We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Inn at Old Virginia gave us a true taste of Southern hospitality. Eve, our innkeeper was the perfect hostess, our comfort was her priority. Our room was spacious and lovely and impeccably clean. And I'm a clean freak! This beautiful gracious home is set in large sweeping grounds and although close to the motorway we were not aware of traffic noise. We were served a breakfast of fresh fruit and pancakes with maple syrup in a light-filled conservatory. If you've been following my reviews for the past couple of weeks as we drive from Atlanta to Boston (via Maine) you will have noticed that I am quite discriminating and expect high standards. This guesthouse met our expectations and was close to the best we've experienced this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Old Virginia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

I wish I needed a venue for a huge dinner party because this would be the place. BEAUTIFUL grounds with scenic views of the pasture and if breakfast is any indication of the quality of food and service, it would be one heck of a dinner party. We stayed here b/c it was graduation weekend at Tech and even cheesy hotels were overpriced so why not start the trip home and stay somewhere special - and this place is special. We stayed in the Jed Hotchkiss room in the barn. Lovely room with a queen Sleep Number bed, spotlessly clean bathroom with a full bath and a beautiful view of the pasture complete with cows. My husband was very interested in Sleep Number bed. It's noisy getting in and out of bed and we never really felt like we figured out our perfect number. Sleeping in the barn means noise - someone took a shower late a night and it was loud. If we needed it, we had a white noise box on the night stand! We didn't use the common area but look forward to a winter visit and using the gas fire place. Dena was one of the friendliest people I have ever met - she is a perfect hostess. Sunday breakfast was french toast in the atrium- yum. Downtown was close by and Dena had a map ready for us with various restaurants marked for us. We'll be back - another child starts Tech this fall!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The room was big, beautifully appointed and the king size bed very comfortable. Eve, the innkeeper, came to Staunton as a student at Mary Baldwin and stayed...a delightful, knowledgeable hostess. The breakfast is served in a light, wonderful, large "sun-porch". Food was outstanding. It's a couple of miles out of town which is perfect...far enough away but close enough. The grounds are extremely attractive. Be sure also to go to the Blackfriars for a performance of Shakespeare (American Shakespeare Center)...a remarkable troupe of performers and, before, to eat at Zynodoa. Finally don't miss the Woodrow Wilson presidential library. We've been "by" Staunton 20 times in our lives...just never stopped...our loss...don't make it your...easily worth an afternoon or morning and a night.

Room Tip: We looked at the rooms in the main house and in the "barn". All are outstanding. Persona...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I travel often through this area and think this is one of the best! Everything from the hospitality to the food is perfect. It is clean, comfortable and so relaxing that you will want to extend your stay. I suggest you forgo any late night snacking and save room for breakfast- it is fabulous!

Room Tip: all rooms are worthy of staying in. They do have sleep number beds which I am not fond of- but most...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Inn at Old Virginia was the best discovery in our travels in Virginia. It is located on beautiful grounds, quiet, serene, but within minutes of the historic town of Staunton and the Blackfriars Shakespeare theater. Eve, the owner, is a lovely and gracious lady. She is wonderfully helpful and informative. The rooms are lovely. Breakfasts are superb. I would rate this six stars.
Sheldon Wolf, MD

Room Tip: phone and ask Eve to describe the different rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mymurphycat2002, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Old Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review. It's fabulous to have such great feedback about the services we provide. Looking forward to you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had an amazing time at the Inn at Old Virginia. We chose the Harmon Room in the main house (one of the less expensive rooms, I think), and it was both larger and better than we anticipated -- in addition to the basics there are 2 sitting chairs, a vanity, and lots of natural light. The rooms are in immaculate condition. The downstairs library is simply amazing, with comfortable sofas, shelves packed with leatherbound classics, and the best DVD selection I've ever seen at any hotel/B&B. Breakfast was hearty and terrific, with juice, yogurt, eggs or french toast, hash browns, and unlimited coffee. (We barely needed to eat lunch afterwards!) The pastoral views outside the breakfast parlor are a great sight every morning. The innkeepers are very helpful for finding out what to do in town. Staunton is perfectly situated in the middle of several national parks (Shenandoah, Jefferson, Washington, Monongahela) and our plan was to hike as much as possible over the weekend. But the Inn was so nice that we cut our hikes short to drink hot cocoa, read in the library, and relax in our room, which is indicative of how much we liked this place!

Room Tip: The Harmon Room in the main house is excellent if you're on a budget.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is a lovely B&B close to the South end of Skyline Drive. Excellent location for hiking (Skyline, Shenandoah, and George Washington Parks), wine-tastings, and visiting historic sites - which is exactly what we did on our trip. We stayed in the Jed Hotchkiss room on the first floor of the "Barn". The room was clean and comfortable, with a great view from the shared deck. Breakfast was delicious, and coffee was available before breakfast hours for us early risers. The breakfast atrium provided a great 360degree view of the foliage and the mountains. All the staff members were warm, friendly, and helpful. One note: it is a B&B, so it is like being in someone's home - very comfortable and warm, but you can also overhear what is going on in other rooms. Not a deal-breaker, but good to know. We would certainly return - location, setting, comfort, and breakfast all winners!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms may be quieter, as you would not get the foot noise from above. All rooms on the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
864 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range: $162 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing