We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay at Ray & Melissa's wonderful boutique B&B was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. After a long day driving from DC, through the Shenandoah National Park, we were hoping our chosen stop would prove a relaxing and enjoyable 2 days and couldn't have asked for more.

As soon as we walked through the door and saw the 'Welcome' board with our names on, we felt at home. Ray was very friendly and walked us around the property showing us our room and explaining the amenities available to us. The room was lovely and the whole property had been restored very tastefully. What makes this place so special are the little touches that are so well thought through - the delicious home made cookies, wine social hour each evening and complimentary water/sodas, tea & coffee and snacks. The pool area was really relaxing and overlooked the spacious gardens so a great place for chilling out.

The breakfasts were great as well - each morning a different combination - I wouldn't normally order something like French toast with bacon but Melissa's version was absolutely delicious, not forgetting the home made Granola!

Ray and Melissa were perfect hosts and by the time we were leaving felt like old friends, a truly memorable experience. Don't miss the wonderful Rockbridge vineyard, only 5 minutes drive away - free wine tastings and a lovely picnic/seating area.

Room Tip: Highly recommend 'Norton' - really bright room with lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STManor, Owner at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We LOVE to hear when guests feel at home here. We hope you come for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Starting our stay with gracious host and hostess Ray and Melissa over a glass or two of delicious Virginia wines and Melissa's superb and tasty snacks in their wine bar room was so relaxing and enjoyable and set the stage for a wonderful visit at this very fine B&B. We also got some great history of the area from Ray, as well as his vast knowledge of vineyards in the region.
Close by is the German restaurant Edelweiss which has fantastic music on Fridays and Saturdays. On the Friday we visited, two accordionists played and Joseph sang and "warbled" sweet melodies---a superb performance!
This B&B is among the best we've visited. The Innkeepers have paid attention to every detail.We were there in May and plan another visit before the year is out.
Carl and Peggy Boesch

Room Tip: We like a king bed and this B&B has three rooms with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlandpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STManor, Owner at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Ray is knowledgeable of the area partly because of guests like you who tell us of these great places and restaurants especially Edelweiss German Restaurant and their weekend entertainment! We are glad you stayed with us and we'll see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I came here for a 2-day midweek getaway. The B&B has lovely grounds for walking and solitude. Ray and Melissa are very friendly and thought of every detail. The house is beautiful and the room was perfect, especially the bed. The food was great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STManor, Owner at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You for all the nice compliments. We try our best to make it a "perfect" stay. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ray and Melissa have a wonderful B&B in the heart of the Shenandoah between Staunton and Lexington. It's beautiful at the foot of a mountain. Breakfasts are superb and I'd gain 50 lbs if I stayed there long eating Melissa's marvelous meals. Ray hosts a happy hour early evening with local winds, beers, cheeses and more. Rooms are large, luxurious, and extremely comfy. The grounds are beautiful - walk along the stream or pond and watch the fish. They have a beautiful pool as well, though the rain prevented us from enjoying that. We went for our anniversary, planning on staying 3 days. We stayed an extra night and will be back next year.

Room Tip: The Norton room is the biggest of the rooms, though all are very comfy. They also have one room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteelesTavernManor, Owner at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We enjoyed having you guys as our guests and look forward to seeing you next year on your anniversary. We'll order nice weather so you can use the pool this time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this beautiful Inn on our way home from the south.
The Innkeepers (Melissa and Ray) have done a meticulous job in restoring the property.
We sat down with them for a wine-tasting social after a long days drive and enjoyed some great local wine and cheese- and their company; they were so nice and genuine that it made our stay feel more like coming home to family than staying at an Inn.The room we stayed in was perfect and the quality of bedding (600 thread-count) and towels was the finest we have ever experienced. Every amenity has been carefully thought of from the Godiva chocolates by the bed and the unbelievable cookies and snacks at arrival to the amenities in the bath. Ray and Melissa have really done their homework to make sure your stay is comfortable and restive. Breakfast was served in the dining area where we were treated to a yogurt and fresh fruit parfait followed by homemade French Toast (made with special bread shipped in just for that) and local breakfast sausage mixed with apple (that was so good). We loved our stay here, and look forward to returning in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RF279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteelesTavernManor, Owner at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy socializing with our guests. One of our goals is to make guests feel comfortable and feel like part of our family! Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a beautiful property with wonderful inn keepers. The food is amazing, the pool refreshing and the gardens perfect for a stroll. The B&B is close to wineries and hiking. Don't miss happy hour with complimentary local wines and wonderful appetizers.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rodellebenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteelesTavernManor, Owner at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed having you as our guests! We have plans to improve our outside property this year by adding a bridge behind the pond to connect to walking trails along our property. So hopefully you return to enjoy more outdoor activity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights of our honeymoon (May 11 and 12, 2013) with Melissa and Ray at the Steeles Tavern Manor Bed & Breakfast and it was wonderful. The location is great and easy to locate just of US Rt 81 and the rooms and food are excellent. I am sure we will celebrate many anniversaries at the Steeles Tavern Manor. I would encourage others to stay at this beautiful B&B.

Steve and Karen form Charlottesville, VA

Room Tip: The fall would be great time to visit and see the leaves changing on Skyline Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsbailey1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteelesTavernManor, Owner at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We were happy to share with you your special time and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again congratulations and best of luck with your new life together. Ray and Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steeles Tavern
18.3 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
792 reviews
17.1 mi away
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
19.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Georges
The Georges
#2 of 18 in Lexington
203 reviews
19.9 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 12 in Staunton
229 reviews
12.7 mi away
Fenton Inn
Fenton Inn
#1 of 1 in Wintergreen
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8400 N Lee Highway, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range: $207 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Blue Ridge Mountain foothills in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia on 50 acres lies Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast. We invite you into our 1916-built Virginian manor house located in a beautiful rural location halfway between the historic towns of Lexington and Staunton. The Inn offers five guest rooms and suites with gas or electric fireplaces and private baths with double Jacuzzi tubs. The Inn's decor has a relaxed winery theme with each guest room named for wine varietals native to Virginia. Roam the grounds to enjoy views of our pond, the rolling stream or our in-ground swimming pool. Feel free to relax and enjoy warm hospitality during our complimentary early evening social hour with a glass of local wine or beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing