We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Late Arrival, Very Late Check Out...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was not able to arrive at the hotel until almost 1am and checked out at 1pm. Normally they would resell the room after 7pm but a phone call to them to let them know I would be there very late was all it took. Since we didn't get there until very late we didn't get up early and pushed the envelope on check out time of 12 noon. I talked to the maid staff around 11am and their exact reply was "take your time". When checking out I left them a note and a $5 tip on the desk along with the room key cards. The maid made the extra effort and quickly came outside to thank me. The General Manager was working the front desk and I personally saw him doing everything from taking out the trash to washing down the entry way with a hose. He is a very nice and hands on kind of guy and who all about customer satisfaction. From my experience I would go out of my way to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I got lucky and got room 100... 1st room on the 1st floor just outside the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Stephens City was a convenient place to stop on our return trip to New Jersey. The room was large and clean although nothing special, however the breakfast was better than most we encountered on our travels. The variety was surprising and the hot choices were fresh and plentiful. The desk staff were welcoming and friendly. The Italian restaurant around the corner was also surprisingly goog too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear pjrule,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am very happy that you have enjoyed or breakfast selection. However, please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Do not stop at this hotel. It should not be allowed to carry the HI logo. Lobby was nearly empty of furniture, dirty. The first room we were sent to reeked so much of smoke we ran out as soon as the door was opened. We always specify no smoking and it was on the reservation. Got keys to another room. AC never cooled room all nite. The whole hotel is filthy, including the room we ended up with. Not only did we find clothing left in the bathroom but when I opened the drawer under the phone we found empty packages of Chinese sex stimulants. Must have been a real party scene. We would have left if there had been another place to go. In addition, there are only fast food restaurants around and they too are filthy. Skip the entire exit ang keep driving.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Lydia L,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We welcome feedback as it assist us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests.

I am sorry to hear about your experience at our property. I hope you can believe me when I say that your experience is not the norm in our hotel. I humbly extend an apology for any shortcomings you had in your room and deeply regret the dissatisfaction you had with our level of cleanliness.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped in without a reservation while traveling along Hwy 81. The room was beautiful and very spacious. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast only because we'd stayed in another of this hotel chain in another city that had a full breakfast buffet. But this breakfast was adequate, just not spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachermom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We're pretty inexperienced at travel east of the Mississippi, but on our quest to visit National Parks across the country we found ourselves in Virginia.

We picked this Holiday Inn Express property because of the proximity to the park and its pretty high rankings on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed.

The property is located just off an intersection with the highway less than 30 minutes to the north visitor center of the park. The hotel is relatively new, very clean, and had the quietest air conditioning system I've ever heard. I wish I would have checked to see who manufactured it - they deserve a commendation.

The hotel sits back from the highway quite a ways, so the room was quiet. It was also comfortable, with a great bed and the typical Holiday Inn shower head and curved shower curtain that make the shower so comfortable.

The route via GPS to the park includes a nice jaunt on a country road that is very scenic, making for a nice excursion.

I'd recommend this hotel for travelers in the area.

Room Tip: I don't think there will be a bad room. The neighborhood is rural.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were tired, it was pouring rain, trucks hindering your view, stress....sound familiar? We stopped here and used a travel coupon for a bargain stay. Chris at the front desk was very courteous regarding coupon and didn't treat us like second class citizens, if you know what I mean. Room was nice, we got 316, which was smoking floor but just 1 floor up from front desk. Beautiful view. Beds were comfy, internet worked fine. Loved the pancakes in the morning instead of those waffles you see everywhere. Really nice stuff on buffet breakfast. Went to Butcher Block buffet, just walked over there, for dinner. Not a lot of selection like some of them, but the quality was better for the most part. They had great BBQ ribs, real mashed potatoes, other items pretty standard, but price at @ $9 each (sr rate) was good for what we had. Good place to stay overnight or even much longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bear1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed one night , Hotel very clean and staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel is easy to find and very covenient to Interstate, Only drawback for me were the early departure truckers who seemed to leave the engines running on tick over just below our window for what seemed like ages. we were on 2nd floor, this may have been a one off annoyance. Several eateries close to but check out the 'Butchers Block' Great buffet , hot tasty and plenty of choice at low price

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsleOfmanOceanrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
34 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
886 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range: $86 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing