We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice But Dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice But Dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Spent 1 night while on the road for a weekend visit with friends. Staff was very pleasant and professional. The room was comfortable, but the décor was dated. The carpet just inside the door was ripped and had been repaired with duct tape. But they had used green to match the color scheme of the room :-). The bathroom appeared to have been recently redone: clean floor tiles; attractive, fresh wallpaper; and a really nice large counter. The room was very roomy and comfortable. Did have some trouble getting the temperature right with the in-wall heating/ventilation unit. It didn't have a thermostat or a way to set it at a specific temperature, so we spent some time adjusting and readjusting. But that's the nature of those units that don't have a temperature setting....just a dial that ranges from "low" to "high." The breakfast area is under construction, but they still managed to provide a very nice variety of substantial food. Will stay there again if we find ourselves in that area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We are sorry that you feel our hotel is a little dated, we have recently renovated all our rooms and are in the process of finishing our breakfast room. We do hope you will come again so that we may try again to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    242
    64
    15
    17
See reviews for
257
244
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Room was clean, bathroom was nice, and furniture looked decent. Room was next to the train track which was very loud but I eventually found it interesting. Breakfast was okay, wasn't terribly great but wasn't bad either. Pool was good. Shower was easy to operate. The one thing is that the beds felt rather cheap (tough mattress) which made it somewhat difficult to sleep nicely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Best Western Staunton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel was good. Very pleased with pet policy. This is a big plus and the staff was very friendly to myself and my pet. I would have liked to have been asked if I needed help getting my things in, since I had the pet and could not leave him unattended, this was cumbersome and the help would have been a plus. Other than that it was great. I did not hear the trains that I had to sign a waiver for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Best Western Staunton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay during a fall folliage sightseeing trip through the area. It was a last minute booking but we weren't disappointed. Very convenient location off of I-81 and close to restaurants. We made the short walk to the Texas Steakhouse. There was a local restaurant, Mrs. Rowe's, directly beside the BW. Our room and bathroom were clean and the bed was comfortable. We ate the free continental breakfast which included pastries, fruit, waffles, bagels, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, sausage biscuits, eggs, coffee, and juice. Food was good but not outstanding - a typical free continental breakfast. I saw the indoor pool but didn't use it. We were offered a discounted rate for the train track side of the motel. Heard 3 trains, one sometime during sleep. The sound lasted about 30-45 seconds for each train. This might be a problem for light sleepers, but didn't bother us. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the motel are by the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you choosing to stay at Best Western Staunton Inn, we are glad we have a convenient location for you and other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a most enjoyable experience at the Best Western Staunton. Our room was ready when we arrived. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and we were provided with whatever we needed. Breakfasts were good, with a variety of foods from waffles to yogurts, cereals, fruit, juices and oatmeal. Coffee was always available. The location of the hotel was great, being just off of I-81 and very accessible. The only downside is that it is located next to a railroad, but that was not a problem for us. There are many good restaurants in the area, with our favorite, Mrs. Rowe's, being just next door. There is so much to see and do in this area, and I am sure we will return to the area and to the hotel. One very nice thing that I would like to mention is that they have a heated pool which has a lift for physically challenged people, to get them into the water. I haven't seen that feature at many hotels anywhere. I do highly recommend the Best Western Staunton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Staunton Inn, and we thank you for telling about your stay. We are quite pleased to hear that you had a pleasurable experience and do hope you will be planning to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Level Contributor
446 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed here in the past on our way to or from Florida and always find a nice clean and quiet motel. Ya know, I must sleep soundly, never heard a train. My wife LOVED the little yellow rubber ducky... a nice treat. thank you. I find the stay very good and clean. I too wish their breakfast location was someplace else and larger. It is a bit inconvenient when the hotel is crowded as it was on our last stay. We will be heading back down in January and will probably stay again.

Room Tip: I always ask for a ground floor room with my bad legs and they were very accomadting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Staunton Inn, we are pleased that we could provide you a convenient location to stop overnight. We do hope you will plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was fine but the breakfast options and seating options were limited. The US Today paper was a day old. The desk staff were helpful. Wish there were more electrical outlets although they did have a multi-plug available.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Staunton Inn, we are sorry we did not exceed your expectations of breakfast items. We are almost finished with our breakfast room addition and our menu will be growing as well. We invite you back to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
Address: 92 Rowe Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing