We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We drove from DC for the weekend (1 1/2 hour) and had a fantastic experience. The room was lovely, service and attention to detail exceptional, and food awesome. We had the Saturday evening six course meal and it was delicious, and special requests were accomodated seamlessly. Access to Shenandoah for day hikes was perfect. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    37
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
554
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Inn at Vaucluse to celebrate our 4 year anniversary. We stayed in the Margaret room which was absolutely lovely. It was very spacious, clean, and a bonus was that it is located right next to the Manor house. I am a big foodie so what drew me into this b&b was all the rave reviews about the food. It definitely lived up to my high expectations. The 3 course breakfasts were amazing and we also had the 6 course dinner on Saturday night. Wow. Each course was presented so beautifully and the flavor combinations were interesting as well as delicious.

We spent the weekend driving through the nearby Skyline Drive, visiting Market-Miller Orchards, and going to the spa in the George Washington Hotel in nearby downtown Winchester. There are lots of other things to do nearby which Barry was more than happy to share with us. He was a wonderful and gracious host all weekend.

Only a few very minor negatives - our queen bed did sag a little in the middle and our shower made a very loud screeching sound at times. We also found 4 loose nails on the floor in the entryway of our room. Thankfully we didn't step on them! Again, these were all very minor so I would only dock 1/2 star off my overall rating if I could. We will definitely be returning to this b&b!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We found the Inn rather by accident - and it turned out to be about the best travel accident we've ever had. As previous reviewers have said, the grounds are lovely - and one can walk, sit at a pond, sit on a lawn under trees or lounge at the pool (or swim of course!) The rooms are excellent and the food is outstanding. It is also excellently located and we did a good hike on day and went to a concert at the Castleton Festival the next. We rarely go back to the same place as we want to try different things but the great accomodation at the Inn is a reason to break this practice.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the main house are in the basement - they're fine and comfortable but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The B&B is a perfect place to spend a relaxing weekend. The land and different buildings are beautiful. There is lots of wildlife and a swimming pool !!! Located less than an hour drive from the DC area is a plus. We like going to a show at the Conservatory or Wayside one night. Barry and Neil are wonderful.

Room Tip: we traveled with 3 other couples and we chose the Chumley house with 4 rooms (but NO king size beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Whenever I write a review, I try to give a full picture. The Inn at Vaucluse is an elegant getaway, especially for couples, with beautiful grounds, welcoming hosts, and attention to detail. We stayed over a Saturday night and enjoyed the six-course meal prepared by the chef, who gave us an overview of each course while we had drinks with the other guests on the back porch. There are many positives, and I definitely would recommend the Inn. However, in the interest of full disclosure, I would add a few minor negatives: while the presentation of the dinner was excellent and a couple of courses, in a particular the black drum, were unique and memorable, the meal as a whole didn't have the "wow" factor; the Inn's wifi doesn't work except in the front hallway, and the bed in our room sagged in the middle, which presents issues when its a queen-sized bed rather than a king. That said, the positives far outweight the negatives and we intend to return to the Inn in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldruggedx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We discovered The Inn at Vaucluse Spring online while searching for a relaxing and elegant B&B trip to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We currently live just outside of Pittsburgh, but miss our former residence in the DC area, and have always felt more at home in Maryland and Virginia. After a 4 hour drive down into gorgeous countryside, we were warmly greeted by Neil, who gave us our key to our room in the Chumleigh home. Our room (the Zane Room) was clean, beautiful and inviting. My husband loved the fact that he could fetch his coffee each morning downstairs in the keeping room and enjoy it with other guests while relaxing on the screened porch. Breakfast both days was a gourmet treat - as was dinner on Saturday evening. We highly recommend making reservations for the dinner, as it was amazing food and service, plus wonderful company with the other guests we enjoyed getting to know. I enjoyed swimming and sunning at the beautiful pool that afternoon. The gardens, the views, the innkeepers and staff - it all made for a memorable experience on our special weekend. We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

What a lovely, quiet inn in the northern Virginia countryside. Hosts Barry and Neil were charming and gracious. We were in the Strother room with it's king size bed and plenty of room for a most enjoyable stay. Saturday night dinner and Sat & Sun breakfasts were excellent. The hospitality was superb and the environment delightful. Close to Shenandoah National Park and many wineries, there is much to do in the immediate area. The great thing about it all, though, was the immediate and welcoming warmth we felt on arrival. We were truly treated like guests in a home. We already have reservations for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsummerlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing