We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but pleasant stay on the way to Asheville, NC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short but pleasant stay on the way to Asheville, NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Since Staunton was about half way for us, we chose the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and in a convenient location. We were able to walk to the Woodrow Wilson House and museum, cafes, restaurants, and charming shops. If you go on a weekend, entertainment including a lovely theater venue are nearby. There are two movie theaters as well. Upon leaving, it is a short drive to Bedford, VA, to see a moving tribute to D-Day. We would definitely stay here again should we return to the area.

Room Tip: Since this is an older hotel, rooms are small but well-maintained, clean, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBQ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    312
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
239
429
41
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I do not know where to begin. All morning long, as we've been happily discussing the wedding weekend with the bride and groom and my husband and mom and everyone else, we keep coming back to what a wonderful decision it was to have the wedding in Staunton and to have the reception at the Stonewall Jackson. It was a glorious experience from start to finish. The catering manager was a joy to work with - always responsive, helpful, creative in his problem solving, and so very positive. The ease of the planning process left me confident that we made the right choice. But until the wedding weekend actually began to unfold, I am not sure I really knew how great it would be.


I don't dare start listing names, because I would no doubt inadvertently leave many out, but the staff at the Stonewall is top notch. And that goes for every department. For the hotel, I know that there is probably both a blessing and a curse to hosting a large extended group of family and friends for a wedding weekend. Lots of questions. Lots of enthusiasm. Lots of folks coming and going at all hours. A few folks who likely left their rooms in a condition slightly less tidy than I want to know about. But it was also a gathering of folks who were there for a loving and joyful purpose, and every member of the staff treated them with warmth and respect and assisted them wherever needed. I cannot begin to tell you how many people are now determined to return again to Staunton and to explore more of the area. I know one couple in our family who couldn't be with us, but they were hearing such wonderful things from everyone about the Stonewall, that they have already booked it for their anniversary in a few weeks. And an older guest, who has travelled extensively, gave high praise to her handicap accessible room.


As for the reception, there are no words. It was everything we had hoped for. The food, the drink, the staff - perfectly perfect. Even when we encountered bumps, it was handled with respect and concern.
I am not sure I had ever before had such a bird's eye view of how many, many people from the hotel staff it takes to pull off a wedding. It seemed like a cast of thousands. So many details, so many moving parts, such late and long hours. And the end result was a weekend of special memories for our family and friends, as well as a beautiful start for the bride and groom. Please pass on our appreciation to them all.


We look forward to returning to Staunton and to the Stonewall Jackson!

Room Tip: We booked the 1 bedroom suite for the bride and groom. It was very spacious. Should we return with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Please keep in mind if you plan to stay here that they cater to school groups, weddings, and bus trips. That is there main focus. We stayed one night while on our way to the outer banks. We were looking for something quiet so we could have a nice dinner and get a good night's sleep. The room was clean, but very small. We were above a banquet room with music that was very loud and shook the room (no lie). We called down to front desk and they had nothing to say but to tough it out. When the party ended, the people downstairs came up to the floor we were on and continued to be loud until 3:00 a.m. I talked to front desk again in the morning and they really didn't care. Their only focus was on the large groups staying there. I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay, get a room up on a high floor and inquire about any group activities taking p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and this hotel was chosen as the place for guests to stay. Great choice. It's a tastefully appointed old property with a big lobby and big breakfast rooms. You can't go wrong staying here. The room was a bit small, but it was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quiinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is full of cozy and quaint. It is clean, the hotel staff are friendly and solicitous. The food is tasty, even though there are lots of places in town to try, this hotel is great for breakfast and a snack in the evening, too. The location is wonderful. The rooms are tidy and modern. No question history meets what you would want in a hotel for today, so stay! Here. Truly.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new section, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This lovely hotel retains its historic charm while providing high quality, modern amenities. The front desk staff was extraordinarily helpful. Every request we made was fulfilled with speed and enthusiasm. Everyone – the wait staff, the chambermaids, the repairman – was gracious and friendly. When making our reservation, we were warned that our room (Room 300) was small. By American standards, this was probably true. But anyone who has stayed in a major city around the world would be thrilled to have this much space. We found it quite comfortable. The fabulous Blackfriars Playhouse is right next door to the hotel. The food at the breakfast buffet was only so-so; everything else about the hotel was first class.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hall (300, 400, etc) are a great value, but if you want a large room mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnObservantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
254 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was in town on a business trip and stumbled upon this hotel. I'm glad I did. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. The bed was fantastic.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. When passing on in the hall they all had a smile and said "hello".

Everything downtown is within walking distance which is also is a plus.

If ever I'm in the area I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing