We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the small staff are very friendly. If you need anything they take care of you. Fast wireless internet for free. Continental breakfast is soso, but at least they have options on the food. Coffee is just ok, but free all day. I would recommend, good value for your dollar.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touristoloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are very happy you found our staff accommodating. We strive to offer the best customer service possible. I am sorry the breakfast was not satisfactory. Please consider our hotel in your future traveling plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    236
    62
    14
    17
See reviews for
251
237
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
white stone
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. we enjoyed the fresh fruit on the breakfast bar ! The house cleaning staff and front desk staffwere friendly. Patsy was helpful in getting something we left returned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning the stay at the Best Western in Staunton. Our staff strives to offer the best customer service possible and we are happy you enjoyed out continental breakfast. Please keep us in mind on future visits to Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here -- as it was close to the highway, had free breakfast & offered the amenities we needed. It is an older property, but it worked for my traveling companion & myself -- as we were out & about most of the weekend anyway.

Front Desk staff was kind & check out was easy. If the free (continental) breakfast isn't your thing -- wake up early before you are hungry & get in line for Cracker Barrel -- as it's next door ;). The free breakfast was good enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccergrrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your commments and we are happy you found you accommodations satisfactory. Our staff strives to offer the best customer service possible and we do hope you choose Best Western for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolensville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On October 20th, we were traveling from Tennessee to Norfolk, Va. and had planned to stop in Staunton for the night. Little did we know that everything in Staunton was booked and also booked in the surrounding areas. We had someone in our party who was on oxygen and needed to stop for the night so he could use his continuous oxygen container and also to fill up the portable containers we had with us. After checking at several places in the area, he was getting a little nervous (which makes his breathing worse)because we were unable to find a room.

We stopped at the Best Western Staunton Inn and I went in and asked about a room. Of course, they were booked solid. I then asked if there was a room or something where he could plug in his major unit to get some continuous oxygen for a while. They told us we could come in and sit in the lobby and showed us where to plug up his unit.

I just want to let you know that the two people at the front desk that night, Larissa and Bob, went out of their way to help us. They called several places for us trying to find lodging for us. They were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful.

Luckily, someone cancelled right before 10 pm. and we got a room for the night. Everyone was friendly. The breakfast was nicely set up and there was a good variety of foods to eat. I would recommend this Best Western to anyone.

Thank you, Larissa and Bob!!!! May God bless you! Thanks, the Hicks and Armstrong clan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very pleased that my front desk staff went out of their way to help someone in need. I hope you do plan to return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the outside and the lobby, this place looks pretty well kept. Unfortunately, our room stunk, had a broken heater/air conditioner, and worst of all, was infested with dangerous mold. It is hard to describe the odor that pervaded the room, but it smelled somewhat like a combination of heavy cigarette smoke and cheap, musky cologne. Note that this was a non-smoking room. Turning the fan on seemed to help somewhat. Unfortunately, the fan was the only thing that worked on the heater/air conditioning unit Luckily, the temperature outside was very moderate so this wasn't a major issue. However, the black and green mold that we found mold near the front door, above the bathroom door, and in numerous places in the bathroom WAS a major issue as it exposed us to dangerous mold-related heath issues. I informed the front desk of the mold we discovered the following morning at checkout and showed them the pictures that I took. The woman at the desk apologized and asked me what I would like them to do. I asked her to comp the room and she did, albeit reluctantly. Unfortunately, when it comes to mold, especially the very dangerous, toxic black mold, a free night isn't enough to bump this hotel up past 1 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am very sorry for the problem you had with your room - we did have a very unexpected situation with extreme moisture. The problems occuring from the moisture appeared without warning as we would not knowingly rent a room with any discrepancies. We immediately addressed the problem and have it resolved again I am very sorry and wish you would e-mail me so I may address this with you personally. bw48lm91@yahoo.com

Joan Rush
Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a room with two double beds. We'd prefer a king size bed, but none were available this weekend. The room was away from the railroad tracks. It was a nice room and included a small refrigerator & microwave. The breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We hope we can satisfy you lodging needs in the future

Joan M. Rush
Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

clean big room. they tell you at check in about the trains and I think 2 went past but really didn't bother me as I've lived in big cities with worse noises. they accepted our little dog with no problem and have a nice area for her to walk out of the way of traffic and quiet. breakfast was ample and service personnel very pleasant. Its worth staying here to go downtown to staunton for dining. ate at the byers st. bistro and it was excellent. downtown looks like a cute place to wander for a few hours as they have many interesting shops and restored buildings. looks like its still an active railroad town. we will stay here when we come back on I81 and definitely spend a few daylight hours in town.

Room Tip: I guess if you reserve in advance they give you rooms further away from the trains. we came in late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We appreciate you comments. We will be doing major updating of our guest rooms this winter. Yes Staunton is a great place to visit as is the entire area in this part of VA. Please give us another opportunity to be a part of you next visit to VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
Address: 92 Rowe Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing