We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our first but certainly not our last visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Our first but certainly not our last visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

What a lovely, quiet inn in the northern Virginia countryside. Hosts Barry and Neil were charming and gracious. We were in the Strother room with it's king size bed and plenty of room for a most enjoyable stay. Saturday night dinner and Sat & Sun breakfasts were excellent. The hospitality was superb and the environment delightful. Close to Shenandoah National Park and many wineries, there is much to do in the immediate area. The great thing about it all, though, was the immediate and welcoming warmth we felt on arrival. We were truly treated like guests in a home. We already have reservations for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsummerlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    37
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
554
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our experience at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring will not be forgotten soon. We were blessed to meet and visit with your amazing hostess Michelle, who treated us like family during our entire stay. What a wonderful respite, nothing less than fabulous would describe how we felt during our stay in the Strathmore Room. The room was vastly spacious with warm colors, a huge fire place and large windows that provided spectacular views. We look forward to our next visit this fall for another reunion with the Vaucluse Family.

Best Regards,
Howard & Cynthia

Room Tip: Our favorite rooms are located in the beautiful Vaucluse Home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here twice - on the way out from Dulles and on our return from North Carolina. The website provides a very accurate representation of the inn, but even so, when we actually woke up to the beautiful view in the morning, it was spectacular. This is a perfect place for rest and relaxation.

We stayed in the Chumley Homeplace. We had a very spacious room with nice sized bath and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. As it was summer, we didn't need to make use of the fireplace.
The bed was pretty comfortable, my only complaint would be that there was some noise from the air conditioning unit located outside the building. If you're a heavy sleeper, you probably wouldn't notice it.

Breakfast in the morning was great and the innkeepers made us feel very welcome. A late check in (after regular hours because of our flight) wasn't a problem, they left us a note and the room was unlocked.

We enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend to anyone considering a visit to this part of Virginia.

Room Tip: Check the website to help make your choice - very accurate descriptions of accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in the cabin, an amazingly restored log building moved there from NC. Outstandind breakfast - gourmet. Extremely clean and very quiet. Unplug your electronics and relax. Excellent hiking trails.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Inn at Vaucluse Spring had been recommended to me and my husband by two separate couples. We stayed this past weekend and LOVED it. The grounds are lovely, the innkeepers are delightful, the breakfast is fabulous and the place is very peaceful. It is well run and relaxing. Everything was just as we like it and we want to go again. I highly recommend it for a getaway and/or special occasion.

Room Tip: The Mill House Studio was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSB004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We discovered the Inn at Vaucluse Spring in May 2011, and have been back several times. We are looking forward to a 2 night stay over Memorial Day. Things we love: in the Manor House the Saturday night dinner (truly gourmet) with drinks on the gracious veranda overlooking the gardens and sloping lawn with the hills behind; the choice of accommodations, all of them elegant and beautifully furnished. When I wandered into Chumley house on our first visit in search of coffee, I found a housekeeper IRONING the pillowcases. It is this kind of attention to detail that makes this inn truly a retreat. Be sure to book the Saturday night dinner - just delightful with local produce and special in-house chef-made delicacies, and perfect after a day of hiking for us in Shenandoah National Park.

Room Tip: We like the Manor House, but would like to try Chumley. The Studio, though charming and spacious, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I had a relaxing weekend getaway at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. Unlike a lot of country inns that are 2+ hours away, this one was only about 1 hour and 30 minutes away from Washington, DC, making it convenient for a Friday night post-work check-in. The innkeepers were able to accommodate our late arrival and we appreciated their easy-going attitude throughout our visit. We stayed in the Gallery, which was a spacious, cozy two-story cottage with living space downstairs and 1 bedroom/bathroom with jacuzzi upstairs. The property's pool is located right outside the Gallery, which could be a good or bad thing depending on your perspective, but we enjoyed having it close by.

The food and service at breakfast and multi-course dinner were both unpretentious and enjoyable. We enjoyed sitting on the rocking chairs located on the porch of the main house and the sangria, iced tea and snacks available during the refreshment time before dinner. Whether you want to explore some of the local attractions such as caverns or wineries, or just spend the weekend with a good book on the porch or by the pool, the Inn at Vaucluse Spring is an unintrusive place for a quick, low-key weekend.

Room Tip: The Gallery is less expensive than some of the other private cottages on the property; it is a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Convinced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing