We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to unwind and decompress”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Holly, NJ
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Time to unwind and decompress”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My wife and I will soon be moving because of military obligations. This upcoming move led us to do house hunting in Texas. After a whirlwind 3 days, we planned a retreat at the Inn to unwind and consider properties we had viewed. Because we arrived late, Neil and Barry weren't available, but there were fresh lemon cookies and lemonaide waiting for us. We have spent many days and nights at the Inn, so we did not need instructions to our room. Upon arrival, we felt like we had arrived home. Almost immediately the recent stress started falling from our shoulders. The warm welcome the next morning made up for the welcome missed the night before; and, the breakfast not only filled our stomachs, but also filled our spirits. We ate all meals at the Inn and, as usual, were catered to with fine food and excellent service one can find no where else. We visited local sites, but the main focus was to unwind-Barry and Neil provided the opportunity to do so; even including playing frisbee with Grits their dog.
I will continue to exclaim that this Inn is a must for any type of traveller; to pass this opportunity by is to pass up the warm homespun feeling one gets from special family memories and, yes, from Mayberry. Come and experience something special-you owe it to yourself!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitecd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    38
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
591
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

A group of friends met up here and stayed at the Chumley Place to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had the best time!! The Chumley Place was perfect for us - we all had our own rooms and bathrooms, but also had a screened in porch and den to hang out in! The food was FABULOUS! Barry and Neil took great care of us and really made us feel welcome. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTSinLeesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The Inn provided us with a very tranquil and romantic setting which was the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives. The Randolph room was gorgeous with good views, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Barry was very engaging and welcomed us like we were old friends. The breakfast was superb, the staff serving breakfast efficient and friendly. We wish we could have stayed longer but will definitely return for a stay in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Inn at Vaucluse Springs was a recommendation by a friend, and we couldn't have been happier with our stay! We chose this as a Valentine's getaway and will now most likely make it an annual trip.

The owners, Niel and Barry, are wonderful hosts and the staff is friendly, and welcoming. We loved the balance of being able to quietly relax in our room or sit by the fire in the Manor House and chat with other guests.

We discovered that many of the guests have visited several times and all mentioned it as being one of their favorites!

Its located close to Winchester and also close to other attractions and a few vineyards as well. We visited Lurray Caverns and explored some of the other small towns along Route 11 during our stay.

The beauty of its location and grounds is you can sight see in the area or simply stay put and relax.

The food was outstanding with lots of fresh ingredients. The staff in the dining room was wonderful. They also had thoughtfully considered wine pairings for the meals. The special Valentine's dinner was one we won't soon forget.

We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Thanks again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmatthew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My husband and I first experienced the Inn at Vaucluse Spring last July. The day we got home, we immediately made a reservation to return on Valentine's Day weekend this year. Once again, we had a very memorable visit.

We decided to stay in the Chumley Homeplace again, but this time we were in the Chumley Suite. The room was so charming, with a fireplace that faced both into the bedroom and bathrom. But the best part was the common room downstairs, where we set up a little picnic and hung out in front of the fireplace all afternoon. A snowstorm had just hit the area, so the grounds were just beautiful. But we found no reason to venture very far from the coziness of the house. It's stocked with board games and blankets and whatever guests might need to make themselves comfortable.

The food at the Inn is out of this world! Kelly has the magic touch and she absolutely went over and above for the Valentine's Day dinner. The five-course meal was incredible! And breakfast is truly an experience each morning.

One thing that separates this Inn from others is the welcoming staff. Barry and Neil go out of their way to make every guest feel special. We were so happy to spend time again with Rhiannon, who took care of serving our meals all weekend, but it was like catching up with an old friend. And this time, we met another member of the Inn family - Barry and Neil's adorable dog, Grits!

The Inn at Vaucluse Spring it a true gem and we can't wait to plan our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This was our 5th Valentine's Day visit and 10th overall. Just when you thought it couldn't get better, it did! The breakfasts were great, only exceeded by the Saturday night dinner. The entire staff is absolutely the best. We have never been to a place that pays such attention to detail, not from the fanciest resort, to the highest priced hotel. We have already reserved for Valentine's 2011, but we may not be able to wait that long to go back.

If you are anywhere close to the area, you need to go.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

So lovely - after a very stressful few months, everything melted away in just one overnight at Vaucluse, with a visit to Linden, the arboretum in Winchester, and the Rt. 11 Chip Factory (!). We stayed in the cabin, enjoyed wine and the fireplace, the porch overlooking the pond, and the incredible dinner and breakfast. I daydream about it still.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
78 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
225 reviews
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing