We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No elevator” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No elevator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The lack of an elevator was the only thing we had a complaint about. The room was spotless and the beds were super comfortable! It was nice to be able to open the window. The water pressure in the shower was awesome! Breakfast was ok, nothing special. We would stay again!

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
28
28
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stephens City is certainly not a popular destination. Upon learning we needed to travel there for a funeral, we booked the Comfort Inn. It was close to where we needed to be. I made a mistake when booking and had an additional room booked, the manager was very nice in understanding and cancelled the extra room with no problem at all. The staff was excellent, made you feel like part of the family. The rooms are clean and bright, you can open the windows on the first floor. Every accommodation we needed was met. The location was perfect for what we needed to do. The breakfast was your usual continental breakfast, fresh and well stocked. Would definitely return again when visiting in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcf4972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special, nothing particularly negative. I would stay here again. Wifi worked well, friendly staff, clean, std. Comfort Inn breakfast. Offers discount at nearby restaurants. We stayed here because it was relatively close to Front Royal where we drove Skyline Parkway.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

You can't get away from the smoke. The halls are smoky - no attempt at ventilation. There's people smoking right next to the lobby entry. Nonsmoking rooms are adjacent to smoking rooms - it's a joke, there's no attempt to accommodate nonsmokers at all. If smoke bothers you, stay away.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wizgidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stephens City hotels

DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is an acceptable choice if you are looking for an economical place to stay and don't expect too much.

My wife and I did not find the bed all that comfortable, and that would be our primary issue. We had the foresight to request a room on the first floor, which was a good thing, as there is no elevator and my wife has difficulty climbing stairs.

The breakfast (included in room rate) was okay, certainly good enough for a quick bite before hitting the road, but nothing special.

The room was clean, and except for the bed, reasonably comfortable.

I found that the wifi connected without much fuss, but that every time I closed my iPad, the next time I opened it I had to log in all over again, which was a minor nuisance. The wifi seemed a bit slow at times.

I'd consider staying elsewhere if in the area again, but mostly hoping to find a more comfortable bed. The rest of the room was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, unless you don't mind schlepping your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in the Stephens City/Front Royal, VA area for a Golf Tournament. We found The Comfort Inn right off of I-81 which was very clean, VERY reasonably priced and convenient to the golf course, shopping and many restaurants. Our room was very spacious, very clean, the beds were extremely comfortable (especially the pillows). The staff was very nice. The breakfast was surprisingly good. Parking was spacious and even though we were right off of I-81 we heard none of the traffic (and our room was on the front of the building). I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the end of the first floor next to the parking lot entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertECroneJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel since both of the major chain hotels were booked solid in nearby Front Royal. So we ended up here. There is no elevator to the second floor so elderly guests should be aware. We were in a non-smoking room but unfortunately a smoking room was right across the hall. You could smell cigarette smoke coming into our room - but we managed to keep it at bay by running our air conditioner. The breakfast was basic, but trouble was that there was only seating for about 10-12 people, so we ate ours standing up! It is ok to stay here if you have to, but I would suggest trying to get into the new Holiday Inn in Front Royal....it is brand new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
8.9 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 167 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing