We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is an old hotel and nothing special!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is an old hotel and nothing special!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

This place must be run by a bunch of idiots! The rooms and hallways smell of mold. The building is older than my grandmother and to boot, the only staff that were friendly was the breakfast hostess. I will not be returning to this poor service, low class, smelly hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Meredeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Meredeth c,

Thank you for your review. We truly apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us in August 2011. Comments such as yours do help us improve, and we take all guests comments very seriously.

Our hotel opened in 1996, and around the time of your stay we were just launching a complete hotel renovation to modernize both our sleeping rooms and common areas. We are happy that you found our breakfast hostess to be friendly. Part of our re-launch included counseling and empowering all departments of the hotel to offer the same high levels of customer service and satisfaction.

In the future we hope to have the opportunity to earn your business back, and to demonstrate our commitment to outstanding service.

Sincerely,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S: Stephens City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    53
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
54
58
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Newer, Clean, beautiful, spacious, convenient, nice ppl.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OHBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear OHBeth,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you found our property to be newer, clean, and beautiful.

The natural splendor of the mountains in the Shenandoah Valley doesn’t hurt the aesthetics either!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Take care,

The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S: Stephens City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

It was very enjoyable, the staff catered to my husband and myself. We would recommend this hotel and we would stay again. The occasion was my grandsons graduation.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itiswrtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear itiswrtn:

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your grandson’s graduation. It is exciting for our staff to be a part of such a memorable family moment.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast – next time you are in town I think you will really love the upgrades we made to our selections. One of such upgrades includes a made-to-order pancake service!

Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Take care,

The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S: Stephens City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice place to stay. Unfortunately only electrical item in our room that worked was one lamp:( We complained but no more non smoking rooms were available. My hubby spoke to the manager in the morning and our room was comped- as it should have been. They were renovating so probably wouldn't usually have any problems. Additionally, breakfast was provided and it was good and plentiful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

I am currently having work done to my house and needed a hotel room for a few days. Check in was quick and ladies at the front desk were wonderful. The HIExpress offered the best prices so i was a little worried about how the room would be. I was very happy when i opened the door and saw the newly renovated room. This hotel also has a breakfast bar that has something for everyone. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlowery73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We were returning from vacation in Vermont and driving all secondary roads to return home to Virginia Beach. We were planning day by day on the return trip. Several hotels were full but we were referred to this hotel. Since Holiday Inn Express has a good reputation and we just stayed in one in NY the night before, we felt comfortable calling for a room. The desk clerk was helpful on the phone with my wife and gave us a room with a retired military discount. We specified non-smoking, king, and gave them our phone #. When we arrived, there were two clerks; they said they tried to call us and let us know they were overbooked, but we could have their last 'smoking' room at the same price. We went with the clerk to look at it. It was clean and acceptable, but we were not offered more discount or air freshener. We used our own freshener and spent the night comfortably, thinking this was just an turn of events. The next morning, we met a lady in the hall that told us the same story about overbooked and getting the last smoking room instead of non-smoking. What a coincidence that there are two 'last' rooms. I wonder how many other people are suckered into filling the smoking rooms to insure a full hotel??? Again, I must say our stay was clean and comfortable, but we were lied to by the staff. Do they think customers are stupid and won't talk to each other?? A diner is next door that is a buffet and has more food than should be legal; and it was good food. We would stay again but we will insure that we tell the clerk that 'bs' will get a complaint lodged with the corporation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mthacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Our choice of room was over-booked, so we had to downgrade from a honeymoon suite to an executive one & the "extra touches" were lost instead of simply being provided in the lower cost room.
The rooms are clean and comfortable & the staff is very helpful. A/C gets VERY cold VERY quickly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kensandav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing