We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Ideal Shenandoah retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ideal Shenandoah retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Neil and Barry's eclectic group of buildings clustered around gardens, a spring-fed pond, a pool, and a restored manor house outshines any B&B we've ever visited. Our room--the Chumley Suite in an expanded log house near the pool--was roomy and country-comfortable. Breakfasts were superb, and the chef outdid himself for both the Friday supper and the more elaborate Saturday dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed every bite. Big eaters and type-A Northerners should note that portions on Saturday are small, the pace is leisurely, and the small dining room hushed, at least when peopled by couples at separate tables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    37
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
554
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Over Memorial Day weekend, we returned to the Inn for our 15th Anniversary, and couldn't have made a better choice. Barry and Neil were tremendously accommodating hosts, and Barry's stories alone were worth the trip. Get him talking and you'll see what we mean. . .

The Saturday night dinner had 5 terrific courses, built around local fresh produce and matched with wine, and the chef accommodated my dietary restrictions without sacrificing a bit of taste.

Margaret's room was perfect - spacious, far enough from the Inn for privacy but close enough so that we could run over to the main house whenever we needed some tea or advice.

The grounds make for wonderful walking, and you can definitely spot wildlife without straying from from your room.

Each breakfast was delicious, and the staff were happy to send us on our way for the day with winery recommendations, coupons, maps, and anything else we needed. We even got a recommendation on room colors for our house renovation.

We'll. Be. Back.

Room Tip: Margaret's Room is a great choice if you want privacy without paying for a separate cottage. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We want to join in the chorus of rave reviews for the The Inn at Vaucluse Spring. We were there for most of a weekend for a family wedding, and we can't recommend it more highly. The owners have obviously spent a lot of time and effort to make it comfortable. All the rooms are unique and the furnishings are well chosen for both quality and design. Great setting- we only wish we lived closer! The two breakfasts we were served were very tasty and original. Our wedding party had exclusive use of the entire facility and grounds, which made it seem like a private getaway. The staff there are helpful, friendly, and unobtrusive. I'm sorry that with the family gatherings I did not get a chance to personally meet the owners, whom I was told were warm and generous. Since the wedding was catered we did not get an opportunity for dinner there- but the menu looks very interesting. I believe it enhanced the wedding experience greatly, thanks so much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithostertag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our forth visit to Vaucluse Inn. We started with a beautiful horseback ride.....than a visit to Valerie Hill Winery. Great wines....music and complimentary hamburgers and hotdogs. Hiking the following day.....hiked up to Stoney Man....2nd highest point in the park.
Breakfast was enjoyable.....and a great way to start the day. Roma Greek/Italian Resturant is a must!
Can't wait to visit agin!!
Peter and Gwen Lantagne. MD

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Took my boyfriend here for a surprise birthday weekend getaway, and it couldn't have been more perfect. We stayed in the Thornton Room of the Winter Kitchen, in the main house, and it was beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. We didn't leave the property while we were there, we were so relaxed and content. The food was amazing and the grounds and house beautiful. We happened to book our stay during the annual tomato dinner, a multi-course meal featuring tomatoes in every course. It was phenomenal. The breakfast the next morning was as delightful. The staff was so friendly and welcoming, from the refreshments and cookies upon our arrival, through the remainder of our stay. We will no doubt return. We liked being in the area as we were close enough to visit Luray Caverns the next day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samkupferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose the Inn at Vaucluse Spring for our daughter's wedding because it was a beautiful setting and the accommodations were perfect for the family and friends we wanted to spend the weekend with us! Little did we know how wonderful the event would turn out. Aside from the lovely, rustic rooms that were impeccably appointed and well cared for, the grounds were in pristine condition when we arrived. Each family or friend group had their own special cabin or house to enjoy being together. The lovely views of the pond or the flowers or the hills, plus the well placed Adirondack chairs invited relaxation. Young people enjoyed the pool and lawn games outside Chumley House, while the lawn outside the Manor House provided the perfect backdrop for the large pole tent for the reception. Stately, old trees hung with cantina lighting provided a beautiful backdrop.
Besides the beauty of the setting, we were thoroughly impressed with the innkeepers, Neil and Barry. All through the process of planning the wedding they were eager and prompt in answering questions and making suggestions, from recommending caterers to problem solving about rentals. Best of all they were so attentive to everyone's needs and constantly at the ready to help in any way. Even if you only come for a weekend stay, be assured that you will be blown away by the delicious 3 course breakfasts.........inventive cuisine using local produce and fresh garden herbs. Yummy! All who attended this wedding had a wonderful time, and many of us intend to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have not stayed at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring being a local. However, have eaten at the restaurant many times. Private dinner was great. Food is excellent. If you are on a diet or on a low fat content, this restaurant is not for you. The private dinning experience with your own private chef is a hidden gem

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tn0265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing