We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to Reports”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We liked this place. It was just outside town and we had a view of cows grazing in a field outside our room. As other reviews have mentioned, it is near a highway and rail tracks. We could not hear anything in our barn room which was supplied with a white noise machine that we did not need either. I could definitely hear people in the common room and room next to ours but neither were a bother at night. I think everyone was courteous and aware that sounds carried. The room was comfortable, clean, fresh and pretty as was the bath. The breakfasts were good and the hostesses made sure everything was to our liking. We liked the coffee machine in the main house that enabled us to obtain a hot drink whenever wanted. The black washcloth in the bathroom for removing makeup without staining the white towels was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stepitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 227 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great find. The hostesses were wonderful. The setting was beautiful. Everything was just about perfect. We were there in mid-Oct and the trees were turning and were spectacular. Just a great experience in the Staunton area. It was a bit of a task getting used to the Select Comfort bed. Felt a bit like a cross between and air mattress and waterbed. But we slept well so I guess it worked out OK. This was a reeal find on Hotels.com.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love the Inn at Old Virginia. We have stayed at many B&Bs in the US, Ireland and Scotland and this is by far the best. Eve is a fantastic Inn Keeper as she made us feel totally welcome. She pays unbelievable attention to details. Our room was immaculately clean and in perfect repair. Breakfast was unbelievable. We will come back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Valorentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

great B & B in the rolling hills around Staunton VA. Lovely, immaculate rooms with friendly, helpful hosts who pay great attention to detail and serve the best breakfast around. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We could not give this bed and breakfast a higher recommendation. It was absolutely first class. Eve and Deana are perfect hostesses. Breakfasts were very good.
The main house and nearby barn are beautifly furnished and the ambience of the whole property was elegant and relaxing The extensive grounds are professionally maintained.
We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms in the main house and it was excellent in every respect. We would not hesitate to revisit this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and the place is absolutely beautiful. Eve and Deana were wonderful hostesses and so gracious. Breakfast was delicious, service extremely attentive. The only glitch is that if you stay in one of the lower rooms in the barn, you will hear the people above you walking around, showering, etc. However, a "white noise" machine is providec to help compensate. Certainly the home and grounds are impeccable.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor if you don't like to hear footsteps bove you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbymcsnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Clean, friendly and a great value. Eve, the owner, is lovely and she shows her love for her B&B in the way she keeps the Inn! Accomodating---to diet needs, late arrivals and special requests. From the wine and shortbread upon arrival to the hearty and delicious breakfasts, The Inn at Old Virginia is exactly what a B&B should be. Plenty of local information available, in brochure form and in Eve's head, which she freely shares. Wi-fi is available, but no "high end" TVs or other modern "distractions" (no fitness equipment or pool), which is part of the charm. Clean and comfortable accomodations (don't look for 300 thread count sheets or opulent hot tubs), and at a great value. The weekend special includes $50 to Staunton's restaurants and shops, making a great value outstanding. Relaxing and geographically well placed for wineries, UVA, JMU and Monticello,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WOJObt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
878 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range: $161 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing