We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cozy and Comfortable with a great location in downtown Staunton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frederick House
Ranked #3 of 13 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfortable with a great location in downtown Staunton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and the ability to walk to everythng we wanted to do. The owners are very nice and go out of their way to give you great service. Definitley the feel of a traditional B and B including the nice breakfast they serve. I agree with those that remark on the microfiber towels - I did not enjoy that either but it seems to be a small quibble with an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps you might want to let them know that so they can put you in a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    48
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We host groups at Frederick House 2-4 times each year. It is the perfect location for exploring Staunton on foot, which part of what makes Staunton fun. Park the car and forget about it until you leave. Everything is within a few blocks -- restaurants, shopping, museums and theatre. Joe and Evy are not just innkeepers -- they excel at that of course -- they are Staunton's best concierge service. They make sure that you have all of the information you need to hit the ground running to make the most of your time there. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. They are all unique, so make sure that you specify what you qualities you like -- lots of light, privacy, etc. We have stayed at Frederick House many times and continue to eagerly look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Because the rooms are all different -- small, large and gigantic; dark, light and in-between; some t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Two couples checked in. Our room was really nice on the ground level facing a street. But the curtains were flimsy and let the streetlight in. The microfiber sheets were terrible! Not nice to sleep on.
The other couple's room was like a dungeon. Underground, no windows - very cave like. I thought the price of their room was very expensive for what it was. Thankfully we were staying only one night.
The hosts are delightful. The breakfast was homemade and ok. Would have liked a second cup of coffee but another guest had monopolized Joe's attention discussing theatre so the coffee pot never came around to our table.
Great location in Staunton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelledtheworld81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our daughter is a Freshman at Mary Baldwin College and we have now stayed at the Frederick House twice. Both of our rooms have been lovely - nicely decorated, very clean and roomy. The beds are comfortable with great pillows. Comfy robes and a nice hair dryer are also provided. The Frederick House is right across the street from campus, so it's very easy to coordinate with our daughter. This last time we had a suite, which was wonderful and very homey. it allowed us to have a much more intimate visit with her than if we had been in a regular hotel room farther from campus. The breakfast is fantastic - many delicious home-made choices! The owners, Joe and Evy, are wonderful and can help you with anything you need from directions to restaurant choices.

The Frederick House is right in the historic downtown district of Staunton and there are many great shops and restaurants within walking distance. The American Shakespeare Theatre is also within walking distance and you can get show tickets along with your room - very convenient.

Staunton is very hilly and the Frederick house has four separate buildings. You may need to carry your luggage up stairs to get to your room, but it's a small price to pay for the quaint charm and ambiance of the Frederick House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zetabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I visited Staunton, Va., last summer to attend a performance of the American Shakespeare Center's production of THE MERCHANT OF VENICE. We felt at home in the quaint, surprisingly vibrant centerpiece in the Shenandoah Valley and enjoyed our experience at the theater so much we decided to return for Thanksgiving weekend.

During that first visit to Staunton, we learned that Frederick House serves as one of the American Shakespeare Center sponsors. We figured anyone who cared enough about a theater company to help ensure its longevity would — most likely — run an "inn" with aplomb. Happily, but not surprisingly, that's what we encountered during our stay at the impressive 25-room, multi-location bed and breakfast owned and run by Joe and Evy Harman.

We chose to arrive on Thanksgiving day, and I'd called earlier in the week and was told it would be fine to check in early. We arrived in Staunton at 12:45 p.m. and had our first meeting with the Harmans, who are gracious, witty, extremely articulate, and, as we soon discovered, quite kind.

Joe noticed that I limp because of bad knees and upgraded our room to a first floor suite at Patrick House. It's difficult to express just how much pleasure my wife and I felt when we strolled into that wondrous first floor space with hardwood flooring, high ceiling, tons of perfect light, and a four-poster king bed that provided a sublime sleeping experience.

We actually booked that very same room for NEXT Thanksgiving within 15 minutes of our arrival, but we're already looking ahead to returning earlier to Staunton and Frederick House— in addition to our Thanksgiving trip — to take advantage of the many enticing diversions that Staunton has to offer.

The American Shakespeare Center is reason enough to visit, but if theater is not your cup of mocha, allow me to suggest touring the region, visiting the wide range of art galleries, or simply putting the food bag on.

There are numerous dining options in Staunton. We chose Aioli (Saturday) and Zynodoa (Friday), and the Thanksgiving buffet at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. I recommend all three. How does a Mediterranean Paella sound? Or a spicy gumbo with a twist? Or perhaps a mountain of jumbo shrimp surrounded by smoked salmon? Yes, we enjoyed our dinners.

Breakfast at Frederick House, however, proved to be our favorite food experience. Everything that Evy Harman serves, Evy Harman has made. It's up to the guest to decide how healthy a breakfast he/she wants. From oatmeal to multigrain waffles, carnivores and vegetarians will have access to a powerful combination of high quality ingredients, flavor, and wise dining options. Fresh juice and coffee to start, and then, a guest is on his own. Do you have the quiche? Cold cereal? Granola? Or perhaps a sausage and egg combo? I recommend the waffle. Outstanding.

So there you have it — some thought for food, as well as food for thought.

Room Tip: Patrick House is my only experience with Frederick House, and I recommend #27 highly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markforunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The inn is located a very short walk from restaurants and shops. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in dining room set up with tables of two, four etc. for individual guest parties. The food was well prepared and there were ample choices.
It is a complex of old homes that form a 25 room inn in downtown Staunton. We were disappointed that they did not have any travel books about Virginia nor other information about the Blue Ridge Parkway. They did not have a library. The owner were pleasant but did not offer any personalized service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Liked the comfortable bed (although wish it would have been a king bed), the interesting history of Frederick House, the location, breakfast and hospitality of the owners. I did not like having to haul the suitcases up the stairs from the checkin point or go uphill to our room entrance and certainly did not like the towels - microfiber!

Room Tip: The rooms were very different we learned - we even heard that a couple of rooms were known for ghost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwtwgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Property: Frederick House
Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing