We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place..gracious hostesses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful place..gracious hostesses”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and the place is absolutely beautiful. Eve and Deana were wonderful hostesses and so gracious. Breakfast was delicious, service extremely attentive. The only glitch is that if you stay in one of the lower rooms in the barn, you will hear the people above you walking around, showering, etc. However, a "white noise" machine is providec to help compensate. Certainly the home and grounds are impeccable.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor if you don't like to hear footsteps bove you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbymcsnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
158
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Clean, friendly and a great value. Eve, the owner, is lovely and she shows her love for her B&B in the way she keeps the Inn! Accomodating---to diet needs, late arrivals and special requests. From the wine and shortbread upon arrival to the hearty and delicious breakfasts, The Inn at Old Virginia is exactly what a B&B should be. Plenty of local information available, in brochure form and in Eve's head, which she freely shares. Wi-fi is available, but no "high end" TVs or other modern "distractions" (no fitness equipment or pool), which is part of the charm. Clean and comfortable accomodations (don't look for 300 thread count sheets or opulent hot tubs), and at a great value. The weekend special includes $50 to Staunton's restaurants and shops, making a great value outstanding. Relaxing and geographically well placed for wineries, UVA, JMU and Monticello,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOJObt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Maine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A lovely bed & breakfast a short distance from the southern end of Skyline Drive in Staunton. Owner Eve and her staff are welcoming and attentive. Breakfast is delicious, beds are "Comfort number" cozy, amenities great, and room spacious (we stayed in the main house). Staunton has Woodrow Wilson's birthplace and museum, American Shakespeare Center (performances in Globe-copy theater), and lots of good restaurants. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainetraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we saw The Inn, we loved it. The surroundings are beautiful as are the main house and the barn. An ideal setting, serene and set back from the highway so it is peaceful and welcoming.
Deana greeted us and showed us our room in the barn. Eve had upgraded our room as it wasn't being used and she felt it was more quiet than the one in which we had originally been placed. The room overlooked fields with cows grazing and a lovely lake. It had a balcony which was a wonderful setting to have coffee or a glass of wine.
Both the room and bathroom were large, decorated beautifully, exceptionally clean, and every amenity had been provided. In the room itself there was a refrigerator, sink, plates, cups, etc., a coffee machine and coffee.
The bed was a sleep number and both my husband and I slept very well--very quiet and peaceful there.
At breakfast we met Eve, the Inn's owner and she was very friendly and served us a wonderful breakfast in the beautiful breakfast area. Tables were set with silver flat wear and cloth napkins, lovely china---just as you imagine a bed and breakfast should be!
We've been to many bed and breakfasts and this one is at the top of my list. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We were in the barn---on the side with the pasture and I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

As a B&B owner for more than 25 years, I give Inn at Old Virginia an A+ in all categories.

Eve and Deana's hospitality was the best on our recent vacation and Getta's breakfasts
were simply sublime. The attention to every detail was evident in the relaxing rooms
and gorgeous pastoral setting. I felt pampered. But more importantly, we had gained
3 new friends, which is the attribute of an outstanding B&B! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InFluxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

When we see a show at the Shakespeare theater, we book this place. . .

The grounds are spectacular. Great location just off the highway. . .Staunton is just a few minutes away. . .

Rooms are comfy. . .the food is always good. . .the people are really nice. We will certainly be back. Two small dings - the walls in the 'barn' building are quite thin and you can hear much of what goes on. When someone watches tv in the main space you can certainly hear it in the other rooms. The second ding is the tvs are not flatscreen - this place isn't cheap and 19' analog tvs are just a little passe. . .

Still, this place scores real solid points for being original, friendly, and convenient. . .we can't wait to come back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rudedog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a phenomenal B&B. Excellent food (from a self-proclaimed foodie) beautiful rooms, ambiance, and very clean (coming from someone who demands a spotless hotel room). I already can't wait to go back. Eve and Deana know how to make their guests feel at home. They were also very accommodating when I let them know I followed a gluten free diet, substituting cheesy eggs for french toast. You won't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
817 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
202 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
453 reviews
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Property: Inn at Old Virginia
Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing