We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roma Casual Italian & Greek Dining

Roma Casual Italian & Greek Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Greek, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Airy, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

One doesn't expect to find a great meal at the exit, especially when it's at the end of a run-down mini-strip mall. I trusted my local friend who loves this place and, having eaten there now, I completely understand.

Krys ordered his favorite fettuccine alfredo and the baklava. I got the Tuscany bake and the chocolate chip cannoli. We each had some of the absolutely fantastic house-made sangria. I wasn't in the kitchen but I'm willing to put money out that they make all their own sauces and desserts in-house. Just marvelous.

Sadly, they were out of a few things, one of their specials and one of their regular dishes. Sad for me but, honestly, having worked in more than a few commercial kitchens, I don't see that as a negative for the restaurant. That tells me those dishes were very good and I should watch for them in the future ... because I ~will~ be eating here again.

The wait staff, to a person, was cordial, friendly, competent and well-trained. The interior was decorated very nicely and the value of the food was exceptional. I'd have expected to pay $20 or more for the entree I ate instead of $15.

Is this the singularly best meal I've ever eaten at a restaurant? No. The bill for that one was in excess of $75. But this ranks as one of my favorites, especially for the price and outstrips several for which I paid much much more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KateR-S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    77
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Potas, Pizzas and More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Looking for lunch and found Roma's. We were seated promptly and our waitress was not far behind. Very courteous and friendly.

The menu was filled with Italian and Greek meals and sandwiches. I had a gyro and my wife had a small pizza, half of which we took home. Both were very good.

It had a good size lunch crowd but was large enough to manage to provide prompt seating.

I would recommend Roma's and would not hesitate to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excellent portions nice selection of italian, not much greek. They were out of the evening special. Nice sauce.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bcf4972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Roma's has the best italian food in our area and a beautiful atmosphere. Bring an appetite, the food portions are enough for two! Great place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average - reviews did not live up to food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I tried this restaurant based on so many great reviews. I'm sorry to say we were not impressed. This was not authentic Italian or the chef had an off day. The staff was very nice. The atompshere was casual and pleasant. The food fell very short of the reviews. We started with the fried calamari. It was under cooked; some of the dough was still white. My husband had the stuff shrimp. The crab mixture it was stuffed with was very dry. I had the wild mushroom stuffed ravioli with cream sauce. The ravioli was fine but the cream sauce was floating in grease. We've tried many other italian restaurans and this one did not hold up to the reviews. Sorry, but cannot recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linden96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roma Casual Italian & Greek Dining also viewed

 

Been to Roma Casual Italian & Greek Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing