We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are visiting the Shenandoah, the virginia wine vineyards or Staunton this is a delightful little B&B to include in your plans. Just 5 minutes off I-81 and 5 minutes outside of Staunton it is easy to get to. You drive under a private train trestle and find yourself in a friendly litle oasis. The rooms in a barn are comfortable, clean and certainly do not feel like a barn. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. They completely (and deliciously) accomodated my food restictions. They also gave excellent driving instructions to the Blackfriers Playhouse as well as an exellent restaurant (Zynodoa). In short - Go- Relax - Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Barn makes a great place for multi family or friends get togethers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnutandbensparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were traveling home to NC from a visit to family and friends in the OH/PA areas and decided to stop at a bed and breakfast on our way home from vacation. While in Ohio, we found the Inn at Old Virginia online. While on the road, we called the Innkeeper, Eve, to inquire about a specific room. However, that room was already booked. Eve, quickly and graciously, offered another room at a discounted price for that night. When we arrived at the B&B, we were warmly and cheerfully greeted by Eve, who made us feel right at home. She provided us with a tour of the B&B, our room, and all necessary information for our stay. She was both thorough and helpful. In addition, she gave us a map with suggestions for that evening's dinner. The B&B is charming and elegant! The grounds are spectacular! Our room was clean, comfortable, relaxing, and peaceful! The breakfast prepared for us was delicious! We highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia. It is a gorgeous B&B. We look forward to a future stay at this B&B!

Room Tip: The renovated "Barn" on the grounds is absolutely beautiful, clean, comfortable, and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvs2BB4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Staunton VA. We gathered with family and friends to celebrate 3 birthdays. I LOVE this charming inn! The rooms are charming and well maintained, the grounds are gorgeous, and the breakfast was delicious. We saw "Othello" at the local Shakespeare Theatre, and then gathered on the Inn's brick patio to have snacks, wine etc. prior to dinner out. The owner and employees at the Inn made us feel completely at home. We always treasure a comfortable bed away from home, and these rooms even feature the "sleep number" beds. I had always wanted to try one of these and was not disappointed. The rooms are furnished in charming colors and fabrics. I love the window treatments. The glassed in room where breakfast is served is beautiful and charming. This is a perfect get-away for special occasions, or just to enjoy the beautiful Virginia countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Eight friends and I stayed at the Inn on Saturday night, September 7th, but we didn't just "stay" at the Inn. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. We were there to celebrate 3 birthdays and so had wine and champagne in need of refrigeration. We were welcomed to stash our celebration libations in the kitchen in a refrigerator. We stayed in two rooms in the "barn" and the two rooms in the main house. All were exquisite. We elected to have our birthday celebration on the beautiful patio as the weather was glorious - the Inn gladly provided us with stemware for our wine. On Sunday morning we met again in the beautiful breakfast room - a gorgeous glass-enclosed sunroom. The breakfast service was again exquisite - beautiful fine china and silver flatware, beautifully prepared food that was as good as it looked. We were allowed to bring out a bottle of champagne to make Mimosas at our tables to continue our birthday celebration.

The Inn is meticulously cared for. Rooms are spotless - all have Sleep Number beds !! An unanticipated pleasure at a bed and breakfast. The attention to detail is what we all commented on - nothing was left to chance.

We love to come to Staunton for the American Shakespeare Center performances (a must-not-miss if you have never been to the Blackfriars Theatre) and this will be our home away from home on all future trips.

Room Tip: The rooms in the barn on the lower level are more easily accessible to those with difficulty with st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I can only confirm what others wrote before me. We stayed in the Barn in a downstairs room. The room was huge and so was the bathroom. We had an own jacuzzi tub. The mattress was outstanding. You could adjust the firmness with remote controls. By far the best I've ever slept on in a B&B. Also, the place is VERY clean. No dust, no hair...everything seems very new and updated. I loved the sheets they put on the bed: No stains, nothing worn out, very soft.The Inn is located away from the street, so you very hardly hear it. We could see cows and the Shenandoah Mountains from the patio. Dinah is very nice and does everything she can to make you feel at home. It's perfect for a getaway!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAB81Washington_Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A really lovely old house and converted barn,set in rolling countryside.Rooms well appointed ,comfy beds and lovely white linen and everywhere tastefully decorated.Tea and coffee available all day.But the noise from the bathroom above our bedroom was totally unacceptable.You could hear everything,loudly . The last straw was when the occupants were using ,what we assumed was a whirl pool bath,the noise was so loud we had to go out! Even in a converted barn we don't expect this level of noise intrusion.

Room Tip: Ask where it is,is there a bathroom above it,or next to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently traveled to Staunton, VA to meet some distant family members and stayed at the Inn at Old Virginia. The Inn is situated on a large property with beautiful vistas of the rolling hills. At the same time, it was easy to find and conveniently located near enough to town and to highways that even someone like myself who was new to the area found it easy to get around. I stayed in one of the rooms in the renovated barn and it was more than beautiful. Everything is beautifully decorated and I loved the little personal touches that make each room unique. I met Eve and her daughter Becky and you could not ask for friendlier hosts. They were both warm and welcoming and made sure that we had everything we could possibly want. Breakfast was also amazing. I'm anxious to make time to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyMetzgerHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
921 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Olde Staunton Inn
Olde Staunton Inn
#5 of 12 in Staunton
77 reviews
11.5 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range: $167 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing