We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hospitality A+ , Eve and her staff are fantastic. Very clean very nice room and the breakfast was delicious. We stayed two nights in the main house for my birthday get away and we liked the area the small cozy town and the scenery especially around the Inn very much. I am very sure that I would recommend to anyone, the price is reasonable and its beautiful quiet and so much better than a hotel room. My husband and I will definetly be back to stay again.

Room Tip: Any room very clean place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethlynnlaura34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
160
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We were first time guests at the Inn at Old Virginia last weekend, and what a treat! Staunton is a great little town, with wonderful restaurants, shops, entertainment (check out the Shakespeare Theater), and nearby wineries. The IOV is perfectly located - you feel like you're way out in the country, but historic Staunton is just 5 minutes away. The Inn is well run - our room (in the"barn") was clean, quiet and well appointed. Deanna and Eve are great hosts, and the home cooked breakfast was a delicious start to each day. If you're looking for the best value in a Staunton area B & B, I highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very nice B&B. Highly recommended. We stayed here just after Christmas 2013. Got a whirlpool suite room in the barn. In the winter with fireplace, it was absolutely perfect. Nice spacious room. Amazing tub. Very clean. Excellent beds (sleep number). We definitely plan to return here again next time we are in the area! Only caveat about the barn whirlpool rooms is that, as is common with any whirlpool, there is noise from the bathrooms through the floor or ceiling (depending on which level you are on). May want to call to discuss that with the staff if you are concerned. It was fine for us and there are white noise machines in the room if it bothers you - we did not need them and went to bed at an early hour, and there were 3 other couples staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Inn at Old Virginia for a weekend getaway from DC. It was wonderful, truly the best B&B! The breakfast is served in a beautiful atrium with nearly 360 degree views of the country side and the food is absolutely delicious!!! The staff is very friendly, definitely makes you feel welcome and comfortable. They anticipate your needs--there were wine glasses and an opener for our stay in wine country, the TV is hidden if you want it to be but available with DVDs if you want to cuddle up and have a night inside.

We stayed in the room Asher Harmon in the barn downstairs. This room is huge! It has a fireplace and a jacuzzi hot tub in the bathroom. The bed is a sleep number bed, which is not our favorite but has it's usefulness for a B&B. All the rooms in the barn overlook a large hilly pasture out back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AsaOxner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed in quite a few B and Bs in Staunton for Staunton Jams and other activities, and the IAOV is the best. The only place that beat it was the Miller House and it closed. The location is beautiful in the countryside, but it also means no walking to downtown. We stayed in the back units, which are nice, comfortable, and with great views of the rolling hills and roaming cattle. The breakfast was first rate. Coming back to the room late can mean parking on the grass.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Every autumn, my husband and I stay a night at the Inn at Old Virginia in Staunton. This time, we stayed in one of the "barn" rooms as opposed to the rooms located in the main house. Check-in is always quick and the staff is very friendly. Our room was super cozy and spotless. The sleep number beds are always a pleasure that add that special touch to your sleep quality. The view from our room was beautiful and we spent a very comfortable and restful night there. Breakfast consisted of quiche (you get to pick what kind you'd like), hash brown potato casserole, yogurt, bacon, and a pumpkin muffin. We always enjoy our stay and will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We decided to stay at The Inn At Old Virginia based on all the positive Trip Advisor reviews. We have to say that the reviewers were correct, the inn is an excellent choice. It's located minutes from I-81. It's just a few minutes from downtown Staunton, but it feels like a world away. The view from our room was a hillside with meandering cows - lovely.

We were thinking of going into Gypsy Hill Park for a walk after we got settled. Deanna, who greeted us and showed us our room, told us about Bell's Lane, a nearby country road which is used by the locals for walking. We tried it and recommend it. It's a quiet rural lane with fields and cattle along the way. There isn't much traffic so it's very safe.

I spoke with Eve when I made the reservation. I noticed on the website that they would accommodate special diets for breakfast if they knew in advance. I gave Eve our 'special needs', and every breakfast took them into account. The setting for breakfast is a sunny window lined room with views of the countryside. A great place to start the day. It was also a good time to talk with Eve or Deanna if we had questions about the area.

The rooms are spotless. This is a major factor for me in choosing a place to stay. Our room had a sleep number bed. We've never used one of those before and needed instructions. It turned out to be quite comfortable. The beds are triple sheeted and I was told the comforters are washed between guests (another big plus). If you are a late sleeper and are disturbed by noise from other rooms in the morning, I suggest you take a room on the top floor. I prefer soft pillows and there was only one of those in the room. When I asked for more, Eve found another for me. The only possible recommendation I can make is to have robes in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllicottCityTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
833 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
459 reviews
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Property: Inn at Old Virginia
Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing