We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frederick House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sleep Inn Staunton(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$86
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Staunton)
$109
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$132
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
212
58
18
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
58
18
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelapple raisincoffee mugsquichemenu printedthanksgiving weekendwaffleslarge bedroomprivate entrancewithin walking distanceblackfriars playhouseson's weddingbreakfast was deliciousmain buildingmusic festivalnew streetsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 302 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a nice stay 2-night at the Frederick House. This was our first stay in Staunton and we chose the Frederick House for its location to town. We had the Black Friar theater, shops and restaurants all within walking distance.

We stayed in the Womack House and our room was very cozy - queen sized bed, bath tub and little sitting area. The town is quiet and very relaxing. The breakfast was ok - a nice selection.

We would recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaS356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the Patrick House and we loved our room. We had a queen size bed with a little sitting area and a huge bathroom. It was very comfortable and close to the historic downtown in Staunton. It was a nice change of pace from staying at a tradition hotel. We saw a wonderful play at the Black Friar's Playhouse and had a nice dinner afterward. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The owners of the Frederick House love what they do, and that shows through in their business. We stayed in the Bowers House -- we had a private entrance to our room from the outside and a little porch with two chairs. We had a TV with cable so we could watch the Olympics at night. The two bathrobes were nice to have at night. Breakfast was wonderful! I had the yogurt with granola and fruit, and my husband had the strata. We loved our stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGeorgeDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I wanted to love this inn. The innkeepers are hardworking, town boosters and their recommendation of a pizza place, Shendoah Pizza, was spot on (fabulous beer list!). The location is outstanding. The Blackfriars Theater and all restaurants are within a few blocks.

Our room, 21, was on the second floor of a building within 40 or 50 feet of the office. We are very active, physically fit 60+ peple. Others might be intimidated by the outdoor stairway from the parking lot to the back of the buildings. In our case, we had another climb as our room was on the second floor and we accessed it via an exterior porch. There were two levels above our room. Hauling luggage up to the top flight might be a bit much for some folks. The room was spacious, but the bathroom was small; dare I say say tiny? The vanity was outside the bathroom, which is fine, but it was low, i.e mid thigh level for me (I'm, 5"9"). On the street side, our room was street level and the road was very close. Staunton is an old city and the sidewalks are very narrow. The road noise was considerable. Pedestrians walked within 2 feet of the windows. The TV was an old, heavy pre-flatscreen relic. It sat at a 90 degree angle from both the bed and sofa. We didn't watch TV, but its placement was not ideal for those wishing to indulge. We travel with laptops and the WiFi was excellent, but there was no suitable work surface in the room.

Breakfast was Ok. We were offered a small glass of orange juice with no refill. There is a choice of breakfast entree and a few, thin slices of fruit (thin oragne slices, thin, small, cutouts of melon) on a separate plate are included. There is no separate toast, etc. Beakfast was not memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Accounting Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just stayed here for 2 nights with another couple. Our rooms were beautiful and furnished comfortably and tastefully. All rooms have a/c and ceiling fans. It was quiet and right in downtown Staunton making it easy to walk everywhere. Breakfast is generous and tasty and included in the nightly rate. The only small complaints I would have are that our bathroom was a bit dark and the combination body/shampoo bar was terrible as shampoo. I tend to pack light and use the provided shampoos etc but next time will bring my own.
Highlights of our stay include chatting with owners Edy and Joe who gave us great recommendations, and a full day of scenic driving including where to eat and what to see, and the South Patio where we sat for hours drinking wine and enjoying the weather. Edy and Joe definitely make the stay worth it and you'll feel like family. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amybunny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews