We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

The Family Drive-In Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a classic 2 screen drive-in theatre, celebrating 60 years of movie memories "Under the Stars". We are the only drive-in theatre still operating in the Northern Va/DC/MD metro area. We offer classic car speakers, a playground for children, special events through out the season. Movies projected in High Definition Digital, stereo 5.1 surround sound if you use a car radio. Full service concession stand, offering hot meals to standard theater snacks. Double Feature movies of current or new movies are our standard offering, but we do triple and dusk to dawn shows as well. We are PET FRIENDLY-- so bring your dog(s) to the movies!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
356 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Don't miss a chance to enjoy a pair of movies under the stars. Bring your chairs and a portable radio and you are all set.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jorgensen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    27
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
strasburg, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great for families”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

THey have food to select from (grilled outside) They have events at the drive in and it is on their website. They have trick or treating near halloween (trunk or treating) Friendly staff. Always fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank myey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High View, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great theater!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Family Drive-In is my family's favorite place to go during the spring and summer to watch movies. You can make yourself as comfortable as you like, whether its just sitting in your car to watch a movie or blowing up an air mattress. The concession stand has good food, but you can also bring your own food and drinks. The price of the tickets is cheaper than going to an indoor movie theater and you get to watch double features.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old Times”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just a novel place to visit. Drive-in kovies are disappearing fast. This one does very well, but is facing economics to upgrade like everyone else.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jtingle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A thing of the past”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Since there are fewer than 400 Drive-ins lest in our great country I ask you to take your kids and grand kids to one to show them how much fun a family can have. We go to the one in Stephens City with our daughter. We take the family van put a couple of chairs in the back and we are on our way. We usually will pick up either a pizza or bucket of chicken on the way for dinner. When we get there and find a place to park we break out the chairs eat dinner and watch the movies. The one in Stephens City always has a double feature and usually they are only a week or two from their initial release date. Sometimes if we do not pick up dinner I will get one of their funnel cakes which only cost $3 so it is a lot less than at festivals. Most of the items are really reasonably priced so you will not go broke when you go. I suggest getting there about 45 minutes prior to the show so that you can pick the spot you wish to park in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Family Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing