We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing attention to excellence in all regards”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Amazing attention to excellence in all regards”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Amazing B&B. Careful attention to excellence in every regard.

Chef Adam is superb. Neil and Barry are great hosts and make the experience even more special.

If you're the active outdoorsy type, do the Signal Knob circuit hike (10.5 mi, 2000 vert feet). It's very close and gives an amazing view up the Shenandoah Valley.

Room Tip: Gabriel Room was great, but I imagine they _all_ are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    38
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
593
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stay at Vaucluse every summer for a weekend, but thought we'd take advantage of Barry & Neil's wintertime offer of a one-night stay. The grounds, but not the roads, were covered with snow--a setting that contributed to a serene feeling of being in a winter-wonderland. Neil was cooking this weekend and the meals were heart-and-stomach-warming wonderful. The other guests were into the spirit of cozy as well, and we enjoyed some great conversation in front of the fireplace. Wish we had stayed the entire weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at the Inn to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. As first-timers, we had few expectations, leaving our three teenagers in charge at home (another first) and aiming for the Shenandoah Valley. Upon arrival, Neil greeted us in a low key, yet familiar way that made us feel as if we were long-time guests. Neil informed us that dinner was at 7:00, but that it was a tradition for guests to have a bit of social time just before at 6:30. Neither of us were really in the mood for that, and it was of course optional, but we overcame our need to hibernate and showed up to enjoy some excellent mulled wine and chat with fellow guests.

The first three couples we met had been to the Inn several times over the past decade or more. One couple from the Philadelphia area drove 4 hours to come to the Inn. I asked them why they came here when there were certainly nice places much closer to where they live. He looked at me earnestly and said" "I can't seem to relax anywhere else like I can here." Another couple had brought with them old friends, to introduce them to the Inn at Vaclause Spring.

I thought to myself: "You can't buy this kind of advertising." What is going on here? A secret society? Funny hats after hours? Code signs?

Barry then appeared and proposed a series of toasts. Our group gathered around, while Barry welcomed old guests and new, and made a series of brief eloquent toasts, honoring the season, our country and those who serve in its defense. Barry was straight out of a Currier and Ives print that might = be called - "The Inn Keeper." l looked at the circle of faces, at Barry, all with glasses raised high, and a genuine warmth, a community of guests in place and time grounded the moment.

Neil had informed us when we made our reservation by phone that she would be cooking the night we were there because Adam, the regular chef was off. She said the theme would be "comfort food," and mentioned a beef stew with corn bread. After enjoying Neil's creation, I can only say this was not comfort food. Cracker Barrel is comfort food. Neil's offering was high cuisine, delightful, comforting yes, but very nuanced. She is a gifted, sophisticated chef.

We had hoped for the log cabin but this was booked. We ended up in the Gallery, and found it very comfortable. A fireplace upstairs, a fireplace downstairs. No TV - a Godsend to the video addicted. Quiet. A roaring fire, wind in the eves, mid-winter ink out the evening window. Yes, tranquil.

We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I do not know where to start. When we arrived at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, we were greeted, first by Neil and then a few minutes later by Barry. They have owned the Inn for many years and from our experience, they always greet their guests with a warm welcome and a sense that you are special guests. We have stayed there for a number of years and I must say that a few of the reviews I have read below, do not do justice for the warmth, service and excellent food they provide. I cannot believe that any one would not find Barry charming and sincere; I can believe that if you are over demanding, or park wrong, then, you might want to find a hotel and not a charming Inn in this area. I have read about the "stink bugs" and the problem one guest encountered. I have to reply that they have "invaded" the northern and western part of Virginia and you can try and trap those in or around the rooms you are in (which we have been doing in our home.....but, they find a way to come in anyway. It has nothing to do with the innkeeper or the house-keeping. It has to do with an invasive species that can get in to a house very easily. We are still picking up "stink bugs" in our house and it is the 10th of January). When you are considering a B&B or an Inn in the area of Winchester, Stephens City, Middletown or any where near Front Royal, you should consider The Inn at Vaucluse Spring as a special place. If you want a nice motel, there are plenty in Winchester or Front Royal. However if you want to spend a night or two in a super place (especially around New Year's Eve) you might want to consider The Inn at Vaucluse Spring. I did forget to mention the chef at Vaucluse.........Adam. We did spend New Year's Eve night there and had a very nice dinner...but New Year's Eve was a special event with a 6 course dinner; and my wife and I agree that the beef tenderloin was about the best we have had. It was a small but nicely done piece of beef (we are not big eaters so this was fine for us) and with the other courses, was just right.

We stayed in The Thornton Room in The Winter Kitchen and it was a very nice, comfortable room (there were two other couples staying in The Barton Room and The Marshall Room so we had the "run" of the common room outside of the three rooms, and could sit in that area and turn on the hugh fireplace and enjoy each other's company).

In a nut shell, no place is perfect, and some people will find something wrong with anywhere they stay.......but I would recommend this place as a great to stay, eat and meet the owners!

Room Tip: It depends on if you are a couple traveling and want privacy, then you may want to stay ......oh, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I first went to the Inn in 1996 when we were working in Washington D.C. and saw an article in the Washingtonian Magazine about "get aways". We went and loved it. We went at least once a year 'til 2000 when we move to the west coast. On trips back east to visit family, we have taken a couple of side trips to visit our old friends, Neil and Barry. Our son proposed to his wife there and was married there, too! Getting the drift. This is just the most beautiful, relaxing, and comfortable place to spend time. The hosts are wonderful and there are so many choices of accommodations that will suit all tastes. Thanks Barry and Neil!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddbmtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks so much. We have some wonderful memories with you and your family as well. It was great to see you again! Glad you could work us in to your East Coast trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

After innumerable trips, you might think a place might get old. Instead, the Inn gets better with time. Barry and Neil always make you feel like you have returned home. Words are really inadequate to express a stay here, you must experience it. The view, the ambiance, the world class meals, there is no better value for the dollar. We will go back, likely again and again.

Room Tip: Any room, but the Jones is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

While visiting our daughter in Washington DC, my husband and I wanted to explore the countryside with her. The 3 of us stayed at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, booking the Gallery cottage for two nights, and enjoyed every moment. Neil and Barry, the proprietors, were charming, going out of their way to make us feel welcome. At their recommendation, we visited the Valerie Hill Winery, a short drive on the gravel roads surrounding the Inn, and our California wine snob palates were pleasantly surprised by quality of the wine, which we sipped while listening to wonderful live music in the back garden of the winery. The Chef's Dinner Saturday night was delightful, from the signature "Fall in a Glass" cocktail shared with other guests in the parlor to the 6 courses of the superb, locally sourced meal paired with wine. We stumbled down the hill to our two level cottage, where we took full advantage of both the wood-burning and gas fireplaces. The rural setting is perfect for exploring Shenandoah National Park, the Appalachian Trail and the many local apple orchard farmstands. It was well worth our frantic drive back to the District just in time to escape the wrath of Sandy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aburke20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
82 reviews
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
831 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
228 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing