We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Elegance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
“Peaceful Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Such a lovely two night stay at this beautiful in. The Inn is outfitted with beautiful paintings and furniture that provide a very intimate experience for the guests. The staff is outstanding, and the Inn owners are warm, humble and terrific at making you feel welcomed. My husband and I had dinner our second night at the Inn. We have had some very special chefs cook for us (a White House Chef, an Ambassadors Chef), this dinner was the most memorable of the three. Chef Adam provided a mix of flavors, a light touch with intense variation of flavors, really just a treat! The room offerings are varied and it is worth it to look at what is offered to maximize your experience! Enjoy!

Room Tip: -if you want convenience stay in the main house. Top floor is more expensive but quiet and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    38
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
583
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for two nights, December 30th and 31th and had a wonderful time while there! There are a number of options for rooms in about six different buildings and all with lovely furnishings. We stayed in the Thornton Room, located in the Winter Kitchen, which shares a comfortable sitting area with two other rooms. We ate dinner there both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed them (as we did the two breakfasts both mornings).

Neil and Barry are quite the hosts and make you feel right at home the minute you walk in. The two of them make a stay at The Vaucluse a memorable experience. I would recommend staying there more than one night to fully enjoy this Inn and the dinners. They can provide you with information on wine tours, battle sites of The War Between the States, other historic sites, hiking, horseback riding, golf, bowling, etc. but you may prefer just sitting by a fire, reading a book or sitting on one of the porches enjoying the scenery.

I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms in the winter kitchen are below the main floor so you can hear noise, music etc. in those thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Have stayed here a few times, and every experience has been pleasant! Been in the Stephens Room (Chumley), the Hite Suite (Chumley), and the Mill House - the latter is the most spectacular, if you can ever save up enough to afford it. Every meal has been delicious, and every night has been restful and refreshing. If we could just stow away our cats, it'd feel like our own private vacation home!

Staff members are kind and efficient. The owners are as engaging or as hands-off as you wish, and since my wife & I are b&b hermits, the arrangement works well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Fun to walk around the grounds at night, when most are asleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewA861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

With two young children we don't often have the chance to get away for the weekend, so on the rare occasions we do, we like to make it special. Valentine's weekend at the Inn at Vaucluse is the one annual trip we do everything in our power to take. If my math is correct we will be taking our 5th trip there again in 2014.

Our 2013 Valentine's day trip was equally wonderful to the previous trips we've taken. Neil and Barry are always friendly and gracious hosts and make every effort to make the stay enjoyable. This trip we stayed in the Gallery which is lovely and quiet. It has both a wood burning and gas fireplace. I had every intention of using the wood fireplace, but ended up being lazy and just using the gas one upstairs. Chef Adam always has wonderful and creative meals which usually surprise us without being too over the top. The wine selections always pair very well with the food and we really love that they carry some of the local Virginia wines, which we've come to be particularly fond of.

Needless to say we are counting the days until our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmatthew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Charming overall experience. Food is fabulous - dinners and breakfasts - gracious and attentive service. Everyone is so nice. Enjoyed the many beautiful views and hikes around the area, including several long walks on the property. Relaxing atmosphere and beautifully appointed spaces throughout. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Va
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The cottage was very nice and beautiful setting. It was great for a wedding. The living room with fireplace was cozy and bedroom was perfect. Dinner at the main house was a perfect ending to a perfect day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodstockpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
632 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring before and always enjoyed the food, the ambience, and the lovely rooms. And so we chose it again for a birthday celebration. It was the right choice in every way. The Jones Room is particularly lovely with views of the snowy fields and mountains beyond from several large windows. On this cold and snowy weekend, we especially appreciated the two fireplaces (easy to use gas flame) and the two-person jacuzzi. On Saturday night, we ate at the Inn with others celebrating a more important event (a wedding). The food, always special and varied, was particularly wonderful this evening. The service at Vaucluse is special because we see the same excellent staff at breakfast and dinner, which adds to the family feeling of the place. This is a small inn with several beautiful buildings each offering a different experience, some grander than others, but all comfortable and special. The location, about 25 minutes south of Winchester and less than 90 minutes from DC, is extremely convenient and provides access to a wide range of activities, depending on the season and your interests. Wine, antiques, civil war battlefields, hiking, farm markets and more. The Inn's owners, Neil and Barry, provide advice and suggestions on all topics and hand-drawn maps to the nearby destinations. This review makes us sound easy to please. We aren't. It's just that the Inn at Vaucluse Spring hit all the right notes for a perfect birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website and consider the price point that suits you. All the rooms are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing