We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green & Black Mold!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Staunton Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the outside and the lobby, this place looks pretty well kept. Unfortunately, our room stunk, had a broken heater/air conditioner, and worst of all, was infested with dangerous mold. It is hard to describe the odor that pervaded the room, but it smelled somewhat like a combination of heavy cigarette smoke and cheap, musky cologne. Note that this was a non-smoking room. Turning the fan on seemed to help somewhat. Unfortunately, the fan was the only thing that worked on the heater/air conditioning unit Luckily, the temperature outside was very moderate so this wasn't a major issue. However, the black and green mold that we found mold near the front door, above the bathroom door, and in numerous places in the bathroom WAS a major issue as it exposed us to dangerous mold-related heath issues. I informed the front desk of the mold we discovered the following morning at checkout and showed them the pictures that I took. The woman at the desk apologized and asked me what I would like them to do. I asked her to comp the room and she did, albeit reluctantly. Unfortunately, when it comes to mold, especially the very dangerous, toxic black mold, a free night isn't enough to bump this hotel up past 1 star.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 938erikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

I am very sorry for the problem you had with your room - we did have a very unexpected situation with extreme moisture. The problems occuring from the moisture appeared without warning as we would not knowingly rent a room with any discrepancies. We immediately addressed the problem and have it resolved again I am very sorry and wish you would e-mail me so I may address this with you personally. bw48lm91@yahoo.com

Joan Rush
Gen. Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 880 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a room with two double beds. We'd prefer a king size bed, but none were available this weekend. The room was away from the railroad tracks. It was a nice room and included a small refrigerator & microwave. The breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We hope we can satisfy you lodging needs in the future

Joan M. Rush
Gen. Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

clean big room. they tell you at check in about the trains and I think 2 went past but really didn't bother me as I've lived in big cities with worse noises. they accepted our little dog with no problem and have a nice area for her to walk out of the way of traffic and quiet. breakfast was ample and service personnel very pleasant. Its worth staying here to go downtown to staunton for dining. ate at the byers st. bistro and it was excellent. downtown looks like a cute place to wander for a few hours as they have many interesting shops and restored buildings. looks like its still an active railroad town. we will stay here when we come back on I81 and definitely spend a few daylight hours in town.

Room Tip: I guess if you reserve in advance they give you rooms further away from the trains. we came in late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We appreciate you comments. We will be doing major updating of our guest rooms this winter. Yes Staunton is a great place to visit as is the entire area in this part of VA. Please give us another opportunity to be a part of you next visit to VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

After driving all day, was looking forward to the pool. Ladder was horrible. Very narrow, tipped and almost could not get out of pool. Had Texas Steakhouse next door recommended for dinner, awful. Not many restaurants near by. Had to eat in the hall for breakfast! Very uncomfortable feeling with people checking out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baker1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

I am very sorry you were not satisfied with you stay at the Best Western in Staunton, I must mention that the ladder in the pool is standard and has been in the pool for years,
We are working on moving the breakfast bar from our lobby.
Thank you again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we had been riding in the shenandoah valley for a couple of days been to luray caverns which is a beautiful place also rode over to culpepper va came down rt 15 to zions crossroads and took interstate 64 back to staunton. we were all tired and decided to check in to the best western there, very satisfied with the service there the people were friendly there , the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was just enough for us. great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reuben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We do try to offer our guest the best service possible. I hope we can satisfy your lodging needs in the future, We love harley riders

Joan M. Rush
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were just passing by and the AAA office recomended this hotel for the value and cleanliness. We were not disapointed. It is an older hotel, but very clean and quiet. The value was excellent which included a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay in Staunton, VA. We do strive to offer our guest a clean and comfortable stay. I hope we can satisfy our lodging needs in the future

Joan M. Rush
Gen. Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Traveled from Pennsylvania through Staunton on our way to and from the Outer Banks and needed an overnight stay that accepted our yellow lab. Looked online at the reviews and decided to try this Best Western. The staff were all friendly, the room was very clean and large, and we were very pleased. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks. Your feedback is very important to us as we strive to offer the best customer service possible. I'm glad we are a good stopping place on your way to NC. I hope we can satisfy you lodging needs in the future
Sincerley

Joan M. Rush
Gen. Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Staunton Inn

Address: 92 Rowe Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Staunton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Best Western in conveniently located just off I-81 at exit 222. We are minutes from Staunton and a short drive to Harrisonburg, Charlottesville and the surround area. We offer a deluxe free breakfast and many dining options to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing