We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Great Buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butcher Block Buffet - CLOSED

Butcher Block Buffet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Coming from the south, I thought we had the best buffets - well I was wrong. The food was excellent and so was the service. The buffet had a wide selection of food and the desserts were great too! I was amazed at the different types of selection of entrees/side dishes. Most buffets only have a few desserts to choose from this place had a bunch and they were all good. They also offered prices for senior adults which made our meal that much more affordable. However, the prices were good without the senior discount. But the discount is always nice!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank decee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food was excellent, the mashed potatoes were a lil bland, and alot of the desserts had nuts in them. Im not allergic but i dont like them. Waitress was overly nice. and didnt have to ask her for anything, she noticed and refilled our drinks promptly and removed the plates, we left her a $7 tip and was well deserved!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank heather r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All that you can and more than you should eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived on a Friday night, which was fish night. It was a lively and friendly atmosphere and the food was quite good for buffet fare.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank UABecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Skip It”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Dirty, dirty place with bland food. I witnessed another customer grabbing croutons with her bare hands, a tipoff that a lot of the clientele is of the older 'I don't care' ilk. There was lots of food, sure, but it was all virtually tasteless. To top it off, the prices were too high. I felt like I paid too much to eat at a sub par and small Old Country Buffet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NewsLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d f, Manager at Butcher Block Buffet, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello Lynne,

Our restaurant is known for it's cleanliness so your review on that aspect dismays us.We apologize of you found any aspect of our restaurant not to your cleanliness standards.

As for your claim of a customer using their hands to grab croutons...clean tongs are provided for all items on all our buffets and while it it highly doubtful this happened, it is equally impossible to watch every customer that makes trips to our bars. If it did happen and we saw it or if it was reported we would remove the item in question with a fresh product immediately and inform the guest to use the tongs that are provided.

If this did happen it is a very rare and isolated event as the bars are constantly visited by many guests at the same time.

As for our buffet being too expensive...Our Buffet prices are $10.49 for dinner and $7.99 for lunch. These prices include as many trips as one likes to the salad bar (over 50 different fresh items) hot bar (nearly 60 hot items) , dessert bar (25 different items) and a ice cream bar.

We also have a fresh meat carving station...

Nearly all items are homemade and 99% of our guests find that the value is excellent for the price.

We hope you will give us another chance and should you not be satisfied again please take a moment to report your issues while you are there so we can take care of it in person instead of this medium.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great home cooked dishes plus smoked ribs and chicken at unbeatable value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We have stopped at Butcherblock Buffet on several occasions as we were returning from touring and hiking in the Virginia and West Virginia mountains. There is something there for all pallets. They have had these items (plus dozens more) each time we went:

Homemade Yeast rolls
Fresh and crisp salad bar with the works including feta and blu cheese along with many homemade salads...potato salad, pasta salad, and coleslaw.
Also a smoked and grilled meat section with the best ribs I've ever what's, several types of wings...the plain smoked were wonderful. Southern barbecue with 3 or 4 sauces and two types of slaw.
Also wonderful crispy fried chicken, chicken and dumplings, meatloaf, several types of potato dishes Plus sweet potatoes. Numerous casseroles, two soups and always thick New England clam chowder, calves liver (icky...hate liver) and chicken livers and gizzards. Numerous cooked vegetables. I won't go into all the desserts, but all homemade and hubby said delicious. Ice cream also!
The restaurant was clean and staffed with helpful and happy workers. This is located in an older, outdated building with a large fireplace. It's definitely worth the stop.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sealovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Block Buffet also viewed

 
Stephens City, VA
Stephens City, VA
 
Stephens City, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing