We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, fast service.”

Edelweiss Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 129 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is authentic German food that is really good. Walter, the husband of the husband and wife owners, was our server. He's a retired school teacher and quite a talker. Very interesting and fun. The menu had a variety of dishes to choose from and the prices are reasonable. The food was served family style and you could have more of everything, if you so desired. Our food was served within 5 to 10 minutes after we ordered. A definite return there the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dixieyankdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    123
    45
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

While traveling along Skyline Drive, we saw this restaurant listed in the GPS and decided to take a chance. We had no idea what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. It was like a little piece of Germany in the middle of nowhere. The weather was perfect to sit outside, and they had it decorated with pretty flowers. Although the building is next to a road, it was up on top of a hill so there was very little road noise. The waiter informed us everything was homemade (I think). We had the special, beef stroganoff, and it was absolutely delicious. Seasoned just right. It came with two kinds of cabbage/kraut (one red and one sweet), and noodles. Desert was a very tasty black forest chocolate cake - nice and moist. It was such a pleasant environment and the service was quite good. We did not try any of the many beers available. This is on our list of places to try again when we are next up that way to see what other tasty treats might be on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daman24
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Great German food. Lots of options and the portions are large and good quality. Really nice atmosphere for dinning. The only issue seems to be the service. We have eaten there several times and it is always ok to terrible. But great food.

Helpful?
1 Thank daman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

On a recent trip to Staunton, my wife and I found this gem just south of the city. The rustic atmosphere yells Germany. The food is great. If you are like me and don't know what to get, the German Sampler is an excellent choice. Portions are large and served with family style sides. There is an assortment of beers (both imported and "redneck") that should allow anyone to find something they like. It is great food. There are not that many German restaurants, so this is a gem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannacroix, New York
Level Contributor
440 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Can not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We plan our Spring camping sojourn going through Staunton, VA because of the Edelweiss Restaurant...We book into the KOA - Walnut Hills, set up and go down to the restaurant. It's on Route 340, right at the junction of Route 11, not far off 81. They have many German beers, 20 Adult entrees, a couple of specials each evening, 2 choices for children and about 10 desserts. It's a rustic looking large cabin. The food is excellent, service great! This is about our 5 or 6th year of coming here, and we have no plans to re-route our Southern trip in any other direction. You will enjoy this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edelweiss Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Edelweiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing