We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Staunton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson for a weekend after having bid on a weekend package at the hotel in a charity auction. We had never been to Staunton before, but were pleasantly surprised about both the town and the hotel.
Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The location was great for walking, with some very good restaurants within blocks (Zyndoa, Mill Street Grill recommended). Downtown Staunton had enough shops and things to keep us busy, including the nighttime 'ghost tour'.
We had breakfast both days - the service as well as the food was excellent. We did walk to a coffee shop a few blocks away for a stronger cup of coffee.
Check-in and out was fast and easy, with very friendly small-town type service.
Parking was in the garage directly connected with the hotel, and at $4 a day was very reasonable.
All in all a very surprising weekend in a place we didn't have any advance knowledge of.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danfortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great stop over place between Boston and Georgia or North Carolina. An elegant hotel at a cost just a bit more than many of the area motels. The staff is friendly and rooms are comfortable. With a return coupon we even had a great breakfast before going back on the road.
With a covered garage, packing the car is easy when it might be snowing or raining. Close to the hotel are a number of restaurants, movies, and specialty shops. Our favorite the Mill Restaurant is just across the street and open fairly late most nights in case you are arriving later in the day hungry. We've stayed there in the past but last month we stopped in twice. Staff even managed to retrieve my computer plug left dangling the other day. Hooray!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puppetgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a renovated downtown historic hotel with beautiful wood and marble. Rooms are nicely appointed with modern conveniences. Great location for heading into the mountains for the day. Nice breakfast buffet. Makes you wonder why you don't get off the interstate more often and look for a hotel. Take time to enjoy The Stonewall Jackson Hotel and downtown Staunton, Virginia.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor or Groupon for a special rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in western Virgina along Route 81.. stop there. Nice hotel and interesting little town. Food at the hotel bar was over priced ("artisnal" cream cheese). Go outside, there are a number of coffee shops around near the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved this place. Small rooms with big atmosphere. Great location. Very close to all top attractions and university. Very close to some great wineries. You will love the breakfast buffet. Close to all major highways.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff members at this beautiful historic hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. We were welcomed by the front desk staff and all parts of our "Shakespeare Package" were explained. When we asked about parking, he smiled kindly and told us not to worry, but instead go get settled and then come back to move our car. He also asked if we needed any help with our luggage. It had a very upscale feel for a very reasonable price. Our room was nice with comfortable seating and bedding. Nothing super fancy, but accommodating nonetheless. We loved the fact that it's within walking distance of many of Staunton's premier historic, artistic, and dining establishments. The breakfast buffet left something to be desired, but overall, we had a great stay and already booked our next stay with them!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is the Best hotel in Staunton because it has great views & wifi, comfy beds, excellent food, and friendly service. The water pressure was excellent too. We will definitely stay here again. They promote the breakfast buffet but you can request and order off the menu. The Classic Breakfast is tons of food and only costs $5.50. The coffee (in the restaurant) is the smoothest coffee I have EVER had!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyMKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
882 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: $122 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing