We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Pretty basic hotel, good restaurant nearby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
London, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pretty basic hotel, good restaurant nearby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel since both of the major chain hotels were booked solid in nearby Front Royal. So we ended up here. There is no elevator to the second floor so elderly guests should be aware. We were in a non-smoking room but unfortunately a smoking room was right across the hall. You could smell cigarette smoke coming into our room - but we managed to keep it at bay by running our air conditioner. The breakfast was basic, but trouble was that there was only seating for about 10-12 people, so we ate ours standing up! It is ok to stay here if you have to, but I would suggest trying to get into the new Holiday Inn in Front Royal....it is brand new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
27
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.

The breakfast was just passable. The WIFI was very weak.

The beds were not bad and the shower was good.

It was just OK. But they let us stay with our dog that made it acceptable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stephens City hotels

Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while driving for an extended bus tour of Virginia. The location, adjacent of I-81, is very convenient. While dedicated spaces for trucks & buses are not offered, there was room to park when I arrived. Since I needed to go out during the evening, when most check-ins occur, the management allowed me to put out traffic cones to reserve my parking space so I would have a place to park when I returned later in the evening. Our rooms were very clean and fresh smelling. My one other complaint, especially if carrying a large, heavy bag is that this hotel does not offer an elevator. For an older property, I still feel that this hotel is a good place to stop

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we made reservations I was not anticipating much . Place is an old hotel , didn't care . In town for both Daughters Graduation from college and it was close to location . Very surprised . Very clean and comfy . Good hot breakfast , very nice staff . Felt right at home for the 4 days we stayed . Right off exit and back on . Passed this place for years and now feel dumb for doing so . Gas and food options close by , nice spot to unwind if your in the valley .

Room Tip: We had 118 , it was perfect . Can even open the window and have fresh air . AC and heat was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I found the Comfort Inn in Stephen City to be a decent place to stay for the night. The room was large and clean and it was modestly priced. However the cons for this location: the pillows were a small "travel" sized pillow, fluffy but small. The complimentary breakfast was good but if you get down to breakfast late (8:00 AM) they run out of food. When asked about the scrambled eggs, the response was "we're out". The waitress kept bringing out sausage frequently. Hard to believe that they could not fix more eggs as well, or that they had no more fixings. They had a waffle machine which was nice. There was lots of cold cereal selections, hot oatmeal packets, yogurt and hard boiled eggs, orange and apple juice, and danish. If more breakfast choices are desired, or you really like to have hot eggs in the morning, I recommend the Butcher Block restaurant next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcd1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We needed a get away and wanted someplace to stay close to skyline Drive. We booked the non smoking jacuzzi room and it had a undescribable heavy smell that wouldnt go away but it seemed clean. We bought air freshener at a local store to spray in the room and it was tolerable. We also kept smelling cigarette smoke and couldnt tell where it was coming from. Which was ok becasue it wasnt a thick smell just an "every once in awhile" smell. The staff was professional but not overly friendly but friendly enough. The breakfast was do-able...I've had worse and I've had better. The room was nice, but would have been nicer if it was updated and cracks fixed. It definately wasnt worth the money we paid for it. But none of this ruined our get away. I would try not to stay here again BUT if I had to I would.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyQ823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've stopped here several times before as it's a convenient half-way point between our home in New England and the "Middle South". The location is very convenient, easy on and off the Interstate. The price is definitely right. It's also very convenient to two restaurants, one a family cafeteria type place and the other the Roma, both within walking distance.
The place was clean, and well-maintained, if a little bit threadbare. The mattresses were very good - better than I've found in hotels costing five times as much. The people are very nice. The free breakfast goes above and beyond what you expect at Comfort Inn. The internet is dependable and fast.
On the negative side, it's obviously an older economy motel building. The addition of one or two electrical outlets in the room would have been helpful. My wife felt that the bathtub was a little too slippery for her to be confident while showering.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room here. We were on the side toward the Interstate and did not notice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetweentheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Middletown
3.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 167 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing