We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Magic's Still There” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“The Magic's Still There”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've been to the inn almost a dozen times, but after a hiatus of two years and some major life changes, I wondered if I would still find it to be the magical experience I remembered. Indeed it was in every way! Barry and Neil are the best innkeepers anywhere. They and their very thoughtful staff still make each guest feel so welcome and special. I reveled in the beautiful, peaceful scenery around the inn and the delicious gourmet meals prepared by Neil and Chef Adam. My room was charming and very comfortable, with many thoughtful touches. This delightful, relaxing weekend in the country once again restored my spirits, and I look forward to returning soon for more of the inn's magic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KESCHAP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    37
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
568
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our first visit to the state of Va could not have been more delightful thanks to our stay at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring.The Inn was everything we had hoped it would be and then some.It is a well
taken care of property with attention to detail that is most appreciated and not often found! We were able to just relax and enjoy the peaceful setting of the Inn. The breakfasts were very good and well thought out. Sometimes at other inns there seems to be too much food but the amounts we were served seemed to be just right with no waste. I appreciate that! Thanks to all who helped make out time there so enjoyable. Should we ever find ourselves back this way again we will definitely make sure to make a stop here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have run out of superlatives for this place. Just go (on a weekend, if possible) indulge in the wonderful meals, relax, visit some interesting places and enjoy. As you see from the overall rating just about everyone does.

Room Tip: The studio and and the cabin are are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Inn is a nice place, but our room was unfortunately stink-bug invested when we visited. They were all over the room, and we woke up at night, with stink-bugs all over our pillows. The Inn Keeper was very apologetic about it, but honestly, the worst could have been avoided if they had checked the room before our arrival. Stink bugs are slow and easy to catch.

The room was nice but this experience kind of spoiled it all. And honestly our room and the building we were in was a bit dated. Time to update!

The 3 course dinner was good but besides dessert not very filling. And breakfast was a bit pretentious. A lot of courses and yet we did not even get some juice and had to ask for a coffee refill.

The place seems to be popular, so I don't want to spoil it, but we were disappointed and left after one night. That was us though!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
These good folks visited us on one of those unseasonably warm sunny October days when the stink bugs seem to come out of nowhere. For anyone who does not know, the stink bugs at issue are an invasive species accidentally introduced from China into Pennsylvania. They do not bite, but they do give off an odor when squashed. For guests who are travelling from outside the “stinkbug belt”, which apparently includes New York City, their first encounter can be a bit unnerving. Regrettably, control is not as easy as just checking the rooms before guests arrive. Our housekeeping staff checks all rooms on the day of arrival to ensure that everything is ready, including removing stink bugs. But as anyone knows who lives in an area where they are a nuisance, when stink bugs are active, they can materialize quickly and relentlessly. Our apologies once again… we do still remember our own first encounter with these pests and certainly sympathize… but aside from diligently removing them one at a time, which we continue to do, there is not much else that can be done. The good news is that after these Indian Summer days are past, so will the worst of these pesky stink bugs.

We were dismayed to hear that the four-course dinner was not filling. We try to walk the fine line of portion size in a multi-course meal between too much and too little and sincerely regret our guests’ feeling we were on the “too little” side. We strive for “just right”, but human beings being what we are, our ideas of “just right” don’t always coincide.

The lapses in service at breakfast as far as failure to offer juice or a coffee refill were certainly an error on our part, and for that we do apologize. We have impressed on our servers the need to be more attentive and appreciate very much your letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I began searching for a B&B for our 40th wedding anniversary a bit late and was dismayed to learn (or to remember!) that October is the new June and the majority of properties we considered were booked for weddings. We selected the Inn at Vaucluse Springs based almost exclusively on the fact that they had availability and boy - were we pleasantly surprised!! The property is absolutely stunning, Barry and Neil could not have been more welcoming and the food was incredible! Chef even made us a special little dessert for our anniversary! I am already planning when to return...when it's hot and we can go for a swim and then sit on the porch with a class of lemonade or when it's cold and we can come in from playing in the snow to sit in front of one of the 16 working fireplaces and read a good book?! I think we'll do both!

Room Tip: We stayed in Strother and thought it the best room in the manor house! If we take our whole family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theonlysallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington,MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The rooms are comfortable, the gourmet breakfasts are delicious and the Saturday night 6 course dinner was very special. With no televisions to distract this was truly a peaceful and quiet place to spend romantic evenings with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victorialynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Don't miss the dinner at this place, what a treat! We stayed in the Cabin, very private, clean, comfortable. All attention from Neil, Barry, chef Adam was great. The 5-course dinners (we stayed 2 nights) were excellent, beautifully presented, and appealed to many tastes. No need to go elsewhere to eat if you are staying here! Breakfast - 3 courses- also great. The location was convenient to Washington DC area for a 1-1/2 hour drive for a getaway from northern VA. The property is secluded and private in a nice country setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2vets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing