We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After searching through many B&B, Inn, and cabin rental listings we settled on Steele's Tavern Manor for a weekend getaway from the kids. We were not disappointed! The decor is stylish and comfortable and Ray and Melissa could not have been more helpful and accommodating. There are many activity options in the surrounding area depending on your wish list....hiking, antiques, wineries, and more. The breakfast is to die for...delicious! We do not get away often enough, but we will back to visit this place! Thanks Melissa and Ray for making our weekend great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
171
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

In all fairness, this was our first experience at a B&B which means that all I have to compare it to others is online descriptions and pictures. If you are looking for a B&B with floral/Victorian decor (typical), then this is not for you. It was decorated beautifully and with a modern eye (dark wood floors matched with relaxing hues of paint.) The food (appetizers at night and breakfast) was delicious, Ray and Melissa were ideal and knowledgeable hosts. The rooms were fantastic. We stayed in the Cabernet Franc, and I loved it. The Rockbridge Winery (5 minutes away) was lovely. Overall, we had a great time and plan to return with friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I needed a last minute get-a-way due to our Anniversary plans falling through, and it seemed like EVERY B&B was booked. As I was looking for a place for us I stumbled across Steeles Tavern Manor, and I am so glad I did. The Manor itself is immaculate and very tastefully decorated. It is certainly not your typical floral pattern B&B. Our hosts, Ray and Melissa, were very welcoming and accomodating. In the evening they set out a wonderful spread of appetizers along with some local beers and wine. We originally had made reservations at a local restaurant for 6:30 but we were enjoying socializing with our hosts and other guests so much that we pushed back our dinner plans. Instead of us having to call, Ray was quick to get on the phone and ask if our reservations could be pushed back. Both Ray and Melissa are very familiar with the area and have a wonderful rapport with everyone we talked to. From the wineries we visted, to the local restaurant, to the antique shop across the street; everyone was singing Ray and Melissa's praises.
So just a few things that are complimentary at the Steeles Tavern Manor: a Keurig with a wide variety of K-cups are at your disposal at all times, sodas and bottled water in a small fridge outside the room, little snacks such as crackers and granola bars, homemade cookies and most toiletries. The wine and beer and appetizers at the cocktail hour are also complimentary.
I would highly recommend this B&B. My wife and I both loved it. We will be sure to send our friends and family in the direction of Steeles Tavern Manor, and we are planning to return ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My fiance and I frequent B&B's because they are a more personal experience and tend to be more laid back- we received both of these and much more at Steeles Tavern B&B. Ray and Melissa were the best- I felt more like I was a house guest in their home than a customer at their business. From seeing their smiling faces upon arrival to their taking care of our every need over our 4 day weekend, we were continually pleased. Ray and Melissa offer an evening social hour with local beers and wine (included in your overall cost!) which enabled us to get to know the other guests in their inn- by the end of the weekend we were on a first name basis with most of them. My finance and I do not drink, so they ensured they were well stocked with other alcohol free beverages. Though Ray and Melissa had just opened their doors in July and had moved to the area from Pittsburgh, it was like they were long time residents of the area because they were able to give us great suggestions of places to dine, hike and explore in the area. They often use local ingredients in their delicious several course breakfasts. The house and grounds were lovely and centrally located between two moderately sized quaint towns, and right around the corner from the winding roads taking you to the Appalachian Trail. Throughout the entirety of our weekend adventures, my fiance worked on carving a beautiful walking stick (which he was very proud of and attached to) which came up missing before we left. Ray not only tracked down his creation, but is mailing it home to us! I cannot say enough positive things about our experience at Steeles Tavern B&B (and especially Ray and Melissa!!!) and suggest anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing and beautiful weekend getaway in the Shenandoah Valley- call Ray and Melissa!!

Room Tip: They were all beautiful and included and 2 person tub- ours was the Chardonnay and the only one on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, CO
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked this B&B at the last minute and really lucked out! This is the BEST B&B we've ever stayed at! The house is wonderfully redone and sophisticated. Ray and Melissa know all about the local restaurants, wineries and attractions. Ask anyone around the area and they all know Ray & Melissa! The grounds are beautiful so make sure you take a walk down by the stream where you can sit and sip on a glass of wine! The food is wonderful and Ray will be glad to pour you a glass of wine or give you a beer to enjoy with Melissa's Hors d'oeuvres. Please note that there are great restaurants in town and many more within 15 minutes of the Inn and the surrounding country is beautiful. Why anyone would stay in Lexington or Stanton instead of in between at the Steel's Tavern Manor B&B is beyond me! This is the perfect place to see everything!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beauiful and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbecker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Exactly how a romantic get away should be: lovely rooms with great beds and all the amenities, charming hosts (we like the 5.30 tasting of local wines and ales) and great breakfast with good choice for vegetarians as well.
We took our dinks down to the pond and let the crickets province the serenade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWSALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steeles Tavern
18.3 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
750 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
38 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
16.6 mi away
502 South Main
502 South Main
#1 of 18 in Lexington
280 reviews
17.1 mi away
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8400 N Lee Highway, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Blue Ridge Mountain foothills in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia on 50 acres lies Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast. We invite you into our 1916-built Virginian manor house located in a beautiful rural location halfway between the historic towns of Lexington and Staunton. The Inn offers five guest rooms and suites with gas or electric fireplaces and private baths with double Jacuzzi tubs. The Inn's decor has a relaxed winery theme with each guest room named for wine varietals native to Virginia. Roam the grounds to enjoy views of our pond, the rolling stream or our in-ground swimming pool. Feel free to relax and enjoy warm hospitality during our complimentary early evening social hour with a glass of local wine or beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing