We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient to I-81” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Supply, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient to I-81”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back home. This was a quiet stay. Close to I-81 but the hotel is situated perpendicular to the highway so road noise is low. The room was clean and the staff pleasant. Complimentary breakfast was adequate but I missed fresh fruit. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfish43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    52
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
55
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained. The staff is exceptional .... very friendly and make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

While I didn't find this HIE to be as excellent as others here, it is certainly very good, and I would recommend it with no complaints...the property appears well maintained, and the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with extra thick towels(nice touch!), and the breakfast was very good and well supervised....(hmm, maybe it was almost excellent, so let's upgrade to very good plus!)...if you're not just passing thru, there are some interesting spots nearby to see...stroll along main street of stephens city for the look of a lost era...checkout the family drive in theater for a rare nostalgic relic...and take a look at dinosaur land for hoot worthy fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vistacruiser69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socastee, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I am always concerned when making a hotel reservation without having knowledge of the hotel first. I researched what I could on the internet and read good things about this hotel. When we arrived all the things I read became true. Starting at the front desk all the way trough the stay, it was all good! The best surprise to me was the "hot" breakfast they have every morning. Not just muffins and beagles but eggs, sausage, biscuit & gravy and the best warm ciniminion rolls! I highly recommend this hotel for your stay. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

That's right. There really are times when all we want is good, clean, solid value with no surprises. That's what I expect from HIX. That's what the Stephens City property delivered.
The hotel is super convenient to I-81. The room was large; towels were abundant; bed was very good. Complimentary breakfast was standard HIX fare: cold cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, cheese omelets, bagels, juice, coffee. It's not the greatest, but it is a welcome amenity that adds to the overall value.
We left immediately after breakfast, so cannot comment on things such as exercise room or swimming pool.
We were very satisfied with this property and will not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darthdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed at this Inn for about 10 weeks only M-F. And my stay was very pleasant and entertaining. The customer service was outstanding, I never had a problem or issue checking in. Checking in was always quick and easy I always received the same room I requested. Thank you Rachel and to the team that made my stay welcomed. And if you get hungary the place to eat is "Roma Casual Italian & Greek Dining" its a 2 minute walk from the Inn. The food is great I ate there most of the time I stayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have stayed many times at this hotel, for business and pleasure. I have found this hotel to be my Home away from home, where I can relax and rest from a hard day. The employees here do a fabulous job of making guests feel comfortable, with friendly service and helpful suggestions on food and entertainment in the area. The housekeeping always does a great job of keeping my room clean and neat. The front desk personnel, especially Rachel, always have a smile and are so helpful to guests. Rachel is a dedicated employee who does every task right and always make my check-in and checkouts very expedient and easy. I really enjoy this hotel. The breakfast is delicious and always ready in time for people who have to get to work early. Thanks again Holiday Inn Staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
4.7 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing