We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold, mold, and more mold. And noisy trains.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Staunton Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I registered for my room about 10:30 AM, but didn't actually go to the room until 11:30 PM. Didn't thing there was a need to with a fairly well-recommended hotel. I got to the room, and look at the photos! Mold on the ceiling, walls, chairs, even the luggage rack. I tried to call the front desk, but the room phone was dead. I called by cell phone and was told that the hotel was full but I could check out and go half a mile up the road to their "sister hotel" for the night. A fairly inadequate gesture considering it's midnight.
Additionally, there were three wake-you-up trains overnight. So loud that the air conditioner didn't drown out their noise. Yes, I was warned that I was on the "train side", but when I asked how often and how bad, I just got a senseless shrug from the desk agent. I had to initial that I was informed of the train, but I'd call it "uninformed consent" due to the shrug!
I'm amazed that this hotel has so many good ratings!

Room Tip: Pick a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomSales, Director of Sales at Best Western Staunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

We are very sorry about the mold issue you found in your room. We have found a leak on the roof and because of the excessive rain in the area was the reason we had mold in the room. The roof is currently being repaired.

Our hotel does sit next to a train track that runs unscheduled trains. We try to make sure everyone is aware of this when they check-in.

We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel and we are terribly sorry for the issues you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 878 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is an older hotel, but nicely maintained and very clean! The rooms, bathrooms, and common areas were exceptionally clean and neat. The bathroom even had a little rubber duckie to greet you on the edge of the bathtub (very cute). The decor/furniture is very dated and the wallpaper is peeling in some places, but everything was neat, clean, and comfortable! The hotel is conveniently located to many shops and restaurants as well. The complimentary breakfast was good (typical continental-type hotel breakfast items) and the staff were friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot (the back side of the hotel is next to the railroad tracks) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very great hotel... Nice location... Great service... Nice pool... Wide selection of items for breakfast (hot and cold)...great service warm and welcoming...good free wi fi internet... Fridge and micro wave in room... Comfortable bed...

Only small downside : make sure to ask a room far from the train tracks... Could be noisy when train is passing by a few time each night... Ask the front desk and they will give you a room on the other side...

Thanks for nice stay and courteous service...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel was fairly basic but good. Room was clean and well-kept. Good shower, recently remodeled by the look of it. Hotel staff were friendly but not terribly efficient at check-in. Free breakfast was good by the standards of such contintental breakfasts (good variety, well-stocked) but there wasn't enough room on Sunday morning for everyone to sit down. It'd probably be a lot better on a weekday. The hotel is close to the train tracks, but even though we were relatively close given the location to our room we were never disturbed. In general, there seemed to be good sound insulation. We never heard noise from a family reunion going on down the hall either. We didn't swim, but the pool (indoors, off the lobby) looked nice (if a bit small). Some of the common areas were definitely the most run-down. For example, we used the stairs since the elevator was slow and oversubscribed, but the stairwell felt like a fire escape and smelled quite mildewy. However, that's really a minor beef. For an inexpensive hotel, this place gets all the important things right (clean, nice room with all amenities; quiet; good breakfast).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleanderKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is an average BW. Nice place to stay. Comfortable beds, friendly helpful staff. The only complaint was the pool. It wasn't very clean. Water was cloudy and dirt floating in it. Could hardly see the bottom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryconnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Wie stayed one night on our way to DC. It was th right choice. And it was so important to have a reservation, since they're booked out for the rest of the week. The rooms were clean and big enough, the included breakfast was nice, they had flavor sir up for the coffee, loved it. It was every cent worth we spent. Personnel was very friendly, even they were very, very busy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have stayed here before, rooms are clean, good breakfast, nice indoor pool. Breakfast area is in the front entranceway, wish it was somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank next50years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Staunton Inn

Address: 92 Rowe Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Staunton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Best Western in conveniently located just off I-81 at exit 222. We are minutes from Staunton and a short drive to Harrisonburg, Charlottesville and the surround area. We offer a deluxe free breakfast and many dining options to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing