We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Staunton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Old Virginia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 13 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best of Staunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed in quite a few B and Bs in Staunton for Staunton Jams and other activities, and the IAOV is the best. The only place that beat it was the Miller House and it closed. The location is beautiful in the countryside, but it also means no walking to downtown. We stayed in the back units, which are nice, comfortable, and with great views of the rolling hills and roaming cattle. The breakfast was first rate. Coming back to the room late can mean parking on the grass.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
142
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Every autumn, my husband and I stay a night at the Inn at Old Virginia in Staunton. This time, we stayed in one of the "barn" rooms as opposed to the rooms located in the main house. Check-in is always quick and the staff is very friendly. Our room was super cozy and spotless. The sleep number beds are always a pleasure that add that special touch to your sleep quality. The view from our room was beautiful and we spent a very comfortable and restful night there. Breakfast consisted of quiche (you get to pick what kind you'd like), hash brown potato casserole, yogurt, bacon, and a pumpkin muffin. We always enjoy our stay and will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We decided to stay at The Inn At Old Virginia based on all the positive Trip Advisor reviews. We have to say that the reviewers were correct, the inn is an excellent choice. It's located minutes from I-81. It's just a few minutes from downtown Staunton, but it feels like a world away. The view from our room was a hillside with meandering cows - lovely.

We were thinking of going into Gypsy Hill Park for a walk after we got settled. Deanna, who greeted us and showed us our room, told us about Bell's Lane, a nearby country road which is used by the locals for walking. We tried it and recommend it. It's a quiet rural lane with fields and cattle along the way. There isn't much traffic so it's very safe.

I spoke with Eve when I made the reservation. I noticed on the website that they would accommodate special diets for breakfast if they knew in advance. I gave Eve our 'special needs', and every breakfast took them into account. The setting for breakfast is a sunny window lined room with views of the countryside. A great place to start the day. It was also a good time to talk with Eve or Deanna if we had questions about the area.

The rooms are spotless. This is a major factor for me in choosing a place to stay. Our room had a sleep number bed. We've never used one of those before and needed instructions. It turned out to be quite comfortable. The beds are triple sheeted and I was told the comforters are washed between guests (another big plus). If you are a late sleeper and are disturbed by noise from other rooms in the morning, I suggest you take a room on the top floor. I prefer soft pillows and there was only one of those in the room. When I asked for more, Eve found another for me. The only possible recommendation I can make is to have robes in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllicottCityTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a lovely B&B! We stayed in the main house for $145 and had a large room with a sofa and a desk nook, not like some really cramped B&B rooms...bathroom was nice and large with awesomely strong water pressure! The innkeepers were so nice and the breakfast area was gorgeous. My only advice would be to request a healthy breakfast as the biscuits and gravy with salty Virginia ham were a bit much! Becky said they had gotten a new chef who was doing richer meals, but i'm sure you could request something lighter. Highly recommend Zyndoa in town for dinner if you go to Staunton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia, which is an excellent B&B in a peaceful setting a few miles outside Staunton, . We stayed for two nights in a very spacious room in the barn. It was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed, high quality bed linens, sitting area and a gas fire. Breakfasts were delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful Bed and Breakfast very close to, but not in, the heart of Staunton, VA. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and charming, the breakfast was delicious, and the atmosphere was relaxed and homey. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry_D_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Becky welcomed us with a smile and was incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was perfect. I could have spent the entire day in the breakfast room. Other couples were very friendly. Bed was extremely comfortable. Staunton was a great town.

Room Tip: The barn rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.9 mi away
Frederick House
Frederick House
#3 of 13 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Property: Inn at Old Virginia
Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing