We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Attending a festival in Staunton, Virginia I was told to stay at the Stoenwall Jackson Hotel. I remembered it from a l-o-n-g time ago and wasn't sure it would be up to my standards. Well, it was renovated a few years ago and wow, it's beautiful! Open, bright, spacious, and very conveniently located to everything! We have a delicious breakfast and enjoyed their small but very nice bar area. They offer a very nice wine list. The rooms were clean, comfortable and modern. I will stay each time I visit Staunton.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    308
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
237
427
41
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We purchased a Groupon before Christmas to use at Stonewall Jackson in March. It was a GREAT deal! The location is perfect - walking distance to all of our favorite Staunton places - Coffee on the Corner, the Blackfriars, Zynodoa, the Wharf, Pufferbellies and everything on Beverly Street. The room was comfortable (especially the beds) and the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was even better than expected. The only downside was that there were several late-night revelers returning to the hotel (after 1am) who woke me up - the sound proofing in the room was not great.

I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Staunton!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChattyKathy_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and in a beautiful old town. The rooms were spacious and very nicely appointed-- beds very comfortable. The hotel rooms have solid walls and so the rooms are quiet. The hotel has a grand lobby and restaurant. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. I would absolutely recommend--I know I plan on a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orange2927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A lovely hotel that has been totally renovated in beautiful historic Staunton, Virginia. Food was great, gracious customer service and convenient to downtown shopping. A wonderful evening to relax, have a quiet dinner, conference or have a cocktail in the bar by the fireplace.

Room Tip: Any place is a here is worth your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Came to Staunton to spend a couple of days wining and dining. Booked the Stonewall Jackson a couple of weeks ahead. Starting with the covered parking and the beautiful lobby, it was a great choice. Check-in took only minutes (they allowed us to check in 3 hours early), the staff was friendly and very helpful throughout our stay, with recommendations for restaurants in the area and other tips and directions around town. The room was smallish, but very well appointed and very clean. All in all it was a comfortable stay at a perfectly lovely hotel. I would absolutely stay here again next time I'm in Staunton!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely hotel downtown and if we were going thru there again, I would make my reservations ahead of time. Check in was easy and we were able to get rooms sideby side with our traveling companians. There was no breakfast but the hotel staff gave us local recommendations

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked last minute during road trip with 2 teens. You never know what you will get on the road but we were ever so pleasantly surprised. Rooms are clean, comfortable, reasonable size with heat and air conditioning that worked. Importantly, adequate number of electrical outlets for charging despite being a historic hotel. Bathrooms were modern and well appointed. The historic nature of the building is fun (large red sign visible from a distance, wide wide hallways, old style fire hoses) and a break from the usual chain experience. Note: Small extra charge for convenient underground parking.

It is a few miles off the highway but worth the slight detour. Historic Staunton looks like it stepped right out of the movies. Loved the little "Coffee on the Corner," an independent coffee house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing