We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just what I needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I enjoyed everything about this hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous, checking in and out was a breeze, the rooms were clean with all of the amenities I required, and the breakfast had many options. The rooms and the decor look modern and well-kept although I think the building might be older and renovated.

The bathroom had a nice big shower head with great water pressure. The tv had the big movie channels, such as HBO. My only concern was that the pillows were a bit lumpy but this did not affect how I slept. The pillowcases had nice labels embroidered on the edge to indicate which were "soft" or "firm", but they all had the same consistency. At least they weren't down pillows; I really don't enjoy down pillows. I am sure that if I had asked the staff, I could have gotten replacement pillows, but it didn't bother me enough to say anything. Otherwise the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

This hotel was easy to get to from I-81 and there was plenty of parking. I felt safe in the area going to and from my car at night. Once in my room on the second floor, I could hear some of the traffic on I-81, but it didn't disturb me even though I am a light sleeper.

I only stayed one night as a stop over while driving a long distance. This hotel was just what I needed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalida500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    53
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
54
58
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Excellent staff. House keeping did a great job. The gentleman Chris at the front desk was very helpful and professional !! I would recommend this stay to anyone. I do plan on returning. It doesn't get much better then that !! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is very customer friendly especially to business groups that need a place to hang out. The hotel let the large group of employees of IAC use the lobby, couches and tables and tv to all relax with each other and have dinner as a group. This could not have been done in the hotel rooms due to the amount of people. The staff is extremely friendly and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. This is a excellent establishment to stay if you are passing through or working in the area.

Thanks again,

John - IAC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thank you for everything . Chris check me in and did an awsome job.. very nice. Carol was very sweet also very helpful. We had a great stay and will tell our friends and we will come back in the future. Thank you for everything

Room Tip: chocolate in the room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msnrlr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed the first stay here on our return trip we stopped again the beds are very confortable the staff is awesome the breakfest was real good lots to choose from the rooms were very clean wifi is great we will stop here again on our trips North and South.Give it a try. thanks Chris .

Room Tip: choose Holiday Inn Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RABSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear RABSR,

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Happy Thanksgiving!

The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It had been a long day riding and we were extremely tired. The Holiday Inn Express was a welcomed stop. The front desk staff was very helpful, the weather was rainy and they allowed us to park our motorcycles under the cover and they said they would keep an eye on them through the night.

We checked in, had a couple beers in the bar area to unwind. They had cheap happy hour specials going on, After a couple drinks we headed back to the room. We found the room spotless and very comfortable. When we checked out in the morning we were considering having breakfast there but only had coffee ... I found a Waffle House down the road and I love WH breakfast, we don't have any where I live so when I get a chance we go. I am sure the rest at the Holiday Inn would have been just as good as the rest of our experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1V-MAN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear IV-Man1,
We appreciate your business and your recent review of our services. We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with a welcoming atmosphere and shelter from the storm—your bike too. If you pass through our region in the future please do stop by and see us.
Take care,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We usually stay at the Holiday Inn in Front Royal but because we were late in making reservations during the height of the leaf peeping season, we ended up in Stephens City. We had an excellent room -- it was very nice and restful. Our breakfast was good although the only quibble I had was no non-sugar sweeteners (the night before -- there was plenty for our tea so it must have been the morning rush).

It was very crowded but there was no problem checking in, getting around, getting breakfast and checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readhd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear redhd59,

Thank you for your recent review. We are thankful that your travel plans included our hotel this time. We appreciate your business and are happy we were able to offer you an “excellent” room. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe travels,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing