We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty but noisy”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Granted, the historic hotel is pretty and well-located in the middle of Staunton and especially for visitors of the Blackfriars Playhouse (and their awesome Shakespeare Company!) an understandable choice. However, the hotel is rather expensive for a tiny town like Staunton that does not offer much and has some downsides that really broke the deal for me.
The tiny room in the historic wing - ok, I can live with that, but it is extremely noisy! Our room was well down the hall and we could hear the elevator as well as we woke up several times in the middle of the night. The walls must be paperthin and the door frames are not insulated at all, so you can hear the icemaker as if it was next to you and any conversation in the hallway sounds like someone is standing in your room.
It is still a nice and clean hotel, but really, for that price I would at least hope to get some sleep at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakermaker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    362
    73
    15
    6
See reviews for
280
496
48
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Our family of 5 stayed two nights in a suite. The rooms included a murphy bed instead of a pull out couch. It was so much better than a sofa bed. The rooms have huge windows and lots of natural light. We loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMae5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Not very happy at all. A week after checking out I look at my credit card bill and find a $50 charge. I called the hotel and they told me I had a dog in the room and that's what the charge was for. First of all I don't own a dog or cat, I didn't have one in the room. And they had my room numbers that I stayed in wrong. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WakefieldK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We also received your electronic comment card and will reply directly to you via the email address you provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

My husband and I travel every summer to Staunton to catch a Shakespeare production at the Blackfriars Playhouse (part of the American Shakespeare Center). One of the highlights of our trip is staying in the historic and newly refurbished Stonewall Jackson Hotel, which is located right next to the theater. This is a wonderful hotel. It is clean and roomy. It's a refurbished old building, so the walls are nice and thick and therefore the room was very quiet, despite a large wedding taking place in the beautiful ballroom downstairs. The basement has a nice fitness center that looks out onto a really lovely indoor pool This is not some tiny pool -- but a good size with a great hot tub. I really like this hotel. It offers a delicious breakfast bar for an extra fee and late night drinks in a little pub and cafe. The combination of a wonderful theater and a lovely hotel, make our trips to Staunton very enjoyable. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShakespeareGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thanks for your great comments, we are glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have stayed at the SJ Hotel twice and loved it both times. It is a 1920s property that has been lovingly and tastefully renovated. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet, and the beds were wonderful. Breakfast was yummy (French toast was GREAT)! And the pool/hot tub area was clean, generously sized, and well arranged (hot tub right next to pool so it was easy to watch/be with kids swimming). For all of this, the rates were very reasonable (we got a deal for about $125 that included breakfast).

The hotel is within walking distance of a really nice restaurant (Mill St Grill) and the attractively revived historic district of downtown Staunton, which itself is in a gorgeous area of Virginia. This would make a great weekend getaway for a couple or family or a wonderful place for a wedding or small event. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amwdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thanks for the feedback. The $22 million restoration the hotel received makes it such a unique building. We have all the charm and elegance of a wonderful era complete with all the modern touches our guests need while traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Renovations 5 years ago created a lovely old hotel, in the perfect location. We had a single king in the older section-- adequate size, good bed, nice upscale bathroom, good AC ( and it was a very hot period), very nice lobby bar and restaurant and good breakfast restuarant. very nice staff. Parking easy and convenient. We took a 'noise machine' due to previous reviews read on here--and it was really needed, as the room layout places the door very near the bed--and hallway noises ( being how inconsiderate folks are about being in a 'public' hallway) can be very disturbing. The newer wing ( which i think are all 2 queens) has a better layout, so is probably quieter. I'd stay here again in a minute--we looked at other B&B's in toen we had considered and investigated--and knew we'd made the right choice after going to see them. Staunton was a great little trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestreviewer056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thanks for your feedback. And yes, some rooms on the Historic Wing do have beds that can be on the same wall that shares the hallway. While this represents a small amount of rooms, the unique layouts of our guestrooms also have positive attributes such as oversized windows and different architectural lines that give the rooms the charm and character that can only be found in a Historic Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
390 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

If visiting downtown Staunton without a car, great place! Free trolley comes by every half hour. Lobby is beautiful. Display cases with local art and history. Very quick check-in. Room was nice, but air cond. plus soft beds and pillows were a little uncomfortable. Food service prices not unreasonable. Pool is large. It and hot tub are clean and well maintained. Packages: Look at the price of the "add-on" items (such as theatre tickets next door, breakfast for two, etc. and decide if it's a good deal. Nearby less expensive breakfast: Coffee on the Corner, less than a block away at Beverly & Market. Conferences (lawyers and teachers) add to atmosphere as Staunton's preferred hotel. They also have a parking garage, but there's a fee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
760 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing