We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Getaway”
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frederick House
Ranked #3 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a quaint and quiet place to stay! Convenient to restaurants and window shopping, Blackfriar's Playhouse and other attractions. We only stayed for one night, but we will be back. The owners Evy and Joe were friendly and accomodating. The room itself was very clean with a huge private bathroom and wonderful linens. The soaps and shampoo that are provided smell wonderful, and there is makeup remover and a shower cap to boot. It's the little things that sometimes make the difference. I wish I could say I enjoyed breakfast, but it wasn't to our liking. I like real breakfast with eggs, bacon and toast - and that just isn't part of the menu at the Frederick House, though it can be found nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amys763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks. Your experience is what we hope our visitors achieve. We offer a varied breakfast with a choice that is suitable for many of our guests. We try to offer something unusual, something that one would not expect to find. We have a guest here now who comes every year for 10 days. He has the same breakfast every morning. I asked him this year when was the last time he had a breakfast like ours. He said, "Last year." We hope that vacationers will like to try something they can only find at Frederick House. The guest is correct. There is a restaurant around the corner from us where one can find bacon and eggs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 295 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff and owner's were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was ideal. Right in the middle of town with off-street parking. I loved the old-fashions style of the rooms. The only complaint I have is that the breakfast could be more varied and made with fresh ingredients (freshly scrambled eggs, side of sizzling bacon, etc...). The food was good, but limited to the same choices every day.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms first, they are all different in size and location. Some rooms are close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Draycie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Is it a B&B, a hotel or an inn? It depends on what you're after, I guess. The sign outside says "a small hotel," and that's about right.

We spent one summer evening there, and found it to be very nice.

We stayed in Patrick House, one block up from the main house and registration. There is ample parking. Security is good, and it's easy to get in and out of the parking lot and the houses.

We stayed in Room 35, on the second floor, in a nice suite with an old sunroom as the bedroom, with a small sitting room and private bath. It was very spacious and sunny. But man, do those old house floorboards creak, every single step. I had to wonder if the folks in the room below were hearing our every step--hint: ask for a room above so you don't have creaky floors above you.

It was very clean, and this is something I always notice. Spotless throughout, corners, ceiling corners, under tables, window sills, the whole bit. Major kudos on the cleanliness.

Check-in was quick and easy, with the owner and wife very friendly, ready with maps to show us how to get to our house and room, and hot spots in town to see.

The amenities in the room are plastic cups, with no ice or bucket in the house itself--you have to got to the main building. And, it's not an ice bucket but essentially a plastic paint can. So, the ice doesn't last that long. If you want a real glass, like for wine or champagne, you get one at the main house, too. There are two matching robes, and ample bathroom amenities and towels.

The room has its own thermostat, which is nice. There is a door deadbolt for security. The ceilings are 12', with sprinklers. The room has a fireplace, but it doesn't work. All the doors are framed and have matching cornice work--nice. There is a small color TV with ample cable, but it's an old tube-style TV, not a new flat screen. But then again, you don't come here to sit and watch TV, right?

The bed was huge and soft, with very nice linens. At night it was very quiet, but as I figured, that sunny and airy former sunroom also lit up with the sunrise, so there was not a lot of sleeping in.

In the morning breakfast is in the main house. The wife had the yogurt with fruit, which she liked, and I had their excellent strata. It was fast and hot, and the staff very friendly.

Bottom line: this was a first visit to Staunton, and this stay stamped it as a very solid positive. This is a very nice little hotel, and we will not hesitate to stay again, and to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Creaky floors--ask for a 2nd-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We traveled to the small town of Staunton Virginia mainly to visit the American Shakespeare Centerl and enjoy some first rate theater. I found this inn on the web and booked it partly based on its status as a Select Registry Inn. We stay in several such inns regularly and have come to trust that organization for selecting excellent inns for inclusion. Frederick House did not disappoint. It is actually a collection of beautiful old houses along New Street, and we stayed in the one called Patrick House. We occupied a delightful suite of two large rooms that were a bargain compared with other inns with its status. Breakfast is served in the house actually designated as Frederick House. The food was very good and plentiful, but it might get a little boring after a stay of the length we had-- three nights. The menu is printed on the coffee mugs, suggesting it doesn't change very often. The only reason I didn't give this inn the top rating is that the owners need to do a few finishing touches to bring it up to top drawer. For example, the glasses supplied in our suite were the flimsy plastic things you see in cheap motels. The shower curtain is about the cheapest plastic I've ever seen. It should be replaced with a substantial one, and it should be hung on a curved rod so it doesn't stick to you while you're taking a shower. Little things like this make this otherwise superb inn just miss. The good news is they're easily fixed. We'll be there again in a few months, and I'll update this review if the owners have seen to these details. The owners, by the way, are very friendly and helpful, as expected with inn keepers of a Select Registry inn.

Room Tip: The only room we've tried in a suite in Patrick House. Aside from the little details mentioned a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triumph3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We appreciate comments and suggestions from our guests and review them carefully to determine if there are changes we can make to improve the experience of visitors to Frederick House. We attempt to have good reasons for the decisions we make. We chose these shower curtains because they contributed to our desire to improve the environment. Each is these shower curtains is made from 60 recycled plastic water bottles. We will try a curved shower curtain and hope it will make these curtains more useful. We furnish wrapped drinking cups in our guest rooms. We have drinking glasses for guests who request them. Our cocktail or wine glasses are returned to our kitchen each day by our staff. This way we know the glasses in our rooms have been washed properly before they are used again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This year our annual "mother/daughter" trip was to Staunton, VA. After researching a number of accommodation choices, my mom decided the Fredrick House would be the best option for us. Our experience lived up to our expectation. The room was spacious, well restored, and beautifully decorated. Joe and Evy were very personable. They took care of our tickets for both the backstage tour of the playhouse as well as the play. They were very helpful in making suggestions of things to see and do that would suit our preferences for enjoyable activities and inquired each morning as to how we were and how our trip was going. It was like being with family and we highly recommend this delightful hotel and its owners to others.

Room Tip: Check out the descriptions and photos of individual rooms on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The "SelectRegistry" calls the Frederick House..."a small, full service, historic,hotel...".
To me, it is seven tenement buildings where the rooms were semi renovated and painted. If you want ice...you get dressed...walk a city block to the main building and hope someone is there to give you ice. If you want coffee.....yea....same thing.
It is clean, but do NOT think B&B atmosphere for this facility. If you have kids in the college across the street, it would be handy. If you were going out for a romantic weekend in a B&B.... run away!!
When asked for recommendations for restuarants, one restuarant received tons of cudos. I found out....reading the SelectRegistry.....the place is part of the hotel system. A little jaded recommendation if you ask me.
Bottom line, we will never go back again....unless we want to pay premium B&B prices for a small hotel room with NO amenities what so ever.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

During the 30 years we have been in business we have been called a B & B, an Inn, and a Hotel. We read the definition of tenement buildings and are not able to see the connection. None of our buildings has been used as a "tenement" building. Previous uses have been as residences, offices for doctors and attorneys, college classrooms or dormitories, for showing motion pictures, retail office supplies, a beauty parlor, or an automobile showroom. Our efforts at renovation have been more than 'minimum and paint'. We have won two awards for preservation from Historic Staunton Foundation. Breakfast is served in only one of our houses, the same location where coffee and ice are available. At reception all guests are told to use the room phone to call if they need anything or if they have a problem with the room. Each guest is given a map of downtown that includes many restaurants. Brochures and menus from local restaurants are on display at reception. Suggestions about restaurants are based on what we learn from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Everyone very friendly recommending activities during my off time. My room was small, but it was just me so it was a really nice size. Enjoyed breakfast. Easy to walk to everything.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 12 in Staunton
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Storefront
The Storefront
#10 of 12 in Staunton
9 reviews
3.1 mi away
MiddleRidge Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Olde Staunton Inn
Olde Staunton Inn
#5 of 12 in Staunton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range: $181 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing