We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We weren't expecting a whole lot for a hotel in Stephens City. This Holiday Inn was very nice. The staff was pleasant. Room was clean. We didn't expect such a good variety for a continental breakfast. We chose this hotel and stayed a little out of our way, so our son could experience the drive-in theater nearby. Also, if you like true southern cooking go to the Butcher Block Buffet next door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for choosing us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The drive in theater is one of our most popular local attractions as we offer a special rate and coupons for free popcorn. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 196 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

I am a IHG member. My husband and I stayed at this hotel and it was a horrible experience. If there was a way for me to give negative stars, it would get a -3 stars. First, check-in was smooth with the exception of the staff not wearing name tags. It was unclear of the employee hierarchy. Next, the room; walking in the bed looked like someone slept in it. The pillows and bed was creased up. As we turned the bed down, we found a hair in the bed. The bathroom door handle was falling apart, the curtains had holes as if they were melted in a fire. The bathtub whirl pool had pink oozing stuff seeping out of them. My husband and I had to do a thorough cleaning of it before using and while we were cleaning it, I ran the jets to clean them and the water was brown coming out of it. Breakfast was a disaster! The breakfast staff was rude and obnoxious. When you asked her for an item, she would not apologize for the shortcoming and attempt to get the items but would complain about being the only staff on duty and could not keep up with the flow. The trash can in the breakfast area was overflowing to the point other guest was kicking it aside to avoid stepping on it. The breakfast area was clearly too small to accommodate the the amount of guest that morning. On a positive note, the front desk and housekeeping staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Yolanda P,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards member. I am pleased that you found our front desk and housekeeping staff friendly and accommodating. On the other hand, I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to the room and bathroom condition. Also, the unsatisfactory experience you had during your breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these may have caused you. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Again, thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This property is consistent with Holiday Inn standards. The room and bed were clean. We had a great night's sleep. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Jacqueline on the front desk. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chacharea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and compliment to Jaclyn. We work hard at making every guest feel welcomed and appreciated. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

You must have a coupon. They are about in every rest area. You can now enjoy a nice hotel with some amenities at a good price.
We paid $65 on a Saturday night for a 2 double beds room with free breakfast and wi-fi close to the 81.
The room is clean. A bit of work to be done in the bathroom.
The hotel was almost full so the noise is a bit more but not annoying.
The breakfast room is small but we had a table for two. The food is fresh and the choice is equal to other Holiday Inn express.
So in conclusion, this place is ok as long as you have a coupon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank do b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I'm currently staying at the Holiday Inn Express, in Stephens City, Va and its been an awesome experience i travel throughout the east coast and so happy i choose this hotel out of many in the area. The staff is amazing they payed extreme attention to their guest very kind and courteous, the general manager came out to chat with me concerned about how comfortable i was, and the rest of his front desk staff, Mia , Chris, Carroll , treat you just like family and always welcome you with warm smiles. Every morning for breakfast as soon as the elevator door opens you think you couldn't ignore the smell coming from the dinning area everything fresh and clean good job !!!! an there's so much i can say about the hard working cleaning staff Debbie, Shannon, kelly, Becky and Amarie all deserve a raise i got your back ladies !!!! your doing a wonderful job keep up the good work and i apologize if i left anyone out thank you sincerely for your kindness Mr.Lee

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you Mr.Lee for your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to make everyone's stay pleasant and comfortable. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Near I-81 with nearby food resto. Room was Very clean and good accommodations. Breakfast ok and if you expect a gourmet meal go to the Ritz... Staff very nice and helpful. Internet a bit slow but good TV. Very good stay

Room Tip: Get coupons from the Travel info center for good discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C Qui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stay at a lot of hotels in a year, most of them being the Holiday Inn chain so I decided I should start to leave my impressions of them.

I'm going to leave out the standard items that should be in all Holiday Inn Expresses and really just focus on where it is lacking.

The good:
- The staff are nice
- Large bathroom
- Decently clean

The bad:
- The internet is brutal. It is so slow and it keeps asking to you to re-login all the time, making using the internet for anything productive impossible. (see attached speed tests) This was not a single day occurrence, its pretty much unusable all week.

- The faucet in the bathroom does not have a smooth flow of water. It comes out all over the place and sprays up onto you. (room 106)

- The breakfast is also bad. The bananas are grey. (How is that even possible?) and the bagels/bread products are all stale. This is one of the worst HIX breakfasts I have seen. (its bad by default, but this is worse.) it also annoys me that they use Styrofoam and packaging for everything. Not really green at all.

- The heater is quite loud. (Unfortunately, this is fairly common at HIX though)

- Minor annoyance is that the TV is 720p, ya its HD but common, a 1080p TV is not much more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear scottstevenson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
34 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
886 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range: $86 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing