We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant 4th of July at The Stonewall Jackson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We enjoyed our 4th of July weekend at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. Good full-service hotel choice when visiting the Shenandoah Valley area. A plus was our 4th floor room looked out toward the direction of the Gypsy Hill fireworks display. We enjoyed the display from our room. Some guests took to the top deck of the hotel parking garage to watch the fireworks. We had an excellent email /online special 'Summer of '69" rate for $69 during the Summer of 2008. Also, the hotel has a "AAA" discount rate.

The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is nicely renovated and convenient to everything in Staunton. We were in the new section in a double-double room. Good size room with a light and airy decor. The bathroom looked like it was brand new. Good positioning of the towel racks and hooks and soft water. We found the new wing to be quiet. Wonderfully comfortable beds and relatively quiet A/C. Convenient parking garage with a reasonable rate. The pictures on the hotel website give an accurate sense of the hotel.

The staff was friendly. Everyone in the town of Staunton was friendly! Nice low-key weekend getaway. Gloria at the Staunton Visitor Center was very helpful. The Center provides an excellent collection of tourist information about the entire area and the town trolley service. The town planners have done a nice job of preserving this historic quaint town. We had breakfast around the corner at a health food store with a little cafe called Cranberries Grocery. Some businesses were closed since it was the 4th of July holiday. Staunton is about an hour or so from James Madison's home Montpelier and Jefferson's Monticello. About 2-3 hours from the Washington, DC area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2008

My husband & I discovered Staunton, VA, last summer after having read about it and the area, and the Shenandoah Valley towns leading down to it, in the Washington Post over the years. We have returned twice already to enjoy this lovely gem of a city. It offers a quiet, friendly (everyone on the street says hello with a smile), walkable and beautiful (what architecture!) place to spend some time. (And just a 2-hour drive away.) We have three times then stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel - it is clean, newly renovated, convenient and perfect for what we need: a quiet, comfortable room in which to rest up. This last visit we did get a smaller room in the older section with a King-sized bed, and preferred the larger rooms with queen-sized beds - those rooms also seem to provide lovely cityscape views.

We will continue to stay at the Stonewall Jackson whenever we can manage to escape! We have already brought our mothers along, to see Staunton and catch a couple of plays; we will keep spreading the news.

(I agree about the elevators - they are slow. I would love to use the stairs but they seem a bit inconvenient. That is a shame.)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jacksonrosebnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Stonewall Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2008

Thank you for your kind comments, we are happy that you have found out all the great things to see and do in our charming little town. To address one of your concerns, during peak times (such as check out time) the elevators (there are two to service our 5 floors) do get a lot of use and there can be some minor delays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Was at the hotel for a conference on March 3-6, 2008. Check in was great. Thank you Shaun F!! My room was on teh second floor of the hotel. Getting up to the room was very weird. There is a seperate elevator that takes you from the parking deck and then you switch in the lobby for the ones that go the rooms. Parkign is four dollars a day fyi. Rooms are small. My second floor room had a view of the roof. Room was clean. it consisted of a king size bed, two nightstands, desk and televsion. Small but reasonable closet. With the rooms being small, teh downside is that the bathroom and closet doors open out into the room. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Wind noise for some reason was really bad along that hallway. Doors and walls are really thin. Quite a bit of light crpet through underneath and along the sides of doors. Excersize room and pool area are clean. You will need to room key to gain access. Jacuzzi is warm and pool don't think was heated but was refreshing after the pool. Bartender Ashley was great and the louge area was clean and quite relaxing with the gas fireplace.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ham50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Other reviews here are pretty accurate. I agree 100% that the walls and doors are thin. Fortunately our floor was relatively empty during our stay, but we easily heard the neighbors and anybody walking by and chatting in the hallway. Pack your earplugs.

Our queen bed room in the "historic wing" was on the small side, comparable to what you'd get in a city center hotel in Europe.

The hotel website offers a "bed and breakfast" rate that includes the hotel's breakfast buffet during your stay. I suggest passing on it. The breakfast was mediocre, as was the service. A huge wedding party took up most seats on the Sunday morning we were there, which overwhelmed the restaurant staff and led to long waits for a table, at the omelet station, etc. (and the staff constantly complaining to you about it). Buffet items were not restocked, and many serving stations lacked tongs or spoons for serving. There are better places for breakfast in Staunton, so save your money and don't bother eating at the hotel.

Blackfriar's playhouse is right next door, and it's an easy walk to the Woodrow Wilson museum, so this hotel is in a very convenient location. Most downtown shops were closed by 4 pm on a Saturday, so if you're planning to explore do it during the day.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank DCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

The Stonewall Jackson was very clean with comfortable beds and really nice linens. There also were no odors, which was great. The walls are a bit thin, but luckily our neighbors quieted down very early. Its location in the historic area is so convenient to restaurants, shoppes and movie theaters. We were visiting our son at JMU and drove the extra 30 miles, because the hotel (and town) are so much nicer than anything in the Harrisonburg area. I did wonder who picked out the carpeting in the hallways (psychedelic). There is a Shakespeare Theatre right next door. We did not eat at the hotel, because there are so many other choices. We look forward to staying there again. The hotel was not able to match the Hotels.com room rate, so we booked it through Hotels.com.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Italychaperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We just spent a lovely weekend in Staunton, and chose the Stonewall Jackson mainly because it wasn't a B&B (we're both 25, and didn't feel like a B&B was exactly our speed). The location, first off, is prime. Walking down hill half a block will put you at the head of the main shopping/dining street in the town. Seeing as it was February in the mountains, this was extremely nice. We were able to leave the room 5 minutes before a dinner reservation, and still made it there on time!
The hotel itself is emaculate. The lobby is open and clean, but not cold-feeling. There are couches and chairs to sit in and relax. There's a fireplace by the lobby bar, perfect for a quiet after dinner drink. The staff was extremely polite (more so that we're used to, having lived outside NYC and DC all our lives). Breakfast was delicious, and the staff in the restaurant were over-the-top courteous.
The only complaint I really have is that the walls and doors are thin! We could hear what I hope was our neighbor coughing and groaning on the first night (Saturday). And on Sunday night, some people were having a great conversation in the hallway, which we could clearly hear.
Other than the thin walls, we absolutely loved the Stonewall Jackson, and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiderUR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

We go to Staunton once or twice a year, mainly to attend performances at the excellent Blackfriars playhouse next door. This year we booked a room with 2 queen-size beds since that room was larger than the king-bed room we've had earlier. That afforded us more space overall. We took one of their packages: bed and breakfast plus parking t for $104 per night (for 2) in late Dec., adding to that two $99 packages for 6 plays each from Blackfriars (we'll return later to see 3 more plays since it's good for a year). The buffet breakfast in the hotel dining room was very nice -- and one can "upgrade" to the marvelous Sunday brunch for a few $$ more. Their exercise room offers several different machines and is under-utilized -- the smalllish pool is adjacent. We've found several good restaurants within walking distance including a small one that offered afternoon tea. Unfortunately, it and several others are closed on Sunday afternoon. (Generally agree with other positive comments about bathrooms, etc.)

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank PatDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
908 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
477 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: $114 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel will be undergoing a comprehensive renovation from 11/26/17- 2/19/18. All Guestrooms will be renovated as will the Hotel's Historic Lobby, Lounge and Meeting Space. It is our desire to keep the same level of service and cleanliness during this renovation that you have come to expect from us in the past 93 years of operation. Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing