We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant even explain how wonderful it is!”
Review of Alpine Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steeles Tavern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Hideaway
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The sunset cabin was the spot for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing. The view and comfort of the cabin was better than either of us imagined. To take it a step further, Ray and Melissa, are some of the nicest people I have ever meet. When the snow started coming, and we literally got stuck climbing the little hill, Mr. Ray came out and made tracks for our little car and when we still couldnt get up the little hill he gave us alittle push. We will definately back. We are thinking of making it our annual anniversary spot. Thank you Ray and Melissa!

Room Tip: I only stayed in the sunset cabin. but honestly I would imagine they are all as perfect as that cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_A02_17_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

All the big details are expertly taken care of, all the small details perfect your stay. We have stayed in many cabins throughout Virginia, Sunset is my favorite to date - we will be back. Thank you Ray and Melissa, you have something amazing here, can't wait to see the Manor when it is done.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScoHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Looking for a great getaway for couples -- this is a great place located in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Each isolated cabin allows you to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life--where you can sit back, relax and focus on doing nothing. Yes, do nothing at all, if you like. Stoke up the fireplace, read a book, watch a movie, play some games, nap, soak in the tub, watch the stars while relaxing in the hot tub... ah, life is good.

We stayed in the Ivy Cottage, isolated on a hillside looking westward. This one has a fireplace, king-sized bed, hot tub & whirlpool bath (as all do). The small galley kitchen has everything you need except the food you bring. We brought some gourmet, ready-made meals to heat up so we didn't have to spend lots of time cooking. We ordered a wonderful breakfast our first morning that is delivered at 9am. Yum. There is satellite TV, wireless, movie library & lots of peace & quiet.

This was the perfect retreat to decompress from work and recharge our batteries before heading into the hectic Christmas holiday season. We will definitely be back for some more solitude and can highly recommend it to you. : )

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken_Porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I spend our weeks in meetings, taking phone calls, bringing our work home with us and traveling. We found Alpine Hideaway to be just perfect. We had privacy, a beautiful cabin, wonderful mountain scenery, a private hot tub and Ray & Melissa even had a fire built for us when we arrived. I loved it! We're already looking to go back in the summer so we can enjoy the pool and lake. We might go check out the winery a few minutes down the road next time too.

Room Tip: I would recommend the "pond" cabin if you want to be near the water. If you want absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tplev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This was our seventh or eight trip to Alpine Hideaway. Every time we love the Shenandoah Valley and Alpine Hideaway. Eileen and Bill do a great job. It is better than home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieRIchmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I spent a terrific fall weekend in the Ivy Cottage to celebrate her birthday, and it was awesome! The cottage was completely secluded and had every amenity that we could want. The hot tub was great! We arrived at 6:30 on Friday evening and left the cottage at 12 noon on Sunday. I can't remember the last time that I spent a day and a half within a 100 foot radius... We were able to unwind and spend some quality time together and focus on each other exclusively.

For all you future visitors who might worried about being totally disconnected, don't worry, your cell phone will most likely work (we had 5 bars full coverage with AT&T). So you don't have to worry about your kids at home not being able to contact you in an emergency...

A++++! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We came from California to take in the historical sites but wanted a break from the sights to relax. We took a chance on the Alpine Hideaway and found just what we were looking for. A wonderful, quiet spot to undwind and be alone with just the two of us. I wish we had more time than the two nights as you could easily spend days here and truely 'get off the treadmill'. As other reviewers mentioned every detail is taken care of. We especially appreciated the binder filled with local information, including menus from area 'hotspots'. Coming from so far away the binder was helpful when we decided to go out. The views are amazing! I wish we lived closer so we could get to the cabin again, and often. We recommend you use the Alpine Hideaway, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happtraveler5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steeles Tavern
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
189 reviews
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Raphine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hideaway

Address: 8400 North Lee Hwy, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Steeles Tavern
Price Range: $230 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and romantic, secluded cabins located in the Blue Ridge Mountains Shenandoah Valley Virginia. Each cabin has king bed, private outdoor hot tub, indoor double jacuzzi tub /shower combo with rain shower head, gas fireplace in living room, flat screen TVs, full kitchens, gas grills on outside decks, WiFi, and plush robes. Two cabins, Ivy and Sunset, are located on the Blue Ridge overlooking the valley and views of gorgeous sunsets. The Pond View cottage nestles against the fishing pond and mountain pastures. Cabins are designed as couples cabins and therefore not suitable for children. Dogs are welcome in the Pond View cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing