We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This Inn sets a standard for B&B's. It has all the conveniences of an upscale hotel, with all the charm, service and uniqueness of a B&B. The location is perfect, close to the town and I-64/81 and the folks who run it make every effort to assure the comfort and convenience of their guests. The rooms are all (we saw most of them) spacious and extremely well kept with select comfort beds, large bathrooms and sitting areas. Add to that the common areas and the made to order breakfast in the conservatory. It is also a great value. We'll be back on out next trip to the area.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house would be our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srr3306y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
154
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were driving from Jersey to to Nashville intending to stay in the Staunton area butn had no reservations. About 3 hours away we called the Inn. Eve was so accommodating. We told here we would be arriving after 10:00. She said she would leave the key in the door of the room and would handle the paperwork in the morning. We go to the Inn and found the room on the first floow with the door open lights on all ready to go. It felt like we arrived home. The room was emmaculate. Spacious bath. Select comfort bed.

Breakfast was great; served on Lennox china. We highly recommned the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay. The rooms are very large and comfortable. It's a short drive to town, which is very charming and old fashioned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were here for a wedding and beautiful it is. The inn keeper gave us a tour of the facility and it's so inviting. Would strongly recommend someone staying here. Until now, I've never had the desire to stay at a B&B, but this place certainly changed my mind. I could stay here in a minute. Everything about this place looks wonderful, though we did not get to eat their fodd.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabney15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Inn at Old Virginia gave us a true taste of Southern hospitality. Eve, our innkeeper was the perfect hostess, our comfort was her priority. Our room was spacious and lovely and impeccably clean. And I'm a clean freak! This beautiful gracious home is set in large sweeping grounds and although close to the motorway we were not aware of traffic noise. We were served a breakfast of fresh fruit and pancakes with maple syrup in a light-filled conservatory. If you've been following my reviews for the past couple of weeks as we drive from Atlanta to Boston (via Maine) you will have noticed that I am quite discriminating and expect high standards. This guesthouse met our expectations and was close to the best we've experienced this trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I wish I needed a venue for a huge dinner party because this would be the place. BEAUTIFUL grounds with scenic views of the pasture and if breakfast is any indication of the quality of food and service, it would be one heck of a dinner party. We stayed here b/c it was graduation weekend at Tech and even cheesy hotels were overpriced so why not start the trip home and stay somewhere special - and this place is special. We stayed in the Jed Hotchkiss room in the barn. Lovely room with a queen Sleep Number bed, spotlessly clean bathroom with a full bath and a beautiful view of the pasture complete with cows. My husband was very interested in Sleep Number bed. It's noisy getting in and out of bed and we never really felt like we figured out our perfect number. Sleeping in the barn means noise - someone took a shower late a night and it was loud. If we needed it, we had a white noise box on the night stand! We didn't use the common area but look forward to a winter visit and using the gas fire place. Dena was one of the friendliest people I have ever met - she is a perfect hostess. Sunday breakfast was french toast in the atrium- yum. Downtown was close by and Dena had a map ready for us with various restaurants marked for us. We'll be back - another child starts Tech this fall!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The room was big, beautifully appointed and the king size bed very comfortable. Eve, the innkeeper, came to Staunton as a student at Mary Baldwin and stayed...a delightful, knowledgeable hostess. The breakfast is served in a light, wonderful, large "sun-porch". Food was outstanding. It's a couple of miles out of town which is perfect...far enough away but close enough. The grounds are extremely attractive. Be sure also to go to the Blackfriars for a performance of Shakespeare (American Shakespeare Center)...a remarkable troupe of performers and, before, to eat at Zynodoa. Finally don't miss the Woodrow Wilson presidential library. We've been "by" Staunton 20 times in our lives...just never stopped...our loss...don't make it your...easily worth an afternoon or morning and a night.

Room Tip: We looked at the rooms in the main house and in the "barn". All are outstanding. Persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
345 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
191 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olde Staunton Inn
Olde Staunton Inn
#5 of 12 in Staunton
72 reviews
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Property: Inn at Old Virginia
Address: 1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing