We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely B&B experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Old Virginia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 13 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a lovely B&B! We stayed in the main house for $145 and had a large room with a sofa and a desk nook, not like some really cramped B&B rooms...bathroom was nice and large with awesomely strong water pressure! The innkeepers were so nice and the breakfast area was gorgeous. My only advice would be to request a healthy breakfast as the biscuits and gravy with salty Virginia ham were a bit much! Becky said they had gotten a new chef who was doing richer meals, but i'm sure you could request something lighter. Highly recommend Zyndoa in town for dinner if you go to Staunton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
147
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia, which is an excellent B&B in a peaceful setting a few miles outside Staunton, . We stayed for two nights in a very spacious room in the barn. It was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed, high quality bed linens, sitting area and a gas fire. Breakfasts were delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful Bed and Breakfast very close to, but not in, the heart of Staunton, VA. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and charming, the breakfast was delicious, and the atmosphere was relaxed and homey. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry_D_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Becky welcomed us with a smile and was incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was perfect. I could have spent the entire day in the breakfast room. Other couples were very friendly. Bed was extremely comfortable. Staunton was a great town.

Room Tip: The barn rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are visiting the Shenandoah, the virginia wine vineyards or Staunton this is a delightful little B&B to include in your plans. Just 5 minutes off I-81 and 5 minutes outside of Staunton it is easy to get to. You drive under a private train trestle and find yourself in a friendly litle oasis. The rooms in a barn are comfortable, clean and certainly do not feel like a barn. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. They completely (and deliciously) accomodated my food restictions. They also gave excellent driving instructions to the Blackfriers Playhouse as well as an exellent restaurant (Zynodoa). In short - Go- Relax - Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Barn makes a great place for multi family or friends get togethers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnutandbensparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were traveling home to NC from a visit to family and friends in the OH/PA areas and decided to stop at a bed and breakfast on our way home from vacation. While in Ohio, we found the Inn at Old Virginia online. While on the road, we called the Innkeeper, Eve, to inquire about a specific room. However, that room was already booked. Eve, quickly and graciously, offered another room at a discounted price for that night. When we arrived at the B&B, we were warmly and cheerfully greeted by Eve, who made us feel right at home. She provided us with a tour of the B&B, our room, and all necessary information for our stay. She was both thorough and helpful. In addition, she gave us a map with suggestions for that evening's dinner. The B&B is charming and elegant! The grounds are spectacular! Our room was clean, comfortable, relaxing, and peaceful! The breakfast prepared for us was delicious! We highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia. It is a gorgeous B&B. We look forward to a future stay at this B&B!

Room Tip: The renovated "Barn" on the grounds is absolutely beautiful, clean, comfortable, and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvs2BB4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Staunton VA. We gathered with family and friends to celebrate 3 birthdays. I LOVE this charming inn! The rooms are charming and well maintained, the grounds are gorgeous, and the breakfast was delicious. We saw "Othello" at the local Shakespeare Theatre, and then gathered on the Inn's brick patio to have snacks, wine etc. prior to dinner out. The owner and employees at the Inn made us feel completely at home. We always treasure a comfortable bed away from home, and these rooms even feature the "sleep number" beds. I had always wanted to try one of these and was not disappointed. The rooms are furnished in charming colors and fabrics. I love the window treatments. The glassed in room where breakfast is served is beautiful and charming. This is a perfect get-away for special occasions, or just to enjoy the beautiful Virginia countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Frederick House
Frederick House
#3 of 13 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Property: Inn at Old Virginia
Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing