We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Staunton Inn(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$109
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Staunton South(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Staunton)
$109
$98
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Staunton(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$132
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveler rating
757
410
88
24
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
410
88
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelparking garagenew wingright next doorbreakfast buffetpool and hot tubwithin walking distanceblackfriars playhousehotel lobbybeautiful lobbydowntown stauntonhistoric sectionthe american shakespeare centerrestaurants and shopsmodern amenitiesmill streetwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
748 - 753 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel on the way to see family in NC and Georgia. What a great hotel! Clean. Welcoming. Great charm. Beautiful room. The restaurant just off the lobby was superb. A special shout-out to server/bartender Michael who wore many hats and was excellent. Wonderful Sunday brunch that is not to be missed. Stonewall Jackson Hotel, well done!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKWilson195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We needed to spend two nights in Staunton due to a family bridal shower nearby (we could walk there) and decided to stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. Oh my...it was exactly what we expected from a refurbished old hotel and we loved it! Our room was very unique with very large spaces, nice bathroom, nice bed and walk in closet! Lots of windows and a lovely view. It was within walking distance of places to eat, which we did, the Saturday open farmer's market, which we did and also the theater, which we did not do this time, but will the next! The bar area and service was excellent. The restaurant for morning breakfast buffet was delicious and all you could possibly want. We love old hotels and if you do too, this is the place to stay while in Staunton! It's right downtown and so easy to visit other locations.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our third floor room with a view toward the train station!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I decided to break up a long trip from Atlanta to our home in northern Virginia and check out the Frontier Culture Museum for a visit with our grandson this summer. The Stonewall Jackson Hotel looked interesting and the B&B package looked like a good value. We were delighted on both counts. The public areas of the hotel are very attractive. Our room (king bed) in the older portion of the hotel was also attractive. The desk staff was welcoming and courteous. After a long drive that day, we decided to have dinner in the Sorrels Lounge in the hotel. We both had excellent meals, with excellent service from Matt. The buffet breakfast in the Market 24 restaurant (also in the hotel) included in the package was also excellent. We would like to return some time for the Shakespeare Package with the Blackfriars Playhouse, which is next door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fouroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Over-all, this is a 5-star experience for 3-star prices! Stay for yourself and see - you'll never want to stay anywhere else in the Shenandoah Valley! The hotel was great looking, great feeling, and made it a great trip! Shopping, dining and theatre all in one!

If you're looking for family friendly pampering with great amenities in the perfect location, then look no further than the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in Staunton, Virginia! We were greeted by friendly staff with a luggage trolly, and she unloaded the car and pushed the trolly to our room and unloaded the trolly and retrieved 2 extra luggage stands for our room to support the three large suitcases. I traveled with my mother (age 79) and daughter (age 13) and both were equally thrilled with our space and comforts. Mom enjoyed the comfortable chair and lamp for reading in the room, while daughter enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and great breakfast buffet. Mom needed a shower chair and they brought one up to us immediately. Daughter wanted extra towels to wrap her hair after a shower and some to take to the pool, and they not only brought us a neatly folded bundle of towels for our use that day, but also again the next day without us asking. The coffee in the room tasted good, which is not always the case with hotel coffee. We asked for extra creamers and received them right away. We had large comfortable queen size beds and plenty of closet space and hangers. TV worked fine with cable service and front desk responded right away to any of our requests for information or assistance. Shopping and dining and theatre all within walking distance. Beautiful spacious room, very well appointed lobby, and extremely clean and fresh hallways, elevators, bathroom in lobby, and entryway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenscitymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at this hotel as part of a small family reunion. We stayed in the "newer" portion of the hotel and the room was spacious and quiet. The beds and bedding were very nice. We did have drinks and appetizers in the hotel restaurant/lounge (Sorrels). The wait staff was attentive and the food was first rate. There were many other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel...and many craft beers/ciders were sampled. The Woodrow Wilson library and museum is within a block or two of the hotel and is worth the visit. We heard that the hotel was full on the last night of our stay but it didn't seem crowded at all. Overall this was an excellent stay in the downtown of Staunton (pronounced Stanton...without the "u").

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews