3948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Dmr3948,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take all of our Guests' feedback seriously so that we can improve our guests' experience.

The hotel is a well seasoned property. We are planning a renovation for the hotel in the near future that will address and update all of the issues you pointed out in your review. We do our best to take care of our guests needs and we are happy to hear that you felt welcomed and taken care of by our team.

We hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Good place to stay and much better than the Sterling Dulles location. Housekeeping visited daily. Breakfast was better. Management really great. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcgeorgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear dcgeorgetown,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make you feel at home.

We do our best to make you feel a part of our family because we know that traveling can be so stressful and our General Manager Dave Moran was just recognized by Marriott as the General Manager of the year for the entire TownePlace Suites brand.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
0.6 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport

Property: TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Address: 22744 Holiday Park Dr, Sterling, VA 20166-9497 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport)
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport! Located within 4 miles of the Washington Dulles International Airport, the TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport offers a convenient commute for out of town guests. Our all-suite extended stay hotel offers all of the amenities to make you feel at home including, spacious living areas, flexible floor plans, free parking, complimentary Wifi, full kitchens with utensils and dishware, Free hot breakfast, and much more. TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport also offers complimentary shuttle service to the Dulles International Airport and to other local attractions. Ask front desk for shuttle details. Whether you are staying for business or pleasure our Dulles Airport hotel will be sure to meet your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Towneplace Suites Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing