We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single woman on the road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Flat Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Single woman on the road”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this location for three nights for a Regional meeting. The hotel is in a good location with great dining options within walking distance. Very clean hotel. Rooms cozy and bed is very comfortable. Great meeting space. The bar has very limited menu for the evening meal but the dining room is open for breakfast and lunch. These meals were very good. I would stay here again when in this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    374
    75
    15
    6
See reviews for
283
508
48
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our little get away to Staunton. We got the American Shakespeare Package and how convenient that the theatre is right next door. The play was awesome, the room very comfortable and the buffet breakfast yummy. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimxtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The service staff was wonderful. Just a gorgeous lobby and quaint little bar . The rooms are clean and modern. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying over in Staunton. The town is loaded with restaurants and small boutique shops.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well located in downtown Staunton, VA, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center was the perfect place to stay to enjoy the history of the area. And, it is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We chose to stay in the original historic hotel building which is lovely, but with smaller sized rooms than the addition. The room was well-appointed with a very nice sized bathroom. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The lobby is in the grand style with both a restaurant and lobby bar. Parking was in a deck attached to the hotel with a very convenient elevator to the hotel lobby ... and the nightly fee was extremely reasonable. It is the perfect place to stay to explore Staunton, Charlottesville and to visit Monticello.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkshafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson for a weekend after having bid on a weekend package at the hotel in a charity auction. We had never been to Staunton before, but were pleasantly surprised about both the town and the hotel.
Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The location was great for walking, with some very good restaurants within blocks (Zyndoa, Mill Street Grill recommended). Downtown Staunton had enough shops and things to keep us busy, including the nighttime 'ghost tour'.
We had breakfast both days - the service as well as the food was excellent. We did walk to a coffee shop a few blocks away for a stronger cup of coffee.
Check-in and out was fast and easy, with very friendly small-town type service.
Parking was in the garage directly connected with the hotel, and at $4 a day was very reasonable.
All in all a very surprising weekend in a place we didn't have any advance knowledge of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danfortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masachusett
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great stop over place between Boston and Georgia or North Carolina. An elegant hotel at a cost just a bit more than many of the area motels. The staff is friendly and rooms are comfortable. With a return coupon we even had a great breakfast before going back on the road.
With a covered garage, packing the car is easy when it might be snowing or raining. Close to the hotel are a number of restaurants, movies, and specialty shops. Our favorite the Mill Restaurant is just across the street and open fairly late most nights in case you are arriving later in the day hungry. We've stayed there in the past but last month we stopped in twice. Staff even managed to retrieve my computer plug left dangling the other day. Hooray!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppetgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a renovated downtown historic hotel with beautiful wood and marble. Rooms are nicely appointed with modern conveniences. Great location for heading into the mountains for the day. Nice breakfast buffet. Makes you wonder why you don't get off the interstate more often and look for a hotel. Take time to enjoy The Stonewall Jackson Hotel and downtown Staunton, Virginia.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor or Groupon for a special rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing